We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not 3 Star” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Morgan City

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Morgan City to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Morgan City
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   520 Roderick St, P. O. Box 2060, Morgan City, LA 70381   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Morgan City
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Not 3 Star”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Hotel is clean, updated, and comfortable. Rooms are smallish.. not a 3 star more like an updated 2. Trip Advisor fails on Morgan City! If I return to Morgan City I will try another hotel. I wouldn't say don't stay here, just don't have 3 star expectations.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Htlmgr023, Manager at Holiday Inn Morgan City, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Thank you for review on the Holiday Inn Morgan City. We appreciate your comments. While we are a mature hotel we try to maintain a clean,comfortable and friendly environment for our guests. We wish you safe travels and if we can be of assistance in the future please let us know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    12
    14
    5
    4
See reviews for
9
11
3
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Saint Rose, Louisiana
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Always love staying here.Good food,awesome staff. Skylah stole my heart lol.
Room was exceptionally clean.I prefer rooms in the "horseshoe". Out back away from everyone.
Room service was awesome and waiters were cool and clean cut.

Room Tip: Stay away from rooms located near the bar. It sometimes can be loud.Very seldom but occasionally.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Htlmgr023, General Manager at Holiday Inn Morgan City, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
We would like to thank you for your recent evaluation of the Holiday Inn Morgan City. Your comments have been shared with all of the employee and especially Skyla. She was grinning from ear to ear when she read your comments. These comments are especially helpful in motivating employees and their efforts. Again, thank you for taking time to share your feedback about your stay.

Sincerely,
Sharon Howell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey Village, Texas, United States
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

I've stayed at the Holiday Inn Morgan City many times over the past few years and it is always a great experience. The staff is always friendly and helpful and the rooms are always clean and comfortable. They have good food and a great lunch buffet. I've never had a bad experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Htlmgr023, Manager at Holiday Inn Morgan City, responded to this review, November 15, 2013
Thank you very much for your review of the Holiday Inn Morgan City. It is so nice to read such positive comments. Filling out surveys can be a time consuming task and we want you to know we appreciate the time you took to share your feedback. Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn and we hope to be of service to you in the future.

Sincerely,
Sharon Howell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prairieville, Louisiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We spent our weekend at the Holiday Inn Morgan City for my husband to fish a tournament. From booking to checkout, this staff was awesome. We needed a room that allowed us to charge our boat. Done! We needed to check in early. Done! The room was immaculate! Older hotel but well kept and super clean!!! Bed was super comfy!! Staff so helpful and friendly!! Seafood buffet was delicious and the breakfast buffet was off the charts!! Continental breakfast - whatever - it's a breakfast extravaganza!! Security patrolling the property put us as ease with our boat and equipment in the parking lot. We will make this hotel our "go-to" booking when we are in the area!! Thanks for a great stay!!!

Room Tip: Eat every meal at the hotel - you will not be disappointed!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Htlmgr023, General Manager at Holiday Inn Morgan City, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you very much for taking time to write such a positive review. It is so rewarding to read a review like this and be able to pat your staff on the back. While we aren't always perfect it is always the goal we aim for. It seems like we hit the bullseye this time. Guest like you make our days a little brighter.

Sincerely,
Sharon Howell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

The value is good free breakfast, free drink in the lounge, USA Today delivered to the door,nice pool area.Only drawback is the A/C in room. This is not a new property but completely renovated and kept up. The staff from check in to check out we're unusually friendly. We will be back even tho
They are building a new HI Express .

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Htlmgr023, General Manager at Holiday Inn Morgan City, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank you very much for taking time to post your comments regarding your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Morgan City. We have aged some in the last forty years but we like to think of our self as a Legacy hotel. It is always nice to receive positive reviews such as yours. Again, thank you for your comments.

Sincerely,
Sharon Howell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Currently it is Wednesday, and I have been staying at this hotel since Sunday. The entire staff is so welcoming and friendly that I am on a first name basis with most of them already. As far as the hotel, itself, goes...a few people gave some undeserving, sub-par reviews. I haven't seen anything to justify any of this. The rooms are VERY clean, spacious, and have great decor/appliances. True they face the exterior, but who cares? My room faces the courtyard with a good sized pool, plenty of patio furniture, and public grills should you want to use them. The ON-SITE laundry services were very helpful, and I like having use of the 24-hr gym (at no cost) across the street rather than a smaller hotel gym with a treadmill and a couple dumbells. There is a FANTASTIC restaurant on-site as well, which offers room service. Breakfast and lunch buffet is in addition to the regular menu items. The icing on the cake is the hotel bar. It is no boring, ordinary one either. This place is two stories with pool tables, a jukebox, plenty of lounge and cocktail seating, a dance floor, ENORMOUS tv's...you name it. I really just can't say enough about this place. I haven't left the hotel since I got here, which is very unusual for me, but you really don't have any need to. I guess the best support I can give is to stay here for the remainder of the week.

Room Tip: At the restaurant, order the "trust your chef" pasta. It can be anything, but mine was a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Htlmgr023, General Manager at Holiday Inn Morgan City, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time out of your schedule to write such a complimentary and comprehensive review of your stay. As the General Manager, I must tell you it was a excellent way to end the week. I have printed your sentiments and passed them along to the staff.
Morgan's restaurant is a local favorite and has a strong reputation in the local area. It is always gratifying when someone outside of Louisiana recognizes authentic cajun made from scratch cooking. We take a lot of pride in what we do. I know your kind words will continue to reinforce the sense of pride the employees already have.
When you are back in the area, please come back and visit again.

Sincerely,
Sharon Howell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perry, FL
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Service - fantastic, Problems - easily fixed with a smile, Amenities - spot on, Restaurant - outstanding service and great food (I even want a shirt from there). Absolutely recommend staying here. We will be back. :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Htlmgr023, General Manager at Holiday Inn Morgan City, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for such a complimentary review. It is always gratifying to know that your hard work and dedication have been noticed. I have printed your positive remarks and shared them with the staff. We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay in Morgan City.

Sincerely,
Sharon Howell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Morgan City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Morgan City

Address: 520 Roderick St, P. O. Box 2060, Morgan City, LA 70381
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Morgan City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Morgan City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Morgan City 3*
Number of rooms: 219
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stop! Check us out! The art of blending modern luxury and Southern Hospitality with a down home Cajun touch-welcome to Morgan City, LA! Discover everything South Louisiana has to offer at the convenient, comfortable, and of course, affordable Holiday Inn, Morgan City. Getting where you need to go is simple. Holiday Inn Morgan City is centrally located 60 miles from Lafayette, New Orleans and Baton Rouge, and is easily accessible from Highway 90. Stay with us and experience true Southern Hospitality at its finest. Get out of the hustle and bustle of the city and come enjoy life in Cajun Country. Take an exhilarating swamp tour, catch a fish or two, watch Eagles soar or hit the round ball on the new Von Hagge championship golf course. Morgan City is an Island located smack dab in the middle of Cajun Country. It s a place where friends and memories are made that last a lifetime. Loose yourself in our plush bedding package. With amenities like complimentary WiFi Internet access, 24 hour business center, full service health club, and laundry services just for you. Experience fine dining in a relaxed atmosphere at Morgan s. Whether you are in the mood for unique Cajun cuisine or a simple, satisfying dinner, Morgan s will tempt your taste buds with it s extraordinary menu. Experience the true taste of the Cajun Coast. End your day in Legend s Lounge. Legend s features the best cocktails in town topped off with unique nightly entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Morgan City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Morgan City Hotel Morgan City
Morgan City Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Morgan City, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.