We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A second visit.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mariner's

Mariner's
5948 Hwy 1 Bypass, Natchitoches, LA
318-357-1220
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 58 Restaurants in Natchitoches
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Fort Worth, Texas
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“A second visit.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

This was our second trip to Mariners for dinner. I think the memory of a newly discovered place is always the best, but even though our second visit was on a busy holiday night, the service was good, and the food overall was exactually as ordered. But... this time I sampled the broiled oysters....oysters rockefeller and oysters bienville. Very poor. Couldn't find the oyster buried in the midst of a gooey mass of breading, cheese, spinich and other additions which had long since gotten cold and discolored. So, my advice is to skip the broiled oysters. The rest of the food was good, and the wine by the glass was very nice. I will go again and do still recommend this place to others.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    47
    14
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Pa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Marriner's is acually two parts, Mariners which is a fine dinning area and The cove, wich is a bar dinning area.more casual than the resturant side. food was good staff great very clean and atmousphere.
I ate in the cove a few times, restuarant never, reasonble pricing, normal servings.

You have to understand one thing about natchitoches, all the eating places are average at best. its unbelievable because its a tourest area. i have been here 2 1/2 weeks and making a point of eating at a new place everyday i can honestly say there is nothing outstanding. the cove is a little above the rest, there food at least has some flavor and taste.

nothing in this town has any local food except meat pies, everything really bland. i had some itaian at a place i would feed my dog. they are not listed or i would review it also.

the cove an excelent place to eat and hang. recomend it highly.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Excellent dining. We had heard it was very good, then heard it was over-rated. Decided to try it anyway ......It was not over-rated. It was very pleasant dining and all of the food that we had was exceptional. Best food that we had in Natchitoches...and we ate at several of the main restaurants.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Dinner at Mariner's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We unwittingly booked three days of photography in Natchitoches without realizing the Festival of Lights was this weekend!! They have an estimated 150,000 extra people in town. We went to Mariner's this evening; it was very crowded but they handled it beautifully. We were seated fairly quickly and had excellent service. The food was really, really good. Nice salad bar. My steak was so tender you hardly needed a knife. My husband really liked the tilapia. Stuffed, baked potatoes were great. Now, the dessert......amazing. Both of us had warmed pecan pie. We also noticed that as crowded as it was and as busy as the kitchen must have been, the presentation of the food was wonderful. A really great experience!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pflugerville, Texas
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Delicious”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012 via mobile

I visited Mariner's with a chartered tour group. The staff quickly served us and accommodated our requests. I had the tilapia plate that was very good.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mariner's also viewed

 

Been to Mariner's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mariner's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.