We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weird noises” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Monroe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Monroe to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Monroe
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1407 Martin Luther King Dr., Monroe, LA 71202   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Weekend Getaway Deal
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Monroe
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Weird noises”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013 via mobile

I stayed for 2 nights for business purposes.
I didn't sleep at all the first night hearing weird noises. I figured it out when I was brushing my teeth the second night. The pipes in the walls make crazy noises when the water runs. Other than that, it was a very good place to say.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMRuss, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Monroe, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Goofy24,

Thank you for reviewing the Hampton Inn of Monroe, LA . We were sorry to learn that noises kept you up during your two-nights stay with us and would like to apologize for the inconvenience that was caused to you. We understand how important it is to get a good nights rest, especially when traveling for business purposes. Although we are an older property, we strive to ensure that each and every guest feels at home while staying at our Hampton Inn. Your review will be shared with the management team so that we may help improve ourselves for our future guests.

Thank you for your time and business. We hope to see you again!

Sincerely,

Janie Russ
Regional Sales and Marketing Director
Southern Hospitality Services, LLC
1401 Martin Luther King Jr Drive
Monroe, LA 71202
Phone: 318.547.4672
Fax: 318.410.0145
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    57
    36
    26
    12
See reviews for
63
40
15
56
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This property has very friendly front desk staff, excellent free morning breakfast and evening snacks, but your back might need pampering after your sleep on the uncomfortable mattress. Each room does offer a microwave, 'frig', free wifi, flat screen, and clean towels. Bathtubs are clean but old and suffer from rust spots!

It is an outdoor entrance to the room property. Don't plan an extended stay unless you really don't mind some items mentioned above. The area is quiet!

Room Tip: Be sure to select non-smoking if you don't smoke.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMRuss, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Monroe, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Dr Cheryl M,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for the Hampton Inn of Monroe, LA. We appreciate your kind comments about our staff, breakfast & snacks, and amenities. We were sorry to hear that our mattress caused you to have an uncomfortable nights rest during your stay. We would like to assure you that we order only the best quality materials appointed for our hotel by Hilton. Although we are an older property, we constantly make changes and updates to help better ourselves for the future. Therefore, your comments will be shared with our management team.

We thank you for your business and appreciate your time.

Sincerely,

Janie Russ
Regional Sales and Marketing Director
Southern Hospitality Services, LLC
1401 Martin Luther King Jr Drive
Monroe, LA 71202
Phone: 318.547.4672
Fax: 318.410.0145
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Oak, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

I booked this hotel when I needed a place to stay while in Monroe. To be honest...I tried really really hard to find something in W. Monroe but was not able to find enough rooms for the trip my family and I were taking. This hotel ended up being really nice. Although the rooms are on the outside like a motel, I felt very safe. The staff were extremely nice and the breakfast was good (thought I didn't eat the eggs...the waffles and oatmeal were good). Their orange juice tasted good..their coffee was really good. The beds were very comfortable and CLEAN. The room was clean no trash or visible dirt anywhere. This was a very good hotel...plus it didn't cost us an arm and leg! I would recommend and will stay again on a return trip in a couple of months!

Room Tip: We had rooms 214, 216, 228 and these rooms were great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMRuss, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Monroe, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Vickie R,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Hampton Inn of Monroe, LA! We were glad to hear that our hotel and Hampton family exceeded your expectations during your stay with us! Our staff works hard to ensure we meet all of Hilton's standards and strict requirements and we truly appreciate it when our guests take notice of it. Your review will be shared with the staff and management.

Thank you for your business and we hope to see you again!

Sincerely,

Janie Russ
Regional Sales and Marketing Director
Southern Hospitality Services, LLC
1401 Martin Luther King Jr Drive
Monroe, LA 71202
Phone: 318.547.4672
Fax: 318.410.0145
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I am a big fan of Hilton/Hampton Inn. Alas, the customer service was lacking, the room I stayed in seemed a wee bit outdated, vending machines not working, and the overall feel was not to the level of Hampton Inn. I suggest finding another hotel option when visiting Monroe!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMRuss, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Monroe, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Baxter V,

We appreciate your feedback and concerns about the Hampton Inn of Monroe, LA. We regret that you were not satisfied with the guest room and customer service during your stay with us. Although we are an older property, I would like to reassure you that Hilton holds us to the same high standards as the newer properties. We work hard to make sure each and every guest feels at home while staying with us, and we use all feedback to help us enhance our customers' experience. Therefore, your review will be shared with management and the staff so that we may improve for the future.

Sincerely,

Janie Russ
Regional Sales and Marketing Director
Southern Hospitality Services, LLC
1401 Martin Luther King Jr Drive
Monroe, LA 71202
Phone: 318.547.4672
Fax: 318.410.0145
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel for many years. I have even been in the room I was assigned this time many times before. It is as clean now as it was the first time I stayed. The breakfast is the best. The ladies who work there are so helpful. It is well stocked. I will definitely return as I have for all these years. The staff is great from the ladies who service the rooms to the person at the check in desk. Hampton Inn is the best in Monroe...Rustie Teal

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMRuss, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Monroe, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Ernestine T,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for the Hampton Inn of Monroe, LA! Your feedback and kind comments are truly appreciated. We would like to extend our sincerest thanks for making our Hampton Inn your hotel of choice during your trips to the area. It is guests like you that keep us motivated to keep improving.

We appreciate you and your business. We can't wait to see you again!

Sincerely,

Janie Russ
Regional Sales and Marketing Director
Southern Hospitality Services, LLC
1401 Martin Luther King Jr Drive
Monroe, LA 71202
Phone: 318.547.4672
Fax: 318.410.0145
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

This Hampton Inn was no better than a Motel 6. Rooms faced the outside and the doors did not lock well. We didn't feel very safe. Outside noise was heard even with a fan plugged in. The housekeeping staff loiters around the doors in the morning smoking. Every time we would go out to load our car and had to open the door, we were breathing in smoke.(including my kids). I would not recommend this place. Go to the newer part of Monroe and find a place there.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JMRuss, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Monroe, responded to this review, December 4, 2012
Dear MELISSA K,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about our hotel. Although, we are an older Hilton property, our biggest priorities are the comfort and safety of our guests. We were sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us and apologize for the inconveniences caused to you. Your comments will be passed on to management and shared with the staff in order to better ourselves for the future.

Sincerely,

Janie Russ
Regional Sales and Marketing Director
Southern Hospitality Services, LLC
1401 Martin Luther King Jr Drive
Monroe, LA 71202
Phone: 318.547.4672
Fax: 318.410.0145
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

We stopped here on our way home to Texas from Destin. We had planned to drive through straight home but the traffic, weather, etc. really made us want to get out of the car for a while.

Outside looks a bit dodgy, but inside the rooms are completely redone and wonderful. Truly surprising in a very good way!

The young lady at the front desk was very nice and helpful as well, we didn't want fast food and she recommended a nice yet casual place to have a good sit down meal.

Breakfast at the hotel was also above expectations.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jruss12, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Monroe, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Dear Annette W,

Thank you for writing a review for the Hampton Inn of Monroe, LA! We were glad to hear that your unexpected stop at our hotel turned out to be a great one! We love to see that we exceed our guests' expectations during their stay with us. Your review will be shared with the staff and management. We appreciate your business and hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Janie Russ
Regional Sales and Marketing Director
Southern Hospitality Services, LLC
1401 Martin Luther King Jr Drive
Monroe, LA 71202
Phone: 318.547.4672
Fax: 318.410.0145
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Monroe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Monroe

Address: 1407 Martin Luther King Dr., Monroe, LA 71202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Monroe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Monroe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Monroe 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Customer Service award winning exterior corridor hotel in a great location with easy access to area businesses, attractions, shopping, and restaurants. All rooms have micro-fridge, complimentary Wi-Fi, spacious work desks and ergonomically correct chairs, cable television with ESPN, 24 hour news channel, weather channel and more. The hotel also offers complimentary hot breakfast; full service business center, fax and copy service at no charge, and complimentary coffee service 24 hours a day, Hilton Honors loyalty program, and the best of service and amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Hilton Hotels and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Monroe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Monroe Hotel Monroe
Monroe Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Monroe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.