We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The William Jefferson House.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rip Van Winkle Gardens

Rip Van Winkle Gardens
5505 Rip Van Winkle Road, New Iberia, LA 70560
337-359-8525
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Lafayette, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“The William Jefferson House.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

The say that U.S. Grant liked to take naps under the tree just to the side of the porch.
There is a spot on the edge of the lake that inspiredthe illustrion n the cover of the Rip Van Winkle book that read in grade school. Fasinating place.
The lake has a very unique history. It had the only ever recorded salt water waterfall.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    104
    29
    3
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New Iberia, Louisiana
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Beautiful gardens”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

A have to do if you are in the area. The restaurant serves lunch until 2 pm. The house tour is great fun and the gardens are beautiful. Can spend the night in one of their bed and breakfast rooms if they are available. Lots of weddings held here.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

This is one of the most beautiful places I have ever been. Cannot wait to go back.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“WEDDING”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

I had my wedding here in October 2011. It is so beautiful here minus the mosquitos! The only thing I didn't like that much was that there was no wedding coordinator on site which made things a litle more stressful for me. I wish there would have been someone there who could have helped with the last minute details as I was way too busy/stressed to think about, let alone facilitate these things!

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest City, Oklahoma
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

We enjoyed walking the gardens, would like to come back and stay in one of the cottages for rent. And a added plus was seeing the bird rookery just before you enter. We took many photos of Spoonbills & Egrets nesting.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rip Van Winkle Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Rip Van Winkle Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rip Van Winkle Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.