We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again was overcharged reservation was for 1 night got charged 2” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Monroe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Monroe to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Monroe
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1407 Martin Luther King Dr., Monroe, LA 71202   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
HHonors Weekend Deal
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Monroe
Atlanta
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Never again was overcharged reservation was for 1 night got charged 2”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Front desk attitude is terrible when it comes to solving problems. This hotel is a really bad Hampton inn. It appears it used to be a motel, but on their website it clearly states that all rooms face outdoors, so I am not really complaining about this. My reservation was for one night, and somehow they are accusing me of changing my reservation to two nights. That did not happen, I have proof that my reservation was for one night, and have my checkout receipt for one night. After calling the hotel and Hilton customer service, it seems I am going around circles. Will never stay at another Hampton inn and have cancelled all my Hilton reservations for the future. After hours staff not professional, person not wearing a name tag, not groomed, shirt was wrinkly and not tucked in. Also had 2 people loitering at about 5AM made me feel unsafe. This person checked me out and handed me the receipt, yet reservation was magically extended to two nights. Room was somewhat comfortable, Hampton Inns are known for very comfortable beds, this Hampton Inn matress was hard as a rock. A few bugs inside my room ( mosquitoes and flies ) Stay away. Location also seems unsafe.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jruss12, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Monroe, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Please accept our sincere apologies for the hassle and frustration you experienced during your recent stay with us. We do our best to provide our guests an uncomplicated and comfortable stay and we regret this was not your impression. We welcome you to contact our offices directly so we may work to correct this billing misstep and hope you will be our guest again in the future so we may show you the quality hospitality you expect and deserve.

Thank you,

Janie Russ
Regional Sales and Marketing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    61
    39
    28
    14
See reviews for
65
40
16
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Smith, Arkansas, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

This is the worst Hampton I have ever stayed in. There was a constant smell of sewer coming through the air conditioning. Pool was nasty, and got hit up for money from pan handlers working the parking lot. Horrible experience

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMRuss, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Monroe, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
I appreciate your candor on your feedback of your recent stay with us. I understand that during your stay, the freshness of your room was of concern to you and that there was an unpleasant odor. Unfortunately we do have a paper mill in the area that does present odor challenges to not only our hotel but all other hotels in the area. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and appreciate your taking the time to do so asr it is one of the most important tools that allow us to improve the quality of our products and services. All of your comments will be internally discussed with our management team for immediate action.

On behalf of the entire team, we thank you for your feedback and are truly sorry we did not succeed creating a memorable experience for you. Should you desire to further discuss your visit, please feel free to contact me. I would love the opportunity to earn your business and have you stay with us again.

Thank you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Desoto, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

All the comforts of my hotel stay were bad with exception of my bed. I will not be booking this hotel ever again. We were not able to sleep weel due to the heavy smoke smell and the constant noise right outside my door. I also fely like I was being watched each time I went to my truck to retrieve items for my daughter. Totally different experience from last year and we wont be back EVER.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Upon arriving the first this that you'll notice is the smell. There is this smell of sewerage outside. When you get into your room it's less prevelant, but you can still smell it. It may be a paper mill or something else, but it smells bad. Also, this is the only Hampton Inn MOTEL I've ever stayed with that didn't have interior hallways. The doors at this Hampton open to the outside, so that makes it a motel. This didn't bother me much until someone a the office I was visiting told me this Hampton was located in a sketchy area of Monroe.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jruss12, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Monroe, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for taking your valuable time to submit comments on TripAdvisor.com regarding your recent stay at our hotel. We do have several paper mills in the area and unfortunately, they do emit an odor from time to time. Some days, the odor is worse than others. We are very pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay and sincerely hope you will stay when you return our area in the future.

Sincerely,

Janie Russ
Regional Sales and Marketing Director
Southern Hospitality Services, LLC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

I'm very disappointed in this hotel. It is not clean. The floor/carpet is sticky there are black bugs in the room. The ceiling is terribly stained. The pool is very milky. Not sure how they can keep it open because it is so cloudy. The lamp in our room is broken.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMRuss, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Monroe, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
First of all, thank you for your candid feedback of your stay with us. I appreciate you selecting our hotel. I understand that you were disappointed with some issues at our hotel and more specifically regarding our cleanliness. I sincerely apologize that we did not meet expectations and I am actively working with our housekeeping team to ensure our standards of cleanliness and comfort are consistently met. We strive on providing our guests with a clean and comfortable stay and we will do everything we need to do to ensure that this issue does not occur again. I am always looking for reviews to provide insight into our guests experience and I will keep your review in mind.

Thank you again for your feedback and I invite you back to stay with us the next time your travels bring you to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Charles
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Great accommodations, great service, good location easy to access and find in main part of town has lots of stores and shops around it. Check in and out was fast and convenient. I have stayed here a few times and never had any problems.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMRuss, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Monroe, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Al G,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback for the Hampton Inn of Monroe, LA! We were so glad to hear that you are a repeat guest at our hotel and have always found your stay to be a comfortable and relaxing one!

We thank you for your business and can't wait to see you again!

Sincerely,

Janie Russ
Regional Sales and Marketing Director
Southern Hospitality Services, LLC
1401 Martin Luther King Jr Drive
Monroe, LA 71202
Phone: 318.547.4672
Fax: 318.410.0145
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robinson, Texas, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We stayed here using our points when we helped my parents move to their new place, and it worked for the single night we stayed, but we wouldn't want to stay more than that. I'm not sure if the previous occupant used his/her body spray or perfume extremely liberally or if the staff was trying to cover up something unpleasant because every time we entered our room, the floral smell was like a slap in the face. My husband found out the hard way (he flung himself onto the bed) that the bed was much more stiff than other Hampton beds on which we've slept. Breakfast did have eggs and sausage links and their wonderful biscuits, but we did suspect that these particular eggs may have been the powdered kind, although they still tasted good. And though we didn't have a particular problem with it, we did overhear some other guests wishing that the room doors didn't open directly to the outside.

Room Tip: If you can't handle stairs with your luggage, make sure you stay on the first floor as there is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMRuss, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Monroe, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Jodie H,

We thank you for taking the time to share your comments about the Hampton Inn of Monroe, LA. We regret to hear that your stay was not what you expected it to be. Although we are an older property, we are held to every strict Hilton standard that all Hampton Inn's are required to follow.

We use Febreeze in all of our guest rooms on a daily basis to guarantee a fresh and inviting smell to the room when our guests walk in. We also use only the best mattresses recommended by Hilton to ensure a comfortable and relaxing stay; and we would like to reassure you that our breakfast is prepared hot every morning, also per Hilton standard.

We always appreciate feedback about our hotel to help us improve. Your review will be shared with the staff and management. Thank you for your business and your time.

Sincerely,

Janie Russ
Regional Sales and Marketing Director
Southern Hospitality Services, LLC
1401 Martin Luther King Jr Drive
Monroe, LA 71202
Phone: 318.547.4672
Fax: 318.410.0145
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Monroe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Monroe

Address: 1407 Martin Luther King Dr., Monroe, LA 71202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Monroe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Monroe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Monroe 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Customer Service award winning exterior corridor hotel in a great location with easy access to area businesses, attractions, shopping, and restaurants. All rooms have micro-fridge, complimentary Wi-Fi, spacious work desks and ergonomically correct chairs, cable television with ESPN, 24 hour news channel, weather channel and more. The hotel also offers complimentary hot breakfast; full service business center, fax and copy service at no charge, and complimentary coffee service 24 hours a day, Hilton Honors loyalty program, and the best of service and amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Monroe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Monroe Hotel Monroe
Monroe Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Monroe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.