We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“decent hotel other than filthy carpet” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Metairie New Orleans Airport

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Metairie New Orleans Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Metairie New Orleans Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2261 N. Causeway Blvd, Metairie, LA 70001   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #9 of 21 hotels in Metairie
Baton Rouge, L
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“decent hotel other than filthy carpet”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Check-in was great, the receptionists seemed very nice.
We somehow we ended up with a suite, which was great.
They were also able to get us on the same floor with family members that we were visiting and booked under a different name.
The room seemed clean, until you look at the bottom of a white sock, or in our case a toddler's bare feet (see the picture). The carpet may have looked clean, but it was in fact filthy. A new pair of shoes with light grey soles, now BLACK. Countless pairs of white socks now black on the bottom due to the filthy floor.
While this may just be dirt, it indicates that the cleaning of these rooms is superficial, at best. The hotel really needs to employ some type of carpet shampooing rotation for the rooms.
We most likely will not stay here again, nor recommend it to anyone else.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIMetairie, General Manager at Holiday Inn Metairie New Orleans Airport, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
lbergeron3,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at our hotel. Please accept my sincere apologies for not delivering the promise of an exceptional stay. Please give me a call for a proper apology and an opportunity to ensure you that you're important to us, my number is 504-373-5946. We take the comfort of our guests very seriously and hope you will be able to give us a second chance in the future. -Rick Engel, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    42
    52
    35
    8
    6
See reviews for
34
29
11
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lafayette, LA
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

My Son and Friends who are Platinum IHG Members and stay at IHG hotels every month went to the Voodoo festival for the weekend and left the room dirty but not damaged. After being gone for 30 minutes the hotel called them and told them they were charging them $250 in damages for damage done to the room. We (our family) stays in hotels altogether over 250 nights a year. We have over a million IHG points between the 4 of us. We have never damaged a room at any hotel chain and we belong to all of them. This is the first time this has ever happened. I have no clue as to if the Maid was pissed because they left the room a mess or what but they are not rock stars that damage rooms and they weren't brought up that way. I find this very disturbing that this would happen at one of our chain of hotels that we frequent quite often.

Room Tip: Don't go there and Piss them off they will damage the room and try to charge you for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIMetairie, General Manager at Holiday Inn Metairie New Orleans Airport, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Dear Hattershide66,
Please accept my apologies for the inconvenience to your family. I would like to discuss this matter further with you, please call me at 504-373-5946. I hope to hear from you soon.
Sincerely,
Rick Engel, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

This was one of the few hotels that offered a free shuttle from the airport. We called when we landed and they were there in about 20 minutes. The driver made an unexplained detour to the mall and waited for a bit, then continued to the airport. We would have asked him why - but he didnt speak english. Once at the hotel the smell of mold/mildew smacks you in the face as soon as you walk in the door. At check in we were told the room we reserved wasnt available and that they were sold out. That wasnt going to work and after about 15 minutes she "found" a room. The elevator was filthy and once up on the floor the smell of mildew was even stronger. The room itself was very small and dark and, of course, stank. The bed was fine but the bathroom was very old. They have made some attempts at a remodel but there was no way I was getting in the shower. We stayed elsewhere the rest of the trip.

The sole saving grace of the place is the restaurant. While breakfast is not included it was reasonably priced for 2 people. The food was typical hotel breakfast, nothing special. Hotel loyalty members get 25% off.

Room Tip: As far from the elevators as possible. They are very old and the "ding" is quite loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIMetairie, General Manager at Holiday Inn Metairie New Orleans Airport, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Jill H,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at our hotel. Unfortunately, it appears we really dropped the ball and did not deliver on our promise of an outstanding stay. Please accept my most sincere apologies for your experience.
I hope that you will give us a chance to apologize properly, and the ability to make it up to you by giving me a call at 504-373-5946. I want every guest to leave having an exceptional experience here at the Holiday Inn Metairie.

Thank you for your time,
Rick Engel, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walker, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

This is a great hotel in an okay area of New Orleans. My wife and I were unable to book a hotel in the French quarter so we opted to stay here, It was less than a fifteen minute drive in so it was fine. This hotel is kept very well and the staff members we came into contact with were great. I would recommend this hotel to just about any type of traveler.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIMetairie, General Manager at Holiday Inn Metairie New Orleans Airport, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Donald A,
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us at the Holiday Inn Metairie.
I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your romantic getaway and thankful we were part of it!
Thank you for recognizing the staff and cleanliness, and hope that you will enjoy the same next time you visit with us.

-Rick Engel, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Listen, this is an OLD hotel that has been remolded.
BUT:
1. The halls smelled musty.
2. My bathroom smelled like urine.
3. My bathroom vent above the sink leaked.
4. My room was extremely small.
5. My coffee maker was missing.
6. Both elevators were dirty and the elevator door was filthy.
7. The noise from the freeway was sooooo loud...big big trucks pass that way and they honk

Now, with all that said,
1. The ladies at the counter were extremely nice and helpful.
2. The lobby was big and clean.

Therefore, the price of 175.00 per night was way too high for that hotel...but everything else was booked that week.
I am sorry but I can not give this hotel any thing more than an "AVERAGE".

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not near the causeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIMetairie, General Manager at Holiday Inn Metairie New Orleans Airport, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
swalkerd,
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us at the Holiday Inn Metairie. Your feedback has been shared with our staff members in recent meetings and your comments will only help us to improve. I hope that the service provided by our team will earn us another chance. Please let me know if there is anything I can do further by calling me, 504-373-5946.

Sincerely,
Rick Engel, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We booked this hotel based on the fact they had a package deal that would allow us to park car there during cruise and shuttle service to and from cruise terminal for cruise. When we arrived we were very pleased with the facilities, staff etc. Restaurant located in bottom level of hotel had very good food and very reasonably priced as well. Extremely staff in restaurant and we ended up sitting for couple hours that night having drinks and talking with staff. Would recommend to anyone especially for those cruising out of New Orleans. Much better price than staying right downtown and very convient when leaving out after cruise as far as traffic.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIMetairie, General Manager at Holiday Inn Metairie New Orleans Airport, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
JoeE,
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us at the Holiday Inn Metairie. Thank you for leaving such a detailed description of the cruise package; surely it will help other cruise guests make the same decision.
Thank you for recognizing our team and the restaurant, I am happy to pass along the pat on the back.
We hope you will visit with us again,
Rick Engel, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

If you have to be in this area, it's a nice, clean hotel. The building itself is a bit dated, but has been nicely remodeled, so is fresh and new looking in most places. The entire staff is exceptionally friendly and helpful, even more so than at some much nicer places I've stayed; even the maintenance people were friendly and asked if we needed anything.
One tip is that it's hard to get in and out the front entrance at rush hour; use the rear driveway.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HIMetairie, General Manager at Holiday Inn Metairie New Orleans Airport, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Madison W,
Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us at the Holiday Inn Metairie.
I am happy to hear that our staff exceeded your expectations and were found friendly and helpful.
I hope that you will visit with us again.
_Rick Engel, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Metairie New Orleans Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Metairie New Orleans Airport

Address: 2261 N. Causeway Blvd, Metairie, LA 70001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Metairie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 21 hotels in Metairie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Metairie New Orleans Airport 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the hotel, complimentary fitness center, state-of-the-art business center, cozy outdoor pool, guest laundry facilities, game arcade, 32” HDTV and mini fridge in every room, full-service restaurant and bar, complimentary airport transportation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Metairie New Orleans Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Metairie New Orleans Airport Hotel Metairie

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Metairie New Orleans Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.