We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hosted conference for 400 with ease” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Inn & Suites and Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Clarion Inn & Suites and Conference Center to your Saves list
Clarion Inn & Suites and Conference Center
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1051 Martin Luther King Jr. Drive, Intersection of I-20 and Hwy 165, Monroe, LA 71203   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Monroe
Monroe, Louisiana
1 review
“Hosted conference for 400 with ease”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We had a conference here this weekend, and it went incredibly well. Yes, the rooms and hotel are outdated, but the service provided by the staff through the whole process allowed us to look past this. Mauri in sales and Stacy the group meeting coordinator were very helpful. Travis, the general manager, was available at all times, came in on his off day, and offered all of our conference planning team his cell number. Angela, the manager at the front desk, did a great job working with all of our housing changes involved with something of this size. Derrick Robinson, the executive chef, prepared a great meal of chicken cordon bleu, green beans and roasted potatoes for our banquet meal on Saturday night. The staff bent over backwards for us, the rooms and common areas were very clean, and we hope that more people start using this facility so that the updates can be made. They have made some updates, and I know they will do more in the future.

Room Tip: Townhouse works as a great conference office if you are hosting a conference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    19
    18
    7
    21
See reviews for
19
7
4
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Round Rock, Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Rooms were clean and spacious. Hotel offers plenty of well appointed areas outside of your room so you can sit & visit, play cards or just read & people watch, you don't have to be confined to your room if you don't want to. Front desk staff was SUPER Friendly! Biscuits on the breakfast buffet were the best I ever had! Hotel is easy on/off. It was a chance find but we would stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade when you check in. We got upgraded to a suite for free because we had to wait whi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandeville, Louisiana
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

This hotel is like taking a time capsule back to 1994. The hotel needs updating badly and there are no HD tv's which is a real bummer for me as I like to use my PS3 while on the road. The tv's it did have were maybe 15 years old with worn out screens. That being said, the bed was comfy and temperature adjusted down quickly. I like the central AC. The atrium inside is different. The room was super clean and everything was the way its supposed to be. The staff was nice. I have to give it 3 stars for no HD tv's and outdated everything. I paid $89 for a king suite.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Louisiana, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

I enjoyed my stay at the Clarion Inns & Suites in Monroe, La. It is an older hotel now. I remember staying there when it was the Holiday Inn Holidome. It was a newer hotel then. Two things I must admit: (1) The rooms were exceptionally clean and (2) the staff was extremely pleasant. Jo Anna, at the front desk, greeted me with a smile and a cheerfull attitude upon arrival at the hotel. That alone, assured me that this was going to be a good stay. The next day at breakfast, Stephanie Harris greeted me with that same smile and cheerful attitude. So, don't let the age of the hotel fool you. Overall, it is an excellent value for your money!!

Room Tip: Stay in a suite if you can. Those rooms are so huge and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grand prairie,tx
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Rooms are huge and generally well furnished and clean. From an appearance point of view it's not up to what I'd generally expect from a Clarion. However at 2/3 the price on the nearby Comfort Inn it's an excellent valus.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slidell, Louisiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Room was generally clean. Had trouble getting toilet to flush correctly and usually took 3-4 flushes to get it to flush completely. This was reported to the front desk and they were to send maintenance person to check. Worked some better, but very little. When checking out I told front desk again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

old hotel that was a very popular holiday inn back in the day. now part of choice hotels and has seen better times. the staff is always nice, but the hotel is run down big time. the suites are huge; entrance to a room with tv and sofa bed thing, hallway with large bathroom and the another room with tv. very nice rooms that are not too outdated, and the hotel tries to be presentable, its just getting time to restart it from ground up. big indoor swimming pool and hot tub, large workout room that has junk machines, a few ping pong tables and an arcade room. but, be warned, there are no signs up for the arcade room but all of it is closed at 10pm. even though we were in there with the kids at 2am one time and nobody complained. just dont let the staff see you, they will let you know. sign would be nice. anyways. great size hotel that was home to halloween parties and pageants a long time ago, but the rooms always have a damp, smell to them. they arent that nice, just big. breakfast was good. the price is a little much for the actual condition of the place, but using choice points is worth it if you have to stay somewhere. i actually will not stay here again though. the smell of the room last time pushed me out the door. it smelt like dirty feet, nasty i know. again, nice staff but its time to start over clarion hotel. B- rating

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clarion Inn & Suites and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn & Suites and Conference Center

Address: 1051 Martin Luther King Jr. Drive, Intersection of I-20 and Hwy 165, Monroe, LA 71203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Monroe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Monroe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Inn & Suites and Conference Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Start your day in the heart of everything Monroe has to offer, business, sports, shopping, dining and entertainment. The Clarion Inn & Suites Conference Center makes getting there fast and convenient. Only 10 minutes from the Monroe Airport, you will spend less time in traffic and more time doing what you came to Monroe to do. And there is easy access to I-20 and Highway 165. Hotel is near the University of Louisiana at Monroe, Centurylink, Monroe Civic Center, and minutes to Monroe Speedway which hosts several local events and racing. The Pecanland Mall is just around the corner & our shuttle can take there. The Clarion Inn & Suites Monroe is here to be your personal retreat. You will have room to work, relax and make the most of your day. Amenities such as plush towels and luxurious bedding mean every night is a great night and every day starts right. You can take a dip in our pool, relax with a cool one at Legends. And when it s time to dine you can enjoy a dining adventure at the French Market Cafe. Coming for a sporting event? The hotel offers the most rooms with 2 beds in the area and is not far from Beidenharn Sports Complex, ULM Intramural Fields & the Monroe Athletic Club, Chenault Soccer fields & the Ouachita River. Looking for a place for your event? We are a conference facilities that has versatile meeting rooms and catering options for up to 500 people. Let us host your next event! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Clarion Inn & Suites and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Inn & Hotel Monroe
Clarion Inn And Suites And Conference Center
Holiday Inn Monroe
Holiday Inn Hotel Monroe
Monroe Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Inn & Suites and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.