We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A tremendously extraordinary treasure memorializing Northeast Louisiana"s contribution to the World.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chennault Aviation and Military Museum

Chennault Aviation and Military Museum
701 Kansas Ln, Monroe, LA 71213
318-361-9020
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 19 Attractions in Monroe
Type: History Museums, Military Museums
Attraction Details
1 review
“A tremendously extraordinary treasure memorializing Northeast Louisiana"s contribution to the World.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

This venue has the capacity to perpetually articulate the significance and relevance of the accomplishments of the people and how their bold aspirations meaningfully shaped the World as we know it today.

William L McElroy, AIA

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    7
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Crossett
Top Contributor
359 reviews 359 reviews
124 attraction reviews
Reviews in 110 cities Reviews in 110 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
“What a pleasant surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

My 7 year old grandson and I visited this well-done museum recently. The collection of war memorabilia is amazing. It is well organized. The introductory video is informative. The displays are well organized. The volunteers are helpful and welcoming. We will visit again.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Best in N. E. La.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Outstanding small museum, operation with very little funds from the State-great history of Gen. Claire Chennault, born nearby, who led the Flying Tigers AVP to fight the Japanese in early WW2,with very little help, Museum Director is his granddaughter.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Monroe, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“thank you”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

great job. so much history here. nice friendly staff.a wonderful place to reflect on the past. i suggest this as you first stop.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Big Little Museum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

I was very impressed my visit there. From the size of the building I was thinking I would kill 15-20 min walking through it. Boy was I wrong. Anyone interested in aviation will easily spend an hour or more looking at the exhibits and taking it all in. It has a lot of "local interest" stuff but will interest people from out of the area.

The staff is very friendly and wants to tell you about everything. It's well worth the stop. It's fairly easy to get to off of I-20. Think it needs to be promoted more. It's a real gem in the making.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chennault Aviation and Military Museum also viewed

 

Been to Chennault Aviation and Military Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chennault Aviation and Military Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.