We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Quinta Inn New Orleans Veterans / Metairie

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added La Quinta Inn New Orleans Veterans / Metairie to your Saves list
La Quinta Inn New Orleans Veterans / Metairie
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5900 Veterans Memorial Blvd, Metairie, LA 70003-1738   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Metairie
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    71
    41
    31
    15
See reviews for
71
42
17
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

My husband and I came to LA for our tenth wedding anniversary. We have stayed in Metaire before but not at Laquinta. The room was very clean and the bed was comfortable. The staff was very polite and knowledgeable.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We were in town for my daughter's wedding this past weekend, and my first-time stay at the LaQuinta added to that wonderful experience. The outside of the hotel was attractive to the eye, and when I opened the door to my room, I was very pleasantly surprised. The room was very nice for the money and was very clean. The only con was that there was no microwave or mini fridge in the room, and the breakfast area in the lobby was too small and was always packed, so I never got to enjoy their free continental breakfast. I'll still stay there again though if I ever need a hotel in Metairie again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with La Quinta

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

This place is ok. The picture above is inaccurate by the way. The Inn is bright yellow and just off the highway by the airport. My room had: a loose lock, a broken phone and a broken light. They fixed two out of three of those things and offered to move me to another room. (They did not fix the phone). Instead I opted to stay in that room. I had already closely inspected the bed for bedbugs and was satisfied that there were none. There was a stain on the mattress which could have been hot chocolate (or something else). But I don't always inspect mattresses so I might find similar things in other hotels. The bed was ok, not firm, sagging slightly in the middle. The stairs and outside balcony had clumps of dirt and beverage stains. I am sure that the bathtub was not cleaned daily but a new washcloth and soaps were provided. I was in town for a convention and this was the closest I could get. It is 15 minutes from the French Quarter on the freeway. On the first night, I could not figure out how to close the curtains so no one could see inside. I had returned late and was tired. The two women at the desk- one was new- made me wait while they checked in a guest. When i finally got them to come upstairs, the experienced one made a point of telling me that I had not listened when she told me how to close the curtains. That was not reasonable or nice. Oh and my room key didn't work at first either so I had to clump down three flights with my baggage to get another. In fact writing this, I just downgraded it to two stars. There were some odd middle of the night disturbances but I tried to ignore them.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
L.A.
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

recently stayed 3 nights at this property. could not find a room in French Quarter during Super Bowl weekend, so had to go to the subburb. This hotel is conviently located ajacent to the I-10 fwy off the Veterans exit. It is an average facility with average rooms and amenities. My card lock key would not work for 2 days and finally mgmt replaced the lock for me. The breakfast is so-so and not much selection. These negatives were greatly compounded for me because I was forced to pay an overly-excessive $400.00 per night stay for an upstairs 3rd floor room with all the freeway noise. Want a quiet room, try to grab a courtyard room for sure. Now, having posted the negatives, I can say with candor that the front desk staff were wonderful, caring people who went out of their way to be friendly and helpful so I give them a "9" rating. So all in all, I would not stay here again but prefer the French Quarter instead and pay a little bit more.

Room Tip: stay away from the rooms ajacent to the freeway and if you want a good breakfast there is a Denny...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dillon, Colorado
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

OK, I'll be straight with you - I typically avoid the mid-level hotels, but in this case my travel allowance from HUD (are you listening HUD?) was SO cheapskate level, that I couldnt even stay in the Louisiana parish that i was working in - more rural then Metaiie, to be sure! So, with no other choices, Had to stay here. The rooms appeared to be clean, at least on the surface - can't say when they were last deep cleaned (maybe post-Katrina). The room cae with a mini fridge that on the outside looked like ti was a Katrina survivor, but the inside definintely smelled of mold and mildew - not spoiled food, but mold. When I mentioned it to the front desk staff at breakfast, they did make a note of it, and when I returned to the room that night, I had a nice new unit AND a brand new microwave unit as well!!! THANKS YOU ENGINEERING AND/OR HOUSEKEEPING! Now, let's talk about breakfast - simple fare, that's OK, and many bed and breakfast hotels are now serving hard boiled eggs for a great low fat protein source. But these eggs were not peeled, and it was clear they had been boiled in an aluminum pot (the cause of that obnoxious green ring around the yolk. Make your own waffles with two waffle irons (that's great) but styrofoam cups for coffee - styrofoam, really??? YUCK!!! Styrofoam ruins good cofffee and makes bad coffee worse. So maybe the management doesn't want the hassle of ceramic (real) coffee cups, but there are much better paper cup options than styrofoam (ask Starbucks - they know!). I partook of the breakfast just once, and opted to get great coffee and hot beignets down the street at a branch of Cafe du Monde! This place is fine for a cheap place to stay, but I doubt if I would stay here again - would just suck it up and pay the difference for a higher quality hotel even if it exceeds HUD's meager stipend.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Quinta Inn New Orleans Veterans / Metairie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn New Orleans Veterans / Metairie

Address: 5900 Veterans Memorial Blvd, Metairie, LA 70003-1738
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Metairie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 21 Hotels in Metairie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — La Quinta Inn New Orleans Veterans / Metairie 2*
Number of rooms: 153
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, LaQuinta, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your La Quinta Inn New Orleans Veterans / Metairie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta New Orleans Ap/Veterans Hotel Metairie
La Quinta Metairie
Metairie La Quinta

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Quinta Inn New Orleans Veterans / Metairie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.