We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, slow service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pioneer Pub

Pioneer Pub
812 Washington St, Natchitoches, LA 71457-4728
318-352-4884
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 58 Restaurants in Natchitoches
Price range: $2 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Good food, slow service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Nice casual pub atmosphere for lunch after a stroll down the historic center. Hot, fresh food. I liked the famous meat pies and had a good spinach chicken wrap. They toasted the wrap, which was a nice change and gave it an extra crunch. Our waitress was a little overwhelmed and forgot a lot of details, but she was friendly.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    23
    6
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Benton, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fun & Friendly place to visit.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

I have dined there several times. I usually accept the servers suggestion for the best meal of the day and have never been disappointed. They have a fantastic choice of beers on tap which they change out periodically.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, NM
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Bar with good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

It's where the locals go to eat good basic food at a reasonable price and to get interesting microbrews (list changes daily).

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good friendly pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

In two days in Natchitoches we ended up in this pub twice. We sat at the bar and talked to the staff and owners. I get the feeling that if we lived in Natchitoches this would be our regular haunt.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Great Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We were staying at a B&B in town and doing the usual touristy things in Natchitoches. We had never been to Pioneer Pub, only because we didn't know about this place and it is a little hard to see because of the location. It is located at the end of the main street action of all the shops and other restaurants. The owners of the B&B where we were staying are friends with the owners of the Pub and they recommended it. We were not at all disappointed. The food was great...really great! And the prices were very reasonable. The service was good and the atmosphere was just as good. They even have tables outside and in good weather dining outdoors is very pleasant. We have been to Natchitoches enough times now that we have become friends with several of the locals and they all seem to hang out at the Pub at night. That night (Thanksgiving weekend) they had a young man who is from Natchitoches (or near there) who entertained...sort of a one man band. He was very good and we enjoyed listening to him.
The one problem we see with most of the restaurants/bars and even most of the shops in Natchitoches is they are very small. They are a part of the original historical area and for that reason they are small. That is not to say that you can't still have a good time, you're just going to have a good time in a small space!! We LOVE Natchitoches though and there are some things you just have to deal with!
Overall, we really recommend the Pub. Day or night; they have really great food. And you are in Cajun country so Cajun food is a must!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pioneer Pub also viewed

 

Been to Pioneer Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pioneer Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.