We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outdated but very clean with nice staff.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clarion Inn & Suites and Conference Center

Save Saved
You added Clarion Inn & Suites and Conference Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clarion Inn & Suites and Conference Center
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1051 Martin Luther King Jr. Drive, Intersection of I-20 and Hwy 165, Monroe, LA 71203   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #11 of 16 hotels in Monroe
Mandeville, Louisiana
1 review
“Outdated but very clean with nice staff.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

This hotel is like taking a time capsule back to 1994. The hotel needs updating badly and there are no HD tv's which is a real bummer for me as I like to use my PS3 while on the road. The tv's it did have were maybe 15 years old with worn out screens. That being said, the bed was comfy and temperature adjusted down quickly. I like the central AC. The atrium inside is different. The room was super clean and everything was the way its supposed to be. The staff was nice. I have to give it 3 stars for no HD tv's and outdated everything. I paid $89 for a king suite.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    18
    16
    7
    17
See reviews for
17
7
4
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Louisiana, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

I enjoyed my stay at the Clarion Inns & Suites in Monroe, La. It is an older hotel now. I remember staying there when it was the Holiday Inn Holidome. It was a newer hotel then. Two things I must admit: (1) The rooms were exceptionally clean and (2) the staff was extremely pleasant. Jo Anna, at the front desk, greeted me with a smile and a cheerfull attitude upon arrival at the hotel. That alone, assured me that this was going to be a good stay. The next day at breakfast, Stephanie Harris greeted me with that same smile and cheerful attitude. So, don't let the age of the hotel fool you. Overall, it is an excellent value for your money!!

Room Tip: Stay in a suite if you can. Those rooms are so huge and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
grand prairie,tx
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Rooms are huge and generally well furnished and clean. From an appearance point of view it's not up to what I'd generally expect from a Clarion. However at 2/3 the price on the nearby Comfort Inn it's an excellent valus.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slidell, Louisiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Room was generally clean. Had trouble getting toilet to flush correctly and usually took 3-4 flushes to get it to flush completely. This was reported to the front desk and they were to send maintenance person to check. Worked some better, but very little. When checking out I told front desk again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012 via mobile

old hotel that was a very popular holiday inn back in the day. now part of choice hotels and has seen better times. the staff is always nice, but the hotel is run down big time. the suites are huge; entrance to a room with tv and sofa bed thing, hallway with large bathroom and the another room with tv. very nice rooms that are not too outdated, and the hotel tries to be presentable, its just getting time to restart it from ground up. big indoor swimming pool and hot tub, large workout room that has junk machines, a few ping pong tables and an arcade room. but, be warned, there are no signs up for the arcade room but all of it is closed at 10pm. even though we were in there with the kids at 2am one time and nobody complained. just dont let the staff see you, they will let you know. sign would be nice. anyways. great size hotel that was home to halloween parties and pageants a long time ago, but the rooms always have a damp, smell to them. they arent that nice, just big. breakfast was good. the price is a little much for the actual condition of the place, but using choice points is worth it if you have to stay somewhere. i actually will not stay here again though. the smell of the room last time pushed me out the door. it smelt like dirty feet, nasty i know. again, nice staff but its time to start over clarion hotel. B- rating

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, Louisiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stayed here during a recent power outage caused by TS Isaac. The hotel staff were very friendly and the stay was enjoyable. We decided to eat at the hotel for dinner and the food was very good (especially the potato skins). The pool area was extremely enjoyable and we are thinking about staying here another night just to enjoy the amenities. We stayed in a King Suite with a kitchen and could not have been happier. If I had to choose one thing that was even a slight disappointment would be the TV's in both the rooms and in the dining room. They are older and small but okay for the money. All in all, this was a, non-planned but very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: We were on the North side (away from the RR tracks). Very quiet and never heard a peep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012 via mobile

The best part was the courtesy driver, who took time to pick me up after his required work schedule. Staff was friendly, but waited a bit to get checked in. The hotel is the old Best Western, and rooms, desperately need updated. A little on the pricey side for the stay. The bed was tolerable, but nothing to brag about.

I've stayed in nicer hotels for the price.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Clarion Inn & Suites and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn & Suites and Conference Center

Address: 1051 Martin Luther King Jr. Drive, Intersection of I-20 and Hwy 165, Monroe, LA 71203
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Monroe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 16 hotels in Monroe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Inn & Suites and Conference Center 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Start your day in the heart of everything Monroe has to offer, business, sports, shopping, dining and entertainment. The Clarion Inn & Suites Conference Center makes getting there fast and convenient. Only 10 minutes from the Monroe Airport, you will spend less time in traffic and more time doing what you came to Monroe to do. And there is easy access to I-20 and Highway 165. Hotel is near the University of Louisiana at Monroe, Centurylink, Monroe Civic Center, and minutes to Monroe Speedway which hosts several local events and racing. The Pecanland Mall is just around the corner & our shuttle can take there. The Clarion Inn & Suites Monroe is here to be your personal retreat. You will have room to work, relax and make the most of your day. Amenities such as plush towels and luxurious bedding mean every night is a great night and every day starts right. You can take a dip in our pool, relax with a cool one at Legends. And when it s time to dine you can enjoy a dining adventure at the French Market Cafe. Coming for a sporting event? The hotel offers the most rooms with 2 beds in the area and is not far from Beidenharn Sports Complex, ULM Intramural Fields & the Monroe Athletic Club, Chenault Soccer fields & the Ouachita River. Looking for a place for your event? We are a conference facilities that has versatile meeting rooms and catering options for up to 500 people. Let us host your next event! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Clarion Inn & Suites and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Inn And Suites And Conference Center
Clarion Inn & Hotel Monroe
Holiday Inn Monroe
Holiday Inn Hotel Monroe
Monroe Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clarion Inn & Suites and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.