We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extended stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cottages at the Rip Van Winkle Gardens

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in New Iberia
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cottages at the Rip Van Winkle Gardens
Save
You added Cottages at the Rip Van Winkle Gardens to your Saves list
5505 Rip Van Winkle Road, New Iberia, LA 70560   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 New Iberia B&B and Inns
The Woodlands, Texas
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Extended stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Recently we have been traveling between Houston and Baton Rouge for family matters. We have begun treating ourselves on the return trip to Houston by stopping off in small towns in south Louisiana for brief stays to relax. This time we stayed at the Cottages at Rip Van Winkle based on an Internet search. We booked for two nights and had such a relaxing and special time that we extended our stay by an additional night.

This is a special property. The cottages, and there are only three, are incorporated well into a large property that includes the historic Jefferson House and extensive gardens. When you stay in the cottages, the rest of the property is available. We walked the grounds and gardens extensively and found them lovely and interesting. A stay at the cottage includes a tour of the beautiful and interesting Jefferson House. The tour guides are local and lively - lots of fun. We toured in the morning and essentially had a private tour.

Our cottage was fine (Servant's Cottage 2). The bedroom was very comfortable, there was a functional kitchenette and large bathroom. Interestingly, there was satellite tv but no wifi. There was a front porch with rockers and ceiling fans (it was August). Very pastoral and the peacocks added interest. They provide car covers because the peacocks like to look at their reflection and sometimes peck the cars. The breakfast was self made and basic from items left in the cottage, for example, bagels, pre-packaged muffins, cereal (really? - Frosted Flakes and Sugar Pops for an adult breakfast!). Surely there must be a better option for such a nice accommodation as this one. Nothing is perfect, but this place is special.

So, why was it special? You arrive at the property by driving down a live oak lined lane. There is an iron gate through which you must pass still leaving a ways to go to get to the property. After 5pm, the iron gate was closed and we were essentially alone on the property, especially the second night when we were the only overnight guests. We didn't see or hear another person. We walked the property, had drinks on the veranda of the big house and basically immersed ourselves in the imagination of what it must have been like to live on this property in historic times. This was so relaxing and special for us we booked another night.

A dining tip - if you decide to eat in and enjoy the property like we did one night, the local pizza places will deliver to the iron gate. You just meet them there (a 1 minute drive) and go from there. Fun! We'd go back.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    9
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
17
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Columbia, Texas
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

I couldn't believe how beautiful this place was for the price. They loaded the refrigerator down with food and drinks!! The historical house tour was ok but the bed and breakfast was amazing. It was sooo quiet and peaceful there. I can't wait to go back. The bed was also very comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

A wonderful experience! Be sure that you have plenty of time to tour the grounds. Clean and friendly. I felt like we got a great deal for a nice stay and a unique experience.

Interesting: the provide a car cover and recommend you use it or else the peacocks will peck at your car (they like the reflections!).

Location of the gardens and this retreat is gorgeous, but remote. Be sure you scope out where you will eat before coming! There is not much around and the few options close early or aren't open on Sundays.

We stayed in the "servants quarters" behind the main house, which think was a historical structure, renovated into a little duplex cottage. I felt like we were in a tropical rainforest with the peacocks and lush gardens. The suite was a bedroom, separate efficiency kitchen, and bathroom. The bed was comfortable and everything clean. It's an old structure so signs of it's age were visible.

We had lunch at the Jefferson Cafe. Limited menu but my Shrimp Remoulade on a bed of greens was quality. We had dinner at a local dive: The Boiling Point. A good price for 4lbs of crawfish!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We recently stayed in the Cottages at the Rip Van Winkle Gardens and the stay there far exceeded our expectations. We stayed in the "Servants Quarters" which were clean, comfortable and contributed to the very unique experience. Snacks, a make your own breakfast and wine and cheese are furnished with your room. The Jefferson Cafe, overlooking the lake and surrounded by the gardens, is a must for a quiet luncheon. The gardens and the Joseph Jefferson Mansion contribute to the entire experience and are well worth the time. This is a place to help you get away from the hustle and bustle and completely relax. You should plan to spend at least two or three nights.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrence, Kansas
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Thanks to Trip Advisor, we found this place. It is wonderful. Actually, there are three "cottages'. Cook's is one of them and is closer to the office and restaurant. The other two are "Servants' Quarters and are more secluded. We were traveling with another couple and stayed in the adjoining Servant's Quarters. From our porch we faced an herb garden and beautiful trees and flowers. As previous reviews have noted, they provide everything you need for a Continental breakfast, along with wine, cheese, crackers and snacks; all of which are restocked each day. There is a refrigerator, microwave, and table in each unit. The bed was comfortable.

We had lunch at the Jefferson Cafe - it overlooks the lake and food is wonderful. The Jefferson Manstion (tour included in cottage price) is beautiful. We loved strolling the garden paths and were entertained by the peacocks, who strutted and fanned and visited our porch.

After 5 p.m. just about everyone goes home and we have the place to ourselves. We enjoyed sitting on porch of mansion to enjoy our wine and cheese. On last night there, our amiable host, Mike Richard, visited with us and gave us a lot of fascinating history of the area.

The price is $134 for weeknights (when we stayed) and includes unlimited use of grounds/gardens, tour of mansion, aforementioned snacks & breakfast, and a tour of the mansion.

We highly recommend this place and would stay again.

Room Tip: Cook's Cottage has a living room but smaller kitchen area. We liked the Servants' Quarters...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
globeseeker007
Top Contributor
962 reviews 962 reviews
174 hotel reviews
Reviews in 323 cities Reviews in 323 cities
1,076 helpful votes 1,076 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed here for one night on a weekday. The price was $105 and that included a tour of the Jefferson House the next morning. This cottage contained a large bathroom and another room that had a partition which separated the bedroom from the living room. The bedroom had a huge bed and the living room contained a sofa, easy chair, and a couple of other chairs as well as a TV. Between this and the bathroom was the refrigerator, microwave, and small toaster oven. The place was stocked with snacks such as cheese, crackers, cereal, water, milk, orange juice, bagles, coffeee, and pastries. A bottle of wine was even furnished. If you're looking for a place to stay in New Ibera, give the Rip Van Winkle Gardens a visit.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bfleb433
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012 via mobile

Stayed at Cooks Cottage but the other 2 units are nice when I saw them.

Excellent service and the grounds are both very nice and historic.

It is isolated from other places, but that is precisely the inherent charm. No casinos, crowds or anything except a quiet comforting atmosphere away from the hustle and bustle of the world.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cottages at the Rip Van Winkle Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cottages at the Rip Van Winkle Gardens

Address: 5505 Rip Van Winkle Road, New Iberia, LA 70560
Location: United States > Louisiana > New Iberia
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in New Iberia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cottages at the Rip Van Winkle Gardens, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.