We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Southern charm and hospitality!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sweet Cane Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Natchitoches
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Sweet Cane Inn
Save
You added Sweet Cane Inn to your Saves list
926 Washington St, Natchitoches, LA 71457   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 28 Natchitoches B&B and Inns
New Iberia, LA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Southern charm and hospitality!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Have you ever stayed at a place where the owners were the concierge, the chefs, event planners, historians, bell captain, restaurant critic and just plain nice people? If not, then Sweet Cane Inn will be a treat. This beautiful, restored victorian home is a great way to spend a weekend, plan a girls trip or a family reunion. Over the two mornings we were there we enjoyed a delicious breakfast with crepes, quiche, pancakes, eggs, bacon, etc. In the afternoon we enjoyed the best bread pudding, cookies, wine, coffee and a nice front porch with rocking chairs to sit back and relax. This is not just a business for Kathy and John, they love this old house and southern flavor of the town and will do everything in their power for you to do the same. I highly recommend this B & B and it will be my place to stay on my next trip to Natchitoches.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Magnolia room and were extremely pleased. Beautiful bathroom and outside patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
14
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We spent one night at the Sweet Cane Inn and had a terrific experience. The rooms were very comfortable (we stayed in the Azalea and Camellia Suite because our son was with us)--pretty and inviting. The bathroom, which the two rooms share, was clearly an add on, but it worked very well.

We had arranged to have dinner served the night we arrived, thinking that we would be very tired after a full day of school and work and then a 4-hour drive and we were glad we did. Chris Levy is the chef and he made us a delicious dinner. So delicious that my husband and I had two plates of everything and our son (who is 16 and apparently can consume unlimited calories) had 3!

Breakfast the next morning was just as good or better. This is where I need to rave about John and Kathy. They are both very friendly, which is obviously a good quality for innkeepers, but they also know a lot about the history of the house and area and Louisiana in general that we sat and visited for 2 hours over breakfast! It was a wonderful start to our short trip to Louisiana and we are already talking about going back just to have a long weekend.

Finally, although we didn't explore Natchitoches, the Inn is in a great spot for exploring. Mapquest had taken us a funny and circuitous way into town, but John told us a better way to get back out to the highway that included driving right down by the river (which I think is a lake at this point, actually--very pretty). It's quite close and you could enjoy the entire area on foot.

Room Tip: The Oleander room is the old master bedroom with a huge bathroom, perfect for a couple. If you want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring, Tx
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This was my 1st experience at a B&B. Loved it! The Sweet Cane Inn in Natchitoches has to be one of the best ever. The owners Kathy and John were always around to talk and give history of the town and the home. Their breakfasts were gourmet but simple and so delicious. We had cheesecake pancakes, quiches, strawberry cream crepes, bacon, sausage, bagels and more over two days. Wine in the late afternoons and warm cookies. The bedrooms (we had 3) were so beautiful and comfortable. Great night sleep. A little noise from the street but walking distance to the historic district which made it and ideal location. I really can not wait to go back!
Wish we could have seen the Christmas Lights and stayed for the Festival of Lights but maybe next year.

Room Tip: The Azalea and Camelia were a 2 bedroom suite which had 3 beds but a small bath. Great shower. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Wonderful place, wonderful people, wonderful food, wonderful time. Big Up to Kathy & John that were marvellous hosts. We spent 2 nights there, and had the impression to stay for week. Almost cried when we said goodbye... Please go there and discover :D

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homewood, Illinois, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

We recently stayed at the Sweet Cane Inn to celebrate my husband's aunt and uncle's 50th Wedding Anniversary - their children planned the whole celebration and choosing the Sweet Cane Inn was a fantastic idea. The Inn itself is a wonderful work of art. The love and care that has been put into restoring this lovely Victorian home is amazing. My husband and I stayed in the Azalea room and it was magnificent. The in room bath is lovely, the rice bed is beautiful and the bedding was fantastic. There were approximately 20 people from our party that stayed the night in various rooms and it was just such a wonderful time. We all enjoyed a horse drawn buggy ride around the town and points of interest were shown. When we returned, John had set up the movie parlor so we could all watch Steel Magnolias (which was filmed in Natchitoches). As our audience retired, John made sure the movie was shut down and everyone was taken care of. He also took the time to discuss the architecture of his property with us.
In the morning we feasted on a delicious breakfast of scrambled eggs, sausage, pasteries and incredible pancakes! There was also dry cereal for anyone who wanted.
We had a wonderful time and the "oldieweds" were thrilled!

