We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Built for a Pugh: An English Rose Cultivated in French Culture” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Madewood Plantation House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Napoleonville
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Madewood Plantation House
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   4250 Highway 308, Napoleonville, LA 70390   |  
Hotel amenities
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Built for a Pugh: An English Rose Cultivated in French Culture”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Madewood is the perfect place. My last review was colored with purple tinted prose, but this time I'll lay it out straight: Madewood is a must. My recent eight day sojourn at Madewood was exceptional. It doesn't get any better. A big warm thanks to Angie and staff; you made my vacation memorable. A gigantic thanks to Madewood House; you are the stuff of which dreams are made. See you soon. P. S. Eggs, cheese grits and biscuits, oh my!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    55
    15
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
15
38
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
boston
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Madewood is, above all, authentic.

Madewood is a real plantation home, built in the 19th century. The building is enormous, the ceilings are unbelievably high, the proportions are just right. It's clear that the spaces have not been monkeyed with, from an architectural point of view. Nothing has been cut up bizarrely, no rash attempts to modernize at the cost of the original structure. The staircases,the porches, the windows ... everything feels just as it should. The original kitchen is even on display in the courtyard, so you can truly breathe in the atmosphere of the period.

What's especially nice about this place is it feels neither like a Disney Land version of a plantation, nor like a museum. Although the furniture is largely antique, when it isn't, it generally fits in nicely. Artwork and momentos decorate the walls, so one feels as if the house has been truly lived in, and has evolved with a family. Some more formal displays of collectibles and costumes evoke the layers of time that have passed through the building.

Authenticity carrries through to the bedrooms. They are beautiful and elegant and the textiles are lovely. But you will find that beds are not all conventional shapes and sizes, and bathrooms are tucked into nooks -- former closets, perhaps.

People who seek consistent beds -- a la Hilton or Marriott -- should look elsewhere. Similarly, people who want fitness centers, pools, vending machines, room service and so on should focus on the predictable chains.

But if you want the scents of history, a warm breeze on a veranda, to stroll through a garden where bitter oranges grow and a rope swing hangs drom the branches of a live oak, to feel those front-porch pillars tower above you ... Madewood is for you.

Finally, it should be noted that Madewood serves truly outstanding meals. Both supper and breakfast were first-rate -- delicious, homemade food served in the most gracious, warm and friendly manner. The staff could not be nicer. Warm, genuine, and pleasant, and attentive.

Room Tip: the website shows all of the rooms accurately.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Everyone is very hospitable here. Tour is very informational. Grounds are exceptionally well kept. I loved to see all the boats float the Mississippi while I was here! Can’t wait to visit again!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

I loved everything about Madewood -- its charm, its beauty, its sense of style, its overall comfort and its food. The only thing I would change is something Madewood has no control over -- the humidity. I travelled to Madewood with a friend who insisted that if we were in Louisiana we needed to experience a plantation house and I will be forever grateful. Definitely plan to go back. Loved the staff -- they were friendly and attentive.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gig Harbor, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

Our friends had arranged for two couples to stay at the Madewood Plantation as part of a week long trip to NOLA. We arrived there on a Wednesday and were warmly greeted upon arrival. The four of us were the only guests mid-week and we had a lovely time! The rooms were great and we loved the wine/cheese service in the parlor before dinner. The chef accommodated our request for a gluten-free dinner and we really enjoyed the entire meal! We enjoyed an after dinner drink in the second parlor and the retired to our private veranda late in the evening. The rooms were very large and we thoroughly enjoyed walking the grounds. The host and staff were very accommodating and we had a great stay!

Room Tip: Pick the rooms at the front of the house for access to the upper veranda!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

Madewood Plantation was built years before the Cival War by Thomas Bryan Pugh who came from North Carolina as a young man in the early 1800's. In May, 29 Pugh cousins rented the entire plantation for a family reunion. We gathered at 6 pm in the parlor for wine and cheese, family photos, and retelling Pugh family history. After an elegant seated dinner of portabella soup, salad, crawfish etoufee, a pumpkin dish, and green beans, we enjoyed a special surprise dessert cake decorated with "Pugh Family Reunion". We toured the family cemetery and enjoyed the shade of the massive live oak trees. We had a lovely brunch the next morning. All agreed it was a wonderful experience and a great time. !!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JR1819, Owner at Madewood Plantation House, responded to this review, May 21, 2012
Madewood was delighted to welcome members of the Pugh family back to Bayou Lafourche and the beautiful home that Thomas Pugh built. It was exciting for us to hear wonderful stories and learn more of the family history that we can impart to our overnight guests at Madewood.

We strive to keep Madewood a family home, as it was in the mid-nineteenth century, a gracious lady on the bayou who welcomes guests from far and near with open arms.

We look forward to a return visit from the family for another gathering.

Keith Marshall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silsbee, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

Gathered with cousins for a 50th Birthday celebration, spent one night in the Mystery Lady Room, wished we could have stayed longer! The owner Keith was friendly and wonderful, the home beautiful, clean, and comfortable. The meals were sooooo good, both served one course at a time, plantation style! After dinner they even presented us with a birthday cake for desert! Coffee and conversation on the balcony after breakfast the next morning was very pleasant... mmmm... did I mention wonderful coffee!!! It was very relaxing and a perfect plantation experience for my 50th birthday, definitly want to visit again. :]

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Madewood Plantation House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madewood Plantation House

Address: 4250 Highway 308, Napoleonville, LA 70390
Location: United States > Louisiana > Napoleonville
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Napoleonville
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Madewood Plantation House 3*
Also Known As:
Madewood Plantation House Hotel Napoleonville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Madewood Plantation House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Madewood Plantation House to your Saves list