We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“By far the best Residence Inn I have ever stayed in...highly recommend!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Monroe

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Monroe to your Saves list
Residence Inn Monroe
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4960 Millhaven Rd, Monroe, LA 71203   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Monroe
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“By far the best Residence Inn I have ever stayed in...highly recommend!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2010

This hotel is amazing. Regarding the "location," it helps that in Monroe, pretty much everything is 5 minutes away, but it's conveniently located off the 20. I had no issues with the cleanliness, and while Residence Inns can be a bit more pricey, I do think you get what you pay for...it helped that I stayed on the top (3rd) floor. I recommend doing that (at any hotel) to cut out on noise.

I was worried about the train, which is across the road, but they do a good job of masquerading the noise. But honestly, the best thing about this hotel is the staff...especially Alison at the front desk, and Beba at breakfast! they are friendly, welcoming, and very helpful. The food at breakfast and "dinner" was great. I especially like this particular Res Inn because all the rooms are enclosed, whereas some other ones are out in the open.

A friend of mine told me that some businesses book their employees here months in advance...and it's easy to see why! This hotel is fantastic, and I am highly recommending it to anyone who happens to be in Monroe.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    23
    4
    8
    4
See reviews for
15
10
3
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Diamond Bar, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2010

Nice, spacious, clean hotel with free wi-fi internet access. Nice pool/rec area. Housekeeping is thourough and friendly. Staff is courteous. A railroad does run across the street; however, it never did bother us. The "free breakfast" was not well stocked. On two different days there was no coffee (regular or decaf). Lots of shopping and restaurants within walking distance. With the exception of a couple of breakfasts with no coffee this was a great stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2009

We stayed a couple of days around Thanksgiving and everything was excellent. The room was spacious and clean. The location is near many restaurants/shopping and was very safe. And the free breakfast was delicious. We would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2009

In March we went to Monroe for a family visit. We reserved a two bedroom suite, there were a total of 7 of us all together. The place was great for us. We walked in and the carpet had just been shampooed which was a very nice feeling since we had two children who played on the floor. Everything was nice and clean, alot of towels and washclothes for us. The bedrooms were very spacious, both having a nice view of outdoors. One overlooked the pool. We were on the 2nd floor. You could use the stairs or they had a nice elevator. They also had the luggage racks at the door to help you bring in your luggage. I would stay there again, any time!!! The people were so gracious and polite. everyone spoke to us as we passed in the hallway. You won't regret staying here. And, none of us heard the train at night!!!!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louisiana
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2008

Nice hotel. Spacious. Clean. Fresh air. Clear water. Nice pool/rec area. Housekeeping is thourough, friendly, and respectful. Staff is generally professional and courteous. Be forewarned: a busy railroad does run across the street. Hotel does provide ear plugs. Smokers be forewarned: this is a smoke free hotel. Fairly well maintained smoking area outside near the pool. I think there's a 250 dollar fine if you smoke in your room. As with every other hotel I've experienced in Monroe and West Monroe, there seems to be a problem with hotel staff disregarding very disrespectful, inconsiderate, and unruly guests. As with a recent stay at the Holiday Inn in W.Monroe, a large group of family reunion travelers checked in a few nights into my stay. They were very noisy all through the night, their children were given keys, slammed entry doors, ran unsupervised through the hallways, trying their keys in other guest's doors, yelling and whistleing as if they were actually trying to disturb guests until at least midnight. Small children were unsupervised and in and out of the hotel throughout the night. The hotel has video cameras in the hallways and yet this was allowed without intervention for hours on end. The floor above me sounded like a construction zone most of a night. This large group of individuals was allowed to take over the breakfast bar and you literally couldn't get a thing if you got there after them. All this directly in front of the hotel desk with absolutely no intervention. I got locked out of my room on multiple occasions and had to get my key recharged. Hotel is basically in Pecanland Mall parking lot. Lots of shopping and restaurants within walking distance. I'm a Red Lobster fan and I must say that the one down the street is the absolute best ever. With the exception of a couple of nights, this was a great stay.

  • Liked — nice hotel, clean, fresh air, clear water, great pool area
  • Disliked — staff failure to intervene on unruly guests
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2008

Nothing wrong with this hotel except its location! It's right next to the train tracks, and the train whistles during the night & early morning hours allowed us little sleep. They did leave one set of ear plugs for the two of us on our bed & guess that should have been a clue.

  • Liked — room
  • Disliked — location/ trains
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Humble, tx
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2008

This is a nice hotel esthetically but be warned' if you are unlucky enough to have a room reserved at the back of the hotel you will not get a good nights sleep. I was unaware there is a rail road right behind the hotel. Every 30 minutes during the night a train passed by the hotel.

I guess the hint should have been the ear plugs left on the bed by the maid service.

The walls were so thin you could hear the person in the next room snoring all night.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Monroe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Monroe

Address: 4960 Millhaven Rd, Monroe, LA 71203
Location: United States > Louisiana > Monroe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Monroe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Monroe 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Marriott and Hotels.com so you can book your Residence Inn Monroe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Monroe Hotel Monroe
Monroe Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Monroe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.