We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable day and for the price its great anytime.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Louisiana Purchase Gardens & Zoo

Louisiana Purchase Gardens & Zoo
Ticheli Road, P.O. Box 123, Monroe, LA 71210
318-329-2400
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 19 Attractions in Monroe
Activities: Leisure education, Viewing wildlife
Attraction details
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Enjoyable day and for the price its great anytime.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

I'm from California and have been to a few different zoos before but this one was fun. We really enjoyed our day there. The animals were out and we got to watch them feed the snakes. They had a few animals in the petting zoo area
Which was really nice, my daughter really enjoyed that. We did go in the off season so the attraction pays were closed down. The price was actually cheap so it makes it a fun and inexpensive day to do more often with the kids. Definitely going to go back hopefully before we leave.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    17
    14
    10
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Crossett, Arkansas
1 review
“monroe, LA ZoO”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Been there several times with the kids...unlike the little rock zoo..(.which is bigger but less animals and no boat ride) the animals are always out and and loud . always a good time... plus we always love taking picnics by the park outside the zoo!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A nice surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We went there on the way home from the State fair. I was disapointed the gift shop was not open, however the petting zoo was nice. Beware of the duck he bites. The other animals were very eager to eat from your hand. They had a large variety of animals. Nice Suprise, they have a Hippo. I also enjoyed all the exhibilts giving facts about the Louisiana Purchase. It was a nice touch. The zoo is laid out nicely and it was a pleasant walk. Lots of animals to look at. The Big Safari animals were a little difficult to view but other than that I enjoyed it, and my daughter did as well.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Nice visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

It was late in the year for the gardens and getting cold for some of the animals. Very nicely laid out and a good assortment of animals. Worth stopping in.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“It worths”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012 via mobile

It is nice to visit that zoo they have so many animals.
The boat tour is nice don't miss it.
We were there and they were feeding the snakes therefore we had a great show.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Louisiana Purchase Gardens & Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Louisiana Purchase Gardens & Zoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.