We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maglieaux's

Maglieaux's
805 Washington St, Natchitoches, LA 71457
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 58 Restaurants in Natchitoches
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Louisiana
Top Contributor
243 reviews 243 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Enjoyed a very nice lunch......good selection of sandwiches and heavier items. Fast service and a beautiful location on the Cane River.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    22
    13
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
oklahoma city
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Mixed review”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Appetizer of pecan crusted shrimp was very good, crunchy and sweet with a kick. My bowtie pasta with crawfish and cream sauce was good, with just a little kick. It definitely could have used a bit more sauce as it was a little dry. DH ordered pork medallions with raspberry chipotle sauce and baked potato. Unfortunately, the potato would not even melt the butter so he was disappointed. Pretty sure the sauce was from a jar. The view from the deck is superb and the ambience was very relaxing.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Top Contributor
193 reviews 193 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Good Food, Dreadful Service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

The view from the deck is wonderful. That said, most everything at this restaurant leaves much to be desired. Our waiter was very unprofessional: aggessive about pushing cocktails as well as entree items. We waited for a while for our champagne cocktails only to be told the bartender didn't know how to make them. Items listed on the menu were not available. We finally, after a half-hour wait, ordered entrees. One salad arrived not as ordered. One entree arrived with a different sauce than that ordered. Our waiter handled each problem in a very defensive manner. We began to dread his approaching our table. Finally, we were charged for an item we did not order. Again, our waiter was defensive to the point of being rude when presented with this error. This was the most offensive waiter we've ever encountered. If we go back, we will make sure he is not our server.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
466 reviews 466 reviews
359 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 122 cities Reviews in 122 cities
178 helpful votes 178 helpful votes
“Sort of Cajun Italian, Great Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014 via mobile

We tried this newer restaurant on Front Street in Natchitoches and really liked the place. They are right on the Cane River with inside and outside seating, amongst the trees on the river and it was beautiful. They have a nice wine list and a full bar. I had the eggplant Parmesan, which was very good. Their pasta sauce has a sweet flavor to it, so Italian officianados may not like it but it was good. Nice salad too. The cannelloni looked real good too. They are trying real hard, so I gave them the five star rating.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Sit outside”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

This is an average quality place but the best thing about it is its location right on the river. Sit outside if you can. The servers are all very nice, although mostly young and inexperienced. The view of the river is good mostly because it's a quiet little river, very serene. Our food was a tad on the salty side.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maglieaux's also viewed

 

Been to Maglieaux's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maglieaux's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.