We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for the price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Monroe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Motel 6 Monroe to your Saves list
Motel 6 Monroe
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1035 Martin Luther King Jr Drive, Monroe, LA 71203   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Monroe
Lubbock
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good for the price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

La Quinta has no pet fees and gives discounts for active military so I decided to try it out while in Monroe. The area is decent, right off the main highway with lots of truckers. The mall and food can be found close down the side street. The room was very average and small. Breakfast was waffles and warm eggs with muffins and toast, cereal and juices. Because the hotel is next to the highway and the train tracks, a train can occasionally be heard in the night along with cars. The room was clean and Eric at the front was wonderful. All in all, the price made me happy and my stay was comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    24
    15
    16
    26
See reviews for
33
14
8
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Coalmont, Tennessee, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

my aunt and i stayed for four nights we had a clean room and we absolutely loved eric who checked us in after an eight hour drive. he does his job with excellence and a great attitude we would stay there again just because of him!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denton, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

My husband and I have stayed at many La Quinta Inns and have been satisfied with the service and cleanliness, but I would not recommend staying here. The room was dirty, smelled, the bath tub had hairs in it and stains, and the bedspread looked like it had a blood stain right in the middle of the bed plus another black stain. Also, we called ahead to reserve a king size bed room and when we got there, they were going to put us in a two-double bed room. We ended out with the king size but in a handicap room. The entrance to the hotel is difficult to see and confusing when arriving at night. There could be better hospitality found elsewhere. The complementary breakfast was ok. I would not recommend staying here. It was not worth the money we spent.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Stayed at La Qinta Monroe but wished I hadn't. The room was decoration was worn and the room gernerally was tired and a bit down at heel. I had to reach behind the dresser because the TV didn't work as the lead wasn't in the socket properly and found a true spider paradice and more dust than any room should have. The worst, however, was waking up to my wife saying she would never trust me to book a hotel again and making me kill the roaches in the bathroom so she could take a shower. No one should have to kill roaches before they are allowed to have a cup of coffee and put their pants on!!
The redeaming features of this hotel were the member of staff who checked us in who made us welcome and the swimming pool wich was good. The breakfast was OK and there was plenty of it

Room Tip: Get a room near reception they looked better
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Indiana
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Stayed here for close proximity to Monroe Civic Center for dog show. Room itself was clean but the bathroom toilet was either dirty or stained, previous mold around tub present under caulking and the toe floor looked dirty. I would wake up with bites on my body. Four nights was $400, not worth it. I've stayed at many La Quinta Inns but this one was just plain nasty.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Apparently, there was a huge convention in Monroe so La Quinta had the only vacancy in town. So at least, we had a place to stay. Not much good to say after that. I knew the place already had a bad rep because I went to college in Monroe and heard complaints 10 years ago. So I was apprehensive and looking for problems. I immediately pulled the sheets down and found lots of hair in the leg area of the bed. The sheets were wrinkled like someone had already slept in the bed. So called the front desk for a new set of sheets, specifically. Front desk was nice and would bring them right up. The security guard brought up a comforter. I said we need the sheets, fitted and flat. Then, he brought a whole set for a queen bed, we had a king. At that point, we just made it work. Next, while I was moving the coffee maker on the sink, a baby roach scurried away. So I made plans to make it the free breakfast for coffee. They had an instant coffee machine. I couldn't believe it. Instant coffee, really? So I gave the coffee maker a chance in the room. I did a trial clean through with just water, and 3 more baby roaches appeared. This place needs a thorough clean up. The carpet was old and dingy. If they would just get new carpet and an exterminator, it wouldn't be that bad. And I guess they need to go behind their maids.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Motel 6 Monroe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Monroe

Address: 1035 Martin Luther King Jr Drive, Monroe, LA 71203
Location: United States > Louisiana > Monroe
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 14 Hotels in Monroe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Monroe 2*
Number of rooms: 129
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Motel 6 Monroe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 Monroe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.