We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's not fancy, but it's clean, comfortable and it worked for us.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Metairie

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Metairie to your Saves list
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Metairie
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2713 N Causeway Boulevard, Metairie, LA 70002 (Formerly Ramada Metairie/New Orleans Area)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and Save 15%
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Metairie
Hickory, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“It's not fancy, but it's clean, comfortable and it worked for us.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We were in town for a family wedding and stayed 2 nights. We had two rooms, one for my husband and myself and one for our 4 sons. New Orleans (and all the towns around it, like Metairie) are old and just not fancy. I'm sure this hotel is fairly aged too, but they've done a good job of keeping up with maintenance. We checked in on a Friday afternoon; it was quick and we were on our way to our rooms in just a few minutes. The desk staff is friendly and professional. The rooms are very plain but clean and comfortable. They have nice large flat-screen TVs, small refrigerators and microwaves. The beds are comfortable with 3 pillows on each (doubles). The bathrooms are huge and very nicely appointed. The cleaning staff was very thorough and put up with our sons' messy room with total