We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Music and Travel Nation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chez des Amis Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Natchitoches
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chez des Amis Bed and Breakfast
Save
You added Chez des Amis Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
910 Washington Street, 910 Washington Street, Natchitoches, LA 71457 (Formerly Cane River House Bed and Breakfast)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 28 Natchitoches B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Ozark, Arkansas, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Music and Travel Nation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

"The Chez Des Amis" Natchitoches, LA is a great example of why we need to get off the interstate, take a break from chain lodging, and see America.We did just this and found a gem in the "Chez Des Amis".Guests will enjoy the historic downtown of Natchitoches with it's fabulous shopping and dining and it's look of the New Orleans French Quarter, only cleaner and more attractive.It is just a short walk from "Chez Des Amis"with it's location and it's History. It is what you picture when dreaming of a true southern B&B with it's beautiful landscaped yards and the well kept Bungalow home.Along with it's great accomodations and public areas, this is one of our favorites.Owners Jim and Scott have done a fabulous job with this home/b&b and you will be hard pressed to find a better set of hosts.As for the accommodations, you could not ask for a more comfortable room than "The Chez Des Amis" offers.We had the pleasure of staying in, what we called, Jim's Room for the baby pictures and clothes of Jim displayed from when he was a baby. It was a very nicely decorated and extremely spacious room a Queen bed, with fabulous soft bedding and select comfort bed. The room has a private bathroom with shower . The room does not have T.V . It does have a great internet offering, with an excellent wifi signal.We were unable to stay for breakfast so we are unable to comment on it, but if it is anything like the rest of this b&b it would have been fabulous. Last, what we think is the best of the best of "The Chez Des Amis" is it's history and location along with the hospitality of it's host.So, get off the Interstate and visit "The Chez Des Amis" Natchitoches, LA 5.0 STARS Jason and Angela Price Music and Travel Nation www.angelfire.com/musicntravelnation/

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
12
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

This is a unique B&B in that it's hosts are truly a pleasure to stay with. They are bright and traveled. A treasure trove of information is at your disposal between them. The room was most comfortable and the location to the river was a very short walk. Breakfast was good and had some nice unexpected touches to it.

Jim and Scott are wonderful hosts who have created a very special B&B which truly seems to welcome all. My wife and I hope to return to the area and I couldn't think of another place in Natchitoches I'd rather stay then here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granbury, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We can echo other reviews- the food is delicious, Jim is an excellent Chef, he and Scott are warm gracious hosts. It is also great conversation- they have traveled the world, lived and worked in exotic lands, Jim has taught English, Biological Science at the university level- great fun to talk to them.
Relaxing, enjoyable stay.
Linda and Stan

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott-Lumry, Owner at Chez des Amis Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
It was great having you two as guests. It is hard to be a bad host when you have two such wonderful people to enjoy. Thanks for staying with us and let us know what we can do to make your next stay even better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Jim and Scott made us feel at home straight away. They were full of advice on where to eat and what to visit. Jim's breakfasts are excellent and he is happy to share the recipes! A great location; just a short stroll from the old town along the pavement/sidewalk.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott-Lumry, Owner at Chez des Amis Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thanks. It was a joy sharing the Northwestern State University dance department's concert while you two were here. We enjoy sharing the talents of the performing arts students with you. We appreciate that you chose us to stay with and look forward to seeing you in your travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We recently stayed at the Chez des Amis and had a fabulous time. Jim and Scott, the innkeepers, are amazing...truly gracious, charming, warm, and inviting. They opened their house to us and made us feel at home. Jim is an extremely gifted chef. The curried eggs benedict he made for us were unbelievable.....absolutely 5 stars. When you visit Natchitoches, stay with Jim & Scott. It will be a memorable experience! Mary & Ron

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Chez des Amis is on Washington Street, just one block off the main street in Natchitoches (Front Street) ... a perfect location to experience the charm of the city! Scott & Jim were gracious hosts and Jim's breakfasts were delicious.

Room Tip: The Versailles cottage is set back apart from the house ... for even more quiet and privacy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport, Louisiana, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We just returned from our overnight stay in Natchitoches-we have been there many times but never stayed overnight there. This was our first experience with a B&B so I didn't have anything to compare it to. Our hosts were very friendly and made us feel welcome immediately- our room was very nice with period antiques and a large bathroom. It was so nice to sit on the porch and visit with them in the afternoon. Breakfast was yummy we had great conversations with all of the other guests. We will stay here again and highly recommend it to anyone! Jim and Scott offer first class customer service!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Etoile room in the main house but all of the rooms are nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chez des Amis Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chez des Amis Bed and Breakfast

Address: 910 Washington Street, 910 Washington Street, Natchitoches, LA 71457 (Formerly Cane River House Bed and Breakfast)
Location: United States > Louisiana > Natchitoches
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Natchitoches
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1923 Arts and Crafts (Craftsman) bungalow in the downtown historic district. Just a block and two houses from the bricks of Front Street. Resident innkeepers are available to guide you to the food you like to eat, as well as prepare a breakfast in our kitchen that is innovative and extraordinary. Our mission is to make you feel at home in our community and give you a taste of southern hospitality with a world traveler accent.The house is an eclectic mix of antiques, art, and technology. High speed internet access is available by wifi throughout the property. Select Comfort beds provide for a wonderful night's sleep. And the kitchen will prepare your breakfast on induction cooktops and the covection oven. Solar panels help to provide electricity to the house, while the front porch is a good place to sit and sip a mint julep and wave at folks that gotta be somewhere. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chez des Amis Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.