Room Tip: The Oleander has an unbelievably beautiful bath! The claw footed tub is lovely and the fireplace in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

My husband and I love to stay at a B&B whenever we travel, and when we decided to visit Natchitoches I actually had a hard time picking one, there are so many to choose from!

Well, I truly believe i chose the best one..Sweet Cane Inn is very a very lovely and welcoming home and the owners are the absolute, most hospitable hosts, we've ever had! They even threw a Crawfish Boil for us! Possibly the best crawfish i've ever had! Their new chef Chris is a real darling! We had fresh home made baked cookies(with a special secret recipe) set out for us every afternoon, with an assortment of juices, teas and wines...We had an awesome home cooked breakfast each morning...juices and coffees....The home is clean as a pin...........What more can i say???
When in Natchitoches, STAY AT THE SWEET CANE INN! It's absolutely wonderful!

Room Tip: Ask for the Magnolia room,,,it has a private balcony and a newly redone bath...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

I recently stayed at the renovated Sweet Cane Inn, a beautiful Victorian Inn which is a five minute walk to the historic district. My husband and I visited during the popular Christmas season before the new owners bought this property and marveled at the original architectural details. I enjoyed it then but I was blown away by the new renovations at the most recent stay. The interior is painted with period colors that show off the intricate stained glass and antiques throughout. The rooms are uncluttered , showing off the beautiful woodwork. The immaculate and elegant bedrooms all have new bedding with 400 hundred-count sheets. The large, vintage bathrooms are all renovated with modern day amenities. Beautiful paintings from local artists adorn the walls and original fireplace mantles with gorgeous porcelain inlays. It may be the most beautiful bed and breakfast I have been in, and I have stayed in a few. I slept like a baby after turning on the new flat screen television. Too comfy!

There are a lot of things to do in Natchitoches . Visit the Sweet Cane website , or ask the owners for any questions you may have. The plantation homes offer guided tours. The historic district has stores that have quality crafts and are just plain fun. The river area is newly renovated and just waiting for a lazy picnic. We ate at the Mariner restaurant (owner recommendation), which is right on the water, and has a great ambiance. Our party had a variety of tasty seafood and meat dishes. We also took a carriage ride which focused on the movie ‘Steel Magnolias”, which meandered through historic Natchitoches. Ask the owner or innkeeper to plan any excursion or party for you. They were so helpful.

Finally, the price is very reasonable considering the luxury accommodations and amenities that are offered. At 4:00 there is a wine and beer get together. Fresh homemade chocolate chip cookies, a variety of cheeses, meat and crackers, with good quality wine, bottled beer, and other drinks on ice are there for your refreshment. Our musician host has wonderful music playing in the background. Chocolates are placed on the bed and quality toiletries were available. The 8:30 am buffet breakfast included cream cheese and strawberry pancakes, eggs, bacon, bagels, Community coffee and tea, yogurt, cereal and fruit. Come when you want!! I appreciated the china that was used as well as glass decanters of a variety of fruit juices. Everything was elegant and yummy. Drop by for at least one night and enjoy southern charm, hospitality and luxurious surroundings. Pamper yourself!!!

Room Tip: The third floor is a great area for multiple visitors as it has a nice common area to hang out in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sweet Cane Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sweet Cane Inn

Address: 926 Washington St, Natchitoches, LA 71457
Location: United States > Louisiana > Natchitoches
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Natchitoches
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant, century old Victorian home, Sweet Cane Inn welcomes you to relax and enjoy the comfort and hospitality that will certainly set the standard for your visit to historic Natchitoches for years to come.Sweet Cane Inn was built for Congressman Phanor Breazeale in the late 1800's. Among its many unique features, Sweet Cane Inn's stately presence boasts of 12 foot ceilings, 11 fireplaces, and a wall of stained glass windows at the top of the stairs which curve and lead to seven beautifully spacious rooms and suites. Conveniently located in the heart of Natchitoches' Landmark Historic District, Sweet Cane Inn is within walking distance of beautiful Front Street, a brick thoroughfare where wrought iron balconies, restaurants, shops and attractions face beautiful Cane River Lake. Guests enjoy nearby fort sites, museums, and year around cultural events and festivals. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sweet Cane Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.