We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but can be better” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Monroe

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Monroe to your Saves list
Residence Inn Monroe
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4960 Millhaven Rd, Monroe, LA 71203   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Monroe
Singapore
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Good, but can be better”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We booked the 2 br family suite for 1 week. Our stay was satisfactory but I left feeling like I wanted more, esp from a brand name like Marriot?

Some minor bugbears:

1) The sofa bed was not very comfortable, so request for a rollaway bed if you are staying for more than one night.

2) Slow water drainage...it was not very nice to be standing in dirty water while you're trying to get clean. Also, the water did not seem to get hot enough, just barely warm.

3) Room ventilation should be better, esp with a kitchen in the premises.

4) Please replace the flowers near the laundry room, there is fungus growing in the vase. Some things just cannot be unseen!

5) The fire alarm went off one night near midnight. I think there was only one hotel staff on duty that night, I wished there was better communication between the hotel and the guests because we were all unsure what to do. Some guests stayed in their room, some returned even before the fire dept arrived...I shudder to think about what if it had been a real emergency.


There were a lot of pluses though

1) Breakfast with Beba! She's lovely, helping you to get juice and waffles, making sure you have a good breakfast. The oatmeal is especially delicious!

2) Just across the carpark from Pecanland Mall. The place looks huge from the outside, but doesn't everything in America? Nice mall with good shopping, the old-fashioned carousel will keep kids entertained. We were there around Christmas so the traffic in the area was quite bad, it was great to be within walking distance of the only mall in Monroe.

3) The suite itself was large and nicely finished, soft linen, plenty of towels. Housekeeping did not come every day though, not sure if this was an oversight or their usual practice.

4) Yes, the hotel is right next to the train tracks, and the trains come by quite often and they are very very long BUT it was barely audible in the room. Unless you are the lightest of lightest sleepers, it really should not bother you.

Room Tip: Request for a rollaway bed instead of the sofa bed
See more room tips
Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    22
    4
    7
    4
See reviews for
13
10
3
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Canandaigua, NY
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

There for a 4 night stay. Have corporate rate for company staff visiting area, and made a great choice. Nice rooms. Comfortable beds. Like the location. Breakfast service is outstanding, and Beba is an absolute gem. Everyone very nice here. Is around pretty heavy traffic and train tracks, but hear nothing. Nice pool and outdoor area, that even has a netted off basketball area. This place will see much repeat business from company staff and myself.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massachusetts
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Stayed here for a quick one-nighter (checked in at 11PM, out by 7:00AM). Serviceable property at a good price. Caveats: the AC was located in a locked closet in the bedroom - VERY loud. Also my shower wouldn't drain - I never enjoy standing in my own filth. I didn't get to experience much of the hotel, but I'd probably pass next time because of the AC.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

It is older than some that I have stayed in, but I thought it was a decent hotel. I travel quite a bit for work and stayed for a week recently at this location. The management staff were just okay, but I was really impressed with the maid service. April was the lady who took care of my room most days. She was incredibily kind and thoughtful. I have never had any one show true customer service like she did during my stay. I liked the over sized suite I was given. The full kitchen is nice also when you are staying for more than a night or two. They do serve a hot, decent breakfast. They also serve dinner, but I ate other places for dinner, so not sure what the quality was like. The only bad thing with this hotel was the train. The hotel is directly across from railroad tracks and active trains. The room would shake and then you would hear what sounds like a tornado. I got used to it and it didn't keep me awake at night, but if you are a light sleeper, this could be an issue. Overall, I really liked the hotel and would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nolanville, Texas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Our unit was very nice and provided a nice rest from our road trip. Close to several restaraunts and a large mall. The evening socials weren't on the same level as the obe in Austin. Overall a very nice place to stop on a long trip.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Stayed at this motel/hotel in early August, 2012. The room had a musky smell, not nearly enough towels, for a longer stay location. "Tried: to get in the pool and hottub/sauna. When walking around the pool, we could visibly see floating hair and other undesirable floating items.... The hottub/sauna had only 1 jet which worked out of 5, the water was cold, not hot and again, floating icky stuff. I guess I would have to say that if there is someone in charge of the pool/hottub area, they are definitely NOT doing their job. It was disgusting..... The room was decent, however, we reserved a 2 queen room and got only a room with 1 bed. The pull-out sofa had mattress was barely better than a thin camping mattress. Overall, this location was disappointing and not up to what I would expect from a Residence Inn chain. Too bad, had possibilities, but nobody making the effort. I would not recommend staying here, especially considering it isn't a cheap stay either. Look further and stay someplace else.

Room Tip: Stay someplace else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah H, Director of Sales at Residence Inn Monroe, responded to this review, September 17, 2012
Dear DebUSA,
I would like to apologize for your experience at Residence Inn Monroe, LA. This is not a typical guest experience at our hotel. We have addressed your issues with the departments responsible for maintaining these areas and are working on improving. We appreciate you taking the time to give us feedback so we can prevent any others guests from having this same experience. I hope that the next time you are in Monroe, you would consider giving us another chance.
Thank you,
Sarah Heatherly
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

I was In town for a dog show at the Civic Center. Very convenient for the show and dining. The first suite we were in was NOISY! Room 319. It was on the road and RR Track side. There is a train every 2 hours or so all night long! The room was clean as far as everything but cob webs on the ceilings, and the sofa had holes in it. Plus one of the windows in the living area had spider/s living inside it! (double panes) I complained to the front desk about the train noise and they moved us the next morning to a room on the mall side of the hotel. Much quieter! Also much cleaner! The 2nd room was in much better shape all around. Everyone that worked at this hotel was very polite. They had a great breakfast which we took advantage of every morning. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: The rooms on the side by the Mall are quieter. There is a train every 2 hours or so and the rooms o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Monroe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Monroe

Address: 4960 Millhaven Rd, Monroe, LA 71203
Location: United States > Louisiana > Monroe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Monroe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Monroe 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Marriott, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Monroe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Monroe Hotel Monroe
Monroe Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Monroe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.