We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitality at its Best!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sweet Cane Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Natchitoches
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sweet Cane Inn
Save
You added Sweet Cane Inn to your Saves list
926 Washington St, Natchitoches, LA 71457   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 28 Natchitoches B&B and Inns
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
204 reviews 204 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
“Hospitality at its Best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Loved the Sweet Cane Inn! We were there for the Christmas Light Festival and could not have picked a better place to stay. The Owners, John & Kathy Richmond are masters at the bed & breakfast ideal. The house is warm and cozy. Spotless and so comfortable. There are main areas that guests are welcome to relax in as well. The rooms are tastefully decorated and do not look like your grandma's bedroom as in some b&bs (sorry Grandma). Beds & linens are plush and soft. Bathrooms are modern and clean. Parking on site. Convenient walk to everything in the town and an easy drive to the outer plantation site. Breakfast is a hot, freshly cooked meal served buffet style and there is a "happy hour" in the afternoon with wine & pastries. The day we left, we had to leave prior to breakfast being ready and the owner made us a wonderful hot meal prior to departure. The perfect host.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
14
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Enterprise, Alabama
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights. We arrived on December 31, 2013. We came to watch the New Years Eve fireworks. We were not disappointed.
John and Kathy provide wine and snacks every afternoon. This makes it so the guests can meet and get to know one another. Much better than briefly saying hello.
We recommend this B&B and will come back again.
The only thing that was not perfect is the pillows. So bring your own.

Room Tip: We were in the Magnolia room. If it had been warmer we could have enjoyed the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

We recently spent two nights in Natchitoches experiencing the Festival of Lights and we had a lovely stay. John and Kathy who own the inn were very lovely relaxed people who made us feel so welcome, and location wise it was great to be able to walk into town rather than drive. There were freshly baked cookies put out everyday and wine available in the evenings. We were on the third floor in a lovely room with an enormous bathroom but if you are slightly older you might not want to do the stairs from the second to third floor. Definitely a wonderful place to stay.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport, Louisiana
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

My significant other and I just spent two nights at the Sweet Cane Inn to see the Festival of Lights and explore the historic district.

We stayed in the Lily room on the third floor which is a unique L-shaped room on the side of the house. Since it's set off to the side, you don't get any street noise from Washington, but can still look out on it directly from the bathroom window. There are also three windows to give you lots of light on the side of the house. The room was clean and the linens smelled fresh and were soft and comfortable. The bed was a little soft for me and my 6'6 SO didn't quite fit on the bed but those are not really complaints, just observations. I enjoyed the shower, there's no tub but that's perfect for me, and the Gilchrist and Soames toiletries. I appreciated the stocked fridge (water and soda) but it is right next to the bed and can make a jarring noise when the refrigeration kicks on and off. I would also suggest a few hangers in the close. Since we brought our own we were okay.

The house itself is very large with a nice sitting room on the third floor and two large rooms on the first floor. There's a wide front porch too. Breakfast is served in a nice little dining room with tea, coffee, juices, yogurt and cereal everyday. In addition to the continental offerings eggs, bacon, sausage, strawberry crepes, pancakes and mini quiches may also be offered. You can have breakfast at any time between 8-10am so you don't have to get up and rush down to eat. At 4pm wine and delicious chocolate chip cookies are offered. Snag one for a late after dinner snack!

John and Kathy were great hosts. John had a lot of great stories about the area. We also ate at his restaurant and if you are a guest at the Inn you get a free appetizer or dessert. Try the cornbread étouffée it's delicious. I also have to confess that upon check-out I forgot to return the room key and found it later in my luggage. When we called the B&B, John was so kind about the issue letting us know it happens and told us just to send it back through the mail. This level of hospitality extended beyond our stay and I'm very appreciative.

The location is absolutely perfect for walking to the historic district and was very convenient for seeing the fireworks on Saturday night. You can park right at the B&B and walk down to the shops and restaurants. I highly recommend the Sweet Cane Inn as it's casual hosts and quiet rooms, plus ideal location make it perfect for a visit to Natchitoches.

Room Tip: The Lily room is on the side of the house and on the third floor so it's very quiet as long as y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport, Louisiana, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

My wife and I had a wonderful time in Natchitoches staying at the elegant Sweet Cane Inn. It was our second time at the inn and it was perfect. Great rooms, we recommend the Magnolia Suite. The breakfast was delicious! John and Kathy are so friendly and accommodating. It was the best place to stay for City of Lights because Front street is only a block away. We're already anticipating our next visit!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

When visiting Louisiane the tourist office showed us the way to Natchitoches. The oldest town in the state.
The staff of the local tourist office provided us a warm welcome and phoned a couple of B&B to stay.
We went to the Sweet Cane in and fell in love with the place.
The owners John and Kathy are great and warm people who realy understand hospitality.
Great victorian vibe, super cosy rooms and freshly prepared breakfast by John and staff.
The location is near downtown so its is easy to walk around. John and kathy also own a restaurant which is called Maglieaux's. The old name Antoons still appears on websites.
Maglieaux's is Tops as well and worthwile a visit.
Oh did I mention the happy hour every day with free wine and cookies..

This is the place to stay in Natchitoches, -nag-ge-tosh and we wish John and Kathy all the best in their new adventures.
You guys Rock!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
705 clinton Street, Brenham, Texas
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We loved our two nights at Sweet Cane Inn. With in walking distance to shops and restaurants. It is close to the Cane River Lake where you can sit and enjoy the lush vegetation and flowers. Natchitoches, Louisiana has so much history. We took the walking tour that was guided by the parks. We drove out to see plantations and we shopped until we could shop no more. The restaurants there are very good. We had to have a meat pie at the famous Lasyone's. Great place for lunch is Merci Beaucoup where they have wonderful sandwiches, gumbo, red beans and rice and salads. The best part is the bnb we were staying in also had a very good restaurant just a stroll away. Get there early because it was packed every night and we stayed on weeknights. Natchitoches is going to be celebrating there 300 year birthday soon. They are older than New Orleans. The Sweet Cane Inn was beautiful and the room was awesome. We thought we had hit the lottery! We stayed in the Azela room and the individual climate control was great. Sometimes the older homes are hotter upstairs, but no need to worry here. The breakfasts were so good. There are many bnbs to choose from, but you will want to stay at Sweet Cane Inn in Natchitoches!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sweet Cane Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sweet Cane Inn

Address: 926 Washington St, Natchitoches, LA 71457
Location: United States > Louisiana > Natchitoches
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Natchitoches
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant, century old Victorian home, Sweet Cane Inn welcomes you to relax and enjoy the comfort and hospitality that will certainly set the standard for your visit to historic Natchitoches for years to come.Sweet Cane Inn was built for Congressman Phanor Breazeale in the late 1800's. Among its many unique features, Sweet Cane Inn's stately presence boasts of 12 foot ceilings, 11 fireplaces, and a wall of stained glass windows at the top of the stairs which curve and lead to seven beautifully spacious rooms and suites. Conveniently located in the heart of Natchitoches' Landmark Historic District, Sweet Cane Inn is within walking distance of beautiful Front Street, a brick thoroughfare where wrought iron balconies, restaurants, shops and attractions face beautiful Cane River Lake. Guests enjoy nearby fort sites, museums, and year around cultural events and festivals. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sweet Cane Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.