We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Steaks” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mama's Oyster House

Mama's Oyster House
608 Front St, Natchitoches, LA 71457-4630
318-356-7874
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 58 Restaurants in Natchitoches
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Winnfield, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Steaks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011 via mobile

The steaks here are excellent. The atmosphere is very casual. A great place to go with friends.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    29
    22
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Perfect Combo---Convenient Location+Great Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Perfect location on historic Front St. Had two meals here and all three of us enjoyed them both. Can't go wrong with the seafood platter. It fed two of us and we brought some home! The shrimp fettucine was also quite tasty. Can't go wrong with the poboys and fries. Great drinks and souvenir cups, too .The wait staff was friendly and attentive. This restaurant met all of our needs: nice variety and fair pricing. We'll be back!

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Great place for a date, horrible place to eat”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2011 via mobile

Mama's is the ideal place to take a date for some drinks/or pick up a date. Great bar with the perfect environment but the food is in one word, BORING.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Youngsville, Louisiana, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Crabcakes”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2011

Had appetizers here. Oysters were rather small, but the crabcakes were fantastic. Very good margaritas, too!

  • Visited October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“I'll be back for sure”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

I ate here tonight. Great atmosphere (sports bar scene). The employees were so friendly and my server, Sam, was AWESOME. She checked on me at the right times and always had a smile on her face.

The beer - ICE COLD. That's what I'm talking about!

The food - It was really good. I had the small sampler appetizer that had 3 shrimp, 3 oysters and 3 catfish strips, all fried, served with tartar sauce and cocktail sauce. It was very tasty, but just a bit greasy. It wasn't too bad but if they'd drain it a little longer it would have been perfect.

This restaurant is located across the street from the Cane River in a "historic" part of town. It was great to get away from chain restaurants for a night.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mama's Oyster House also viewed

 

Been to Mama's Oyster House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mama's Oyster House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.