We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Holiday Inn & Express” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Natchitoches

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Natchitoches to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Natchitoches
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   5137 University Parkway, Natchitoches, LA 71457   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #5 of 14 hotels in Natchitoches
San Antonio, TX
Top Contributor
132 reviews 132 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
219 helpful votes 219 helpful votes
“Average Holiday Inn & Express”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Although recognizing that the majority of reviews of this hotel are highly positive, our experience had negative aspects. We've stayed in much better maintained Holiday Inn & Express hotels. But first the positives:
1)Check-in was efficient & courteous by Zach, who provided 2 cold bottles of water ... much appreciated.
2)Breakfast seating area was spacious, clean, and comfortable. Trays were available for taking food back to room. Free breakfast options were satisfactory although limited in fruit choices. Tables were kept cleared after use by guests. Cinnamon rolls were excellent
3)Lobby area provided additional seating for informal visiting
4)Bedding was comfortable with a variety of pillows
5)Coffee set-up in room was generous and microwave worked fine.
7)Paper plates, napkins and utensils were provided in the room.
8) Bathroom amenties were generous (shampoo, soaps, lotions, make-up romover packets, etc., although towels were a bit thin. Bathroom was immaculately clean.
9) Free internet code was automatically provided at check-in.
10) Free local newspapers are provided in the lobby area. Be sure to pick up the one that provides information about historical Natchitoches.

Negatives:
1)Upon arrival in room on Friday night, it was discovered that the electrical outlet for the lamp connection at the bed did not work (Room 312). (It was not a light bulb problem) No maintenance available on the weekend to correct the electrical problem. Therefore, no reading in bed.
2) Returning to the room on Saturday night, the message light on the phone was blinking but yet no message was left. I called the front desk who had no messages for us. I asked how to clear the blinking light; the attendant didn't know and suggested that I unplug the phone. Okay.
Then I went to turn on the lights for the bathroom and the lights in the front entry by the closet and discovered there were no lights whatsoever! The only light in that room was one lamp at the far end of the room. I called the front desk and the same young woman said she would come up to see what she could do but that there was no one in the hotel to fix it if there was an electrical problem. A few minutes later, she called back and asked if we had found the little folder on the table with room keys for another room. Well, no, it was DARK in the room so we hadn't seen that folder. There was no note with the folder & keys as to what it was to be used for. Apparently, it had been intended for us to move to another room. Then the front desk attendant explained that there was a breaker problem in room 312... (she hadn't known this earlier when I called for messages).
So we moved everything that we'd unpacked the previous night, including emptying the refrigerator.
Room 318 was fine and was slightly larger. However, it was noted that the metal covering/casing on the sprinkler system was not on the ceiling leaving an unsightly hole in the ceiling, although I think the actual sprinkler was there. At least the lighting worked!
The sofa is also badly stained on the arms and it appeared the carpet is in need of shampooing.
3) The flat-screen tv was a bit small for the size of the room.
4) Front desk clerk seemed to have limited knowledge of local restaurants, something that anyone in the lodging/hospitality industry should be expected to know for hotel guests.

I realize that hotel mgt. can not foresee electrical problems but communication apparently was limited in that Housekeeping did not ensure that the first electrical problem (light at bedside) was operational prior to clearing the room for occupancy, whoever identified that a breaker problem existed in the other part of the room during the day did not appropriately notify the front desk and leave a clear message with front desk staff OR management at the front desk did not communicate with front desk attendant(s) as to the problem & that we would need to be relocated. A written message should have been left with the new folder & keys AND there should have been a message on the phone message system. Neither occurred. Returning the room at 10 p.m. and discovering that we needed to pack up and change rooms, was not exactly conducive to an enjoyable hotel stay. I'm not totally sure we'll stay here again given the fact that there is a Hampton Inn nearby and may provide more consistent quality.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay S, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Natchitoches, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Zell:
Thank you for your review. We strive to exceed guest expectations and deeply regret that you were not satisfied with certain aspects of your stay. Due to your feedback we have made changes in policies and procedures to ensure our mistakes do not happen again. We truly value your business and would love the opportunity to serve you as our guest again to create a top notch experience.
Sincerely,
Jay Sharplin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    28
    16
    10
    6
    1
See reviews for
23
15
2
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Rockwall, Texas
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

We stayed 1 night. The desk clerk was friendly and the room was clean and comfortable. The only negative is that we could hear guests in the room above us walking around. The framing between the rooms squeaked with every step and it was loud enough to be annoying. We would stay here again, only if we can guarantee a room on the top floor.

Room Tip: Ask for room on top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay S, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Natchitoches, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear George B:
Your feedback is much appreciated. I am most pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We strive to make each and every guest as happy as possible. Thank you again for your valuable comments. Also, we will always try to accommodate any special request for you.
Thank you,
Jay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, LA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

I have stayed at this property a few times. Friendly staff, great HI Express Breakfast, dependable Internet, and a clean comfortable room. There is no other option for me when in Natchitoches. Looking forward to many happy returns.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay S, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Natchitoches, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear Veefox:

Thank you for the 5 star review. We are very humbled that Holiday Inn Express is your pick when visiting Natchitoches. Your continued business is much appreciated.

Take Care,
Jay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacherie, LA
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Stayed here recently, arriving around ten pm. Was very tired, so appreciated swift, courteous check-in. Lovely, clean facility. Very comfortable room, nice breakfast room. Good location right off the interstate, but heard no interstate noise! A bonus for such a convenient location.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay S, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Natchitoches, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Sylvia Z:

Thank you for the compliments, I am glad you were pleased with our hotel. Hopefully we will see you on your next trip to Natchitoches. Enjoy the rest of the summer!

Take Care,

Jay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longview, Texas
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

This property is another well run and well maintained Holiday Inn Express.
The rooms are fresh and clean and the breakfast bar has a good variety. The food is hot, taste good and is well presented.
Nice pool too.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay S, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Natchitoches, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Tomthbomb:

Thank you for the positive review of the hotel. I am glad you enjoyed our pool. We look forward to your next visit to Natchitoches and we will have a room ready for you. Take Care.

Jay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The hotel staff was great. The free breakfasts offered good food really thoughtfully prepared, with something for everyone, regardless of dietary restrictions. The best coffee ever!! The room was spacious, lots of outlets, TWO comfortable chairs AND a desk chair. It was quiet and we slept well. HOWEVER...
the light bulbs were so dim that I could not see my facial flaws in any of the mirrors. I guess I should have been happy. Even with all the lights on, the bathroom mirror was of no use. Anyway, the dimness drove me nuts. The only other complaint was the perfumed fabric softener used in the bedding. At first I thought it was the scent of a previous guest, but the fresh towels had the same scent day after day. Not everyone likes the hotel's choice of perfume and we certainly did not. Yuck! A little tricky to get to once you see the hotel's sign. You don't just drive in a straight line once you turn in to the cluster of hotels. Would I stay there again? Yes!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing away from the highway. Ours was on third floor facing parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay S, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Natchitoches, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Musicmuse2:

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel from your recent stay. The issues with the lighting have been noted and we are working on making it better. We look forward to seeing you again and will have coffee ready for your arrival.

Jay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Right off the highway it is conveniently located. Newly constructed and pleasantly appointed (for a modest rate chain that is). Good beds, great shower with excellent water pressure and a wide shower head. Breakfast was good with plenty of choice. The staff is friendly and competent! What more can one look for in an overnight stay on the way to the next stop?

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jay S, Owner at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Natchitoches, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Dh2Dallas:

Thnak you for the glowing review of the hotel and staff. We are thankful and hope to see you very soon.

Jay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Natchitoches? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Natchitoches

Address: 5137 University Parkway, Natchitoches, LA 71457
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Natchitoches
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 hotels in Natchitoches
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Natchitoches 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to this Convenient Natchitoches, Louisiana Hotel Cajun flare, courteous service and quality are three attributes you will find at our Natchitoches hotel. Centrally located between Alexandra and Shreveport, and approximately one hour from the Alexandria International and Shreveport Regional Airports, our hotel is perfect for travelers to all three cities. If you're looking for lodging in Natchitoches, LA, you will enjoy staying in our hotel while you experience the city's southern charm and unique offerings. Spend the day touring Magnolia, Oakland or Melrose plantations and learning about the city's history, or check out the Bayou Pierre Alligator Park with hundreds of gators, as well as Cajun music, food and fun. If you're a sports enthusiast, you are sure to love a visit to the Louisiana Sports Hall of Fame, located five minutes away from our hotel in Natchitoches. If business brings you to town, you won't be disappointed by the amenities provided by our Natchitoches hotel. We offer free high-speed Internet access, two meeting rooms and a 24-hour Business Center with print, copy and fax services. Additionally, our hotel is near Northwestern State University, Weyerhaeuser, Alliance Compressor and the downtown district. After a day of work or play, consider relaxing in the outdoor pool or Fitness Center. You can eat well every morning at the free hot breakfast bar. Check out our great Natchitoches hotel deals and book your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Natchitoches reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Natchitoches
Holiday Inn Natchitoches
Natchitoches Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Natchitoches

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Natchitoches, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.