We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay away!!! You will find better!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Inn & Suites and Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Clarion Inn & Suites and Conference Center to your Saves list
Clarion Inn & Suites and Conference Center
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1051 Martin Luther King Jr. Drive, Intersection of I-20 and Hwy 165, Monroe, LA 71203   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Monroe
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Stay away!!! You will find better!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for the indoor pool, the front desk staff was friendly, but when we got to our room our troubles began. My husband found a roach and killed it before the kids could see, but after our swim he was giving our son a shower when another roach, even bigger was in the bathroom! Gross! My husband caught it under a glass and took a picture. I called the front desk and asked to be moved. We got our keys and an apology, got to the new room and my daughter went to use the bathroom. She went to flush and there was feces or blood right next to the flusher! By now it is almost ten at night, I took a pic and went to the front desk to check out while my husband was booking a room somewhere else!
It's true the hotel has duct taped carpet and needs an update for what they charge you should get a CLEAN updated room.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    21
    18
    8
    22
See reviews for
19
7
5
26
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Canton, OH
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

This hotel is unusual for a Choice Hotels property and not at all what we expected or are used to. To begin with, the hotel signs, entry drive and parking lot are not well identified or well lit at all. Trying to get to the front door was a challenge. There was a car and people blocking the doorway. (They were still there more than an hour later when we went out to the car for an item)

Entering the lobby, we found quite a few people just hanging around sprawled all over the furniture. Not sure what they were doing there but it just seemed very odd to us. Not sure if the area the hotel is in is the problem or if the security isn't up to par. We were told the next morning that security is attempting to address these issues but it seemed to us they hadn't accomplished that goal while we were there.

The lobby carpet is duct taped together and did not give us a good overall impression of the maintenance of the hotel in general. The young man responsible for our check in seemed to be on a personal call and he was much more worried about that than helping us check in and directing us to our room.

The hotel is a very large property and the hallways and room numbering system are laid out very strange. There was no help to be had at the front desk to find our room so the confusing maps became our only guide. Once we found the Atrium on the map and found that area, finding our room was easier.

The King Suite was over 500 square feet including the bathroom. It was laid out a little odd but seemed to work well for us. It was clean, well furnished and the bedding was comfortable.

Breakfast was well supplied with lots of choices available. Served in a very large room with lots of tables, it was nice to not be crowded in the breakfast area as we have been in other hotels.

The check out staff courteous and helpful. She gave us a card to fill out in regards to our issues with the staff the night before.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englewood, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Well my family and I were here for business and pleasure, I was here on business and brought my family along for the ride. Needless to say my kids had a blast with the indoor pool of course that was a plus. My business was suppose to last 4 days but ended up staying 5 I would want to compliment this hotel staff of a job well done. Housekeeping was very pleasant they kept our room very clean even though we had 3 small kids. We had breakfast every morning the wait staff was very friendly. I don't want to leave anyone out the front desk was on point and very helpful. I would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: If u have kids get a room close to the indoor pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Studio City, Ca
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

You couldn't pay me to stay here again and I wouldn't pay for my enemies to stay here.

1. The service is awful - Tip #1 your in the hospitality business "Act Like It"!
- The bartender only works from 5pm to 10pm, complains the whole time how we (the customers) are getting on her nerves asking for drinks, and she can't wait to close up for the night. We asked if someone could help with the pool table cause a ball was stuck. She rolled her eyes and said "I'm sick of all this mess, asking me to do stuff." Well I thought you were here to work and help guests out - sorry! Tip #2 - at 4.75 a beer honey that attitude is not getting you any cash tips.

2. Housekeeping is terrible - We staid here for over 2 weeks. We didn't ask for housekeeping everyday. But when we did they only made one of the beds and didn't fill the toiletries for the bathroom. I walked past a chip bag on the stairs for 4 days - I can't believe an employee (Housekeeping or Not) didn't pick that up for 4 days!!

3. Shuttle Service - Again we were here for 2 weeks. The shuttle service is free and takes you up to 5 miles. Like gracious patrons we tip the driver. One night we wanted to go to a restaurant, but were told they couldn't take us because there was a bar in the restaurant. To add there are not cabs available at all times of the day or areas of town, so what do we do now? Thanks for no hospitality there either.

4. They only good thing I saw about the property is the indoor pool, spa, shuffle board, ping pong tables and arcade. Tip #3 only one game in the arcade works.

5. Our sink and toilet leaked constantly. They told us to wrap towels around them so we wouldn't get the whole room wet!

6. The last night of our trip we walk into the room to see the full size mirror has fallen off the wall and shattered. We call down to the front and tell them, and ask what do we do. They say no one is here to clean it, so you have to change rooms. We didn't get offered a vacuum to get the glass out of our shoes or clothes. Yet, we had to move the larger pieces of glass and pack our items and move down the hall. All the while stepping on the smaller pieces breaking them and tracking them down the hall way and into the next room.

