We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Monroe

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Monroe to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn Monroe
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1407 Martin Luther King Dr., Monroe, LA 71202   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 16 hotels in Monroe
Austin, Texas, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good Value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

This was the first stop on our move from Austin to NYC. We wanted a place where we could park our loaded car by the room, and that was true here. But in addition the rooms were large and comfortable, and best of all, the (big screen) TV got all of our favorite cable channels (which is often not true even at very pricey hotels). Also very good internet service.

SJB

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jruss12, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Monroe, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Dear Stephan B,

Thank you for your kind comments in your review about the Hampton Inn of Monroe, LA! We were happy to hear that you found the room to be spacious and comfortable and that the services we offer exceeded your expectations!

We hope to see you again in the future!

Sincerely,

Janie Russ
Regional Sales and Marketing Director
Southern Hospitality Services, LLC
1401 Martin Luther King Jr Drive
Monroe, LA 71202
Phone: 318.547.4672
Fax: 318.410.0145
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    56
    56
    33
    25
    11
See reviews for
57
39
15
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Daphne, Alabama
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

Right next to a Motel 6 on one side and Comfort Suites on other. I have stayed here twice, once on either side of the property, I did not encounter any issues with safety but was concerned as rooms are exterior entrance only.
However once inside the rooms are Hampton quality; good workspace and internet connection, flat screen tv, air-conditioning excellent (it was 100+ degrees!), clean and comfortable bedding and bathroom area.
Front desk staff friendly.
I cannot rate above average as this is a basic Hampton Inn but still the best choice for a comfortable clean room at a reasonable price in the Monroe area.

Room Tip: 2 floors no elevator. 1st floor if you do not want to do stairs 2nd floor if want away from vehicl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jruss12, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Monroe, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Dear elizabethann B,

We appreciate your kind comments in your review about the Hampton Inn of Monroe, LA! We keep our rooms updated to the highest Hilton standards and were happy to hear that your were satisfied with your overall experience at our hotel.

Thank you for your business and we hope to see you again!

Sincerely,

Janie Russ
Regional Sales and Marketing Director
Southern Hospitality Services, LLC
1401 Martin Luther King Jr Drive
Monroe, LA 71202
Phone: 318.547.4672
Fax: 318.410.0145
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
254 reviews 254 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

This is a good, clean, decent hotel. I was very impressed with the staff - once we were in our room about 10 minutes later the phone rang and it was the front desk, asking if everything was alright with our room. I have never had any other hotel do that! This hotel was about $25 cheaper than the newer Hampton Inn in Monroe (further west). Definitely would recommend staying here - it is not fancy, but it is a good place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jruss12, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Monroe, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Dear Njoytravl,

Thank you for reviewing the Hampton Inn of Monroe, LA! We were thrilled to hear that we exceeded your expecations during your stay with us! We strive to provide the best service that we possibly can to all our guests and love to hear back from them about their experience with us. We appreciate you and your business and hope to see you again in the future!

Sincerely,

Janie Russ
Regional Sales and Marketing Director
Southern Hospitality Services, LLC
1401 Martin Luther King Jr Drive
Monroe, LA 71202
Phone: 318.547.4672
Fax: 318.410.0145
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

A well trained staff. As a retired hotelier with many years in senior managemrnt it is rewarding to see a job well done.
Jack Hardin, CHA
ORLANOO!, FL
Jhardin@cfl.rr.com

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jruss12, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Monroe, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Dear Allen1944,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for the Hampton Inn of Monroe, LA! We truly appreciate your kind comments about our staff. They work hard to make each guest feel welcome and reviews like yours assure us that we are doing a good job.

We value your business and hope to see you again!

Sincerely,

Janie Russ
Regional Sales and Marketing Director
Southern Hospitality Services, LLC
1401 Martin Luther King Jr Drive
Monroe, LA 71202
Phone: 318.547.4672
Fax: 318.410.0145
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Port Richey, Florida
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Easy check-in and check-out. The king room was very clean. The room featured both wired and wireless Wi-Fi, 32" LG TV, microwave, refrigerator, couch, desk & chair, a working bathroom vent fan and a soft close toilet seat. Breakfast was good and included fruit. There were only a couple of negatives - 1) The sink was too tall and the vanity stuck out so far that it was difficult to shave. 2) The room door opens to the outside instead of into a hallway. 3) I prefer window treatments that block out more light. I recommend the Hampton Inn Monroe and would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Monroe, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Dear psnyder16,

Thank you for reviewing the Hampton Inn of Monroe, LA. We were glad to hear that you enjoyed all of the guestroom amenities and breakfast selections at our hotel! We consistently upgrade furniture, fixtures, and amenities to ensure that we meet all of Hilton's high standards for all Hampton Inn hotels. We also appreciate comments from our guests to help us improve the services that we offer. Therefore, your comments will be shared with the staff and management.

We appreciate your business and hope to see you in the future!

Sincerely,

Janie Russ
Regional Sales and Marketing Director
Southern Hospitality Services, LLC
1401 Martin Luther King Jr Drive
Monroe, LA 71202
Phone: 318.547.4672
Fax: 318.410.0145
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Normal, Illinois
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

I had mixed emotions, returning to Monroe for my 40th high school reunion. As a Midwesterner, I dreaded Louisiana smog, a horrid mix of sizzling sun and humid air. The Hampton Inn cushioned the nerves of a weekend of meeting classmates for the first time in decades AND helped us beat the heat. Extremely efficient A/C, spotless rooms, and a wonderful breakfast bar, with some REAL food, like homemade oatmeal with nuts and cranberries and fruit, jump-started what turned out to be a great weekend. The staff took care of us. I was especially impressed by the young woman who set up and cleaned during breakfast. She went out of her way to help a handicapped patron and cleared plates while keeping the food area clean and well-stocked.

Sometimes chains fall way short of those personal touches, but not at the Hampton Monroe. ENJOY and spend the extra $$ on a seafood dinner at the Mohawk Tavern. That place hasn't changed!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Monroe, responded to this review, July 9, 2012
Dear normalwriter,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for the Hampton Inn of Monroe, LA! We truly appreciate your kind comments and were thrilled to see that we exceeded your expectations during your stay with us. It is always nice to hear when guests notice the hard work and dedication put forth by our staff. Your comments will be shared with them and also with management. We hope you enjoyed your high school reunion and hope to see you again in the future!

Sincerely,

Janie Russ
Regional Sales and Marketing Director
Southern Hospitality Services, LLC
1401 Martin Luther King Jr Drive
Monroe, LA 71202
Phone: 318.547.4672
Fax: 318.410.0145
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for one night while visiting family. The rooms were large and clean. Well, mostly clean. I (try to) insist on walking in slippers or flip flops inside most traveling hotels but it's hard to do with a 3yr old. AFTER her bath she wandered around the room and the bottom of her feet were disgustingly black with dirt before bed. They really should clean the floors as well as they cleaned the rest of the room.
Breakfast was your basic, small continental stuff. I don't know if it was a good or bad sign but a local police officer stopped by for the free breakfast. He was very friendly and seemed at ease so I guess that is good...

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Monroe, responded to this review, July 8, 2012
Dear CaliKeko,

Thank you for reviewing the Hampton Inn of Monroe, LA. We were glad to hear that you had a good stay at our hotel. I would like to assure you that our hotel follows the highest standards passed by HIlton to ensure our guests have a clean and comfortable experience and would like to apologize for any inconvenience the floor may have caused you and your family. Your comments are appreciated and will be shared with staff and management so that we can improve for the future.

Thank you for choosing our hotel and we hope to see you again!

Sincerely,

Janie Russ
Regional Sales and Marketing Director
Southern Hospitality Services, LLC
1401 Martin Luther King Jr Drive
Monroe, LA 71202
Phone: 318.547.4672
Fax: 318.410.0145
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Monroe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Monroe

Address: 1407 Martin Luther King Dr., Monroe, LA 71202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Monroe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 hotels in Monroe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Monroe 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Customer Service award winning exterior corridor hotel in a great location with easy access to area businesses, attractions, shopping, and restaurants. All rooms have micro-fridge, complimentary Wi-Fi, spacious work desks and ergonomically correct chairs, cable television with ESPN, 24 hour news channel, weather channel and more. The hotel also offers complimentary hot breakfast; full service business center, fax and copy service at no charge, and complimentary coffee service 24 hours a day, Hilton Honors loyalty program, and the best of service and amenities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hampton Inn Monroe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Monroe Hotel Monroe
Monroe Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Monroe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.