Room Tip: Don't choose this hotel! But if you have to stay here don't get a room on the indoor pool si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurley, Mississippi, United States
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed here for several days last fall!! we had a room inside the atrium--it was nice for us--because it was perfect for the kids--the indoor pool was great!!and the hot tub!! they had some pool tables--and a huge open area-that could have been used for rollerskating!!! the kids loved all the space and we loved the peace and the price!! it is close to a train track,but on the inside-you never know it--it is also close to the mall--which is very large!!! there is a zoo in Monroe!!it is an interesting place--drive north and see farming country and you might even see a celebrity--DUCK DYNASTY!!!!! DURING THIS STAY we also went to DELHI,LA - -there is a wonderful WILDLIFE SAFARI drive through--to visit--you will love it--very friendly and peaceful!!!the hotel was very comfortable!!we will go back!!!

Room Tip: any room on the inside or in the back away from train tracks!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rising Star
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This hotel has some age on it and it shows in some places but oh my goodness it is beautiful and the rooms are wonderful and could not have been cleaner. I slept so good and felt very safe. The staff is AWESOME! If you are staying in Monroe, I highly recommend this hotel. I will stay here again if I am in the area.

Room Tip: It is an older hotel but it was VERY clean and the staff is amazing. The atrium rooms have a beautif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bossier City, Louisiana
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

It's become really difficult to obtain a hotel room during the week in the Monroe area so in desperation I stayed here when I couldn't get into any of the Marriott or Hilton chain hotels. It was OK for a single night and could be so great. For a family, there's a pool table, arcade room, ping pong tables, indoor pool, etc. Sleeping room was large and great water pressure. Free buffet breakfast but it was awful - tasteless grits (even AFTER the addition of margarine) and COLD egg omelets (and the guy was just setting them out when I was there). Fitness room had 2 of the old non-flat-screen TVs (like in the rooms) and the one by the treadmill only got 1 channel - Disney - couldn't channel up or down on the TV and no remote. No towels first evening or next morning although shelving for some & some used ones in the hamper. Had 4 machines and a universal gym (rusting). The lobby and main hallways had duct tape over what I presume are rips in the carpet in a number of spots. Room did have a good sized mini-fridge and microwave, one of which I had to unplug to plug in my laptop. No luggage rack to put suitcase on. Bathroom was tiny with no room for personal hygiene or make-up and very dim lighting. No elevator to 2nd floor where my room was so had to lug up my wheeled luggage one step at a time on the open metal steps. When I came out after 6 pm to meet a friend for dinner, the lights weren't on yet over stair area and very little natural light still coming in from outside thru few windows. It was SCARY dark coming down those steps in heels - dangerous! Thank goodness for flashlight on i-phone. Staff was very nice, this place just needs updating in a bad way. I knew enough to ask for a room away from the railroad track - stayed there years ago and fell for that - sat bolt upright in bed when a train came thru in the middle of the night. Ice machines are spread out, wasn't one very close to my room. Was only $82/night but I'd rather pay more and get more.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Inn & Suites and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn & Suites and Conference Center

Address: 1051 Martin Luther King Jr. Drive, Intersection of I-20 and Hwy 165, Monroe, LA 71203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Monroe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Monroe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Inn & Suites and Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Start your day in the heart of everything Monroe has to offer, business, sports, shopping, dining and entertainment. The Clarion Inn & Suites Conference Center makes getting there fast and convenient. Only 10 minutes from the Monroe Airport, you will spend less time in traffic and more time doing what you came to Monroe to do. And there is easy access to I-20 and Highway 165. Hotel is near the University of Louisiana at Monroe, Centurylink, Monroe Civic Center, and minutes to Monroe Speedway which hosts several local events and racing. The Pecanland Mall is just around the corner & our shuttle can take there. The Clarion Inn & Suites Monroe is here to be your personal retreat. You will have room to work, relax and make the most of your day. Amenities such as plush towels and luxurious bedding mean every night is a great night and every day starts right. You can take a dip in our pool, relax with a cool one at Legends. And when it s time to dine you can enjoy a dining adventure at the French Market Cafe. Coming for a sporting event? The hotel offers the most rooms with 2 beds in the area and is not far from Beidenharn Sports Complex, ULM Intramural Fields & the Monroe Athletic Club, Chenault Soccer fields & the Ouachita River. Looking for a place for your event? We are a conference facilities that has versatile meeting rooms and catering options for up to 500 people. Let us host your next event! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Clarion Inn & Suites and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Inn And Suites And Conference Center
Clarion Inn & Hotel Monroe
Holiday Inn Monroe
Holiday Inn Hotel Monroe
Monroe Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Inn & Suites and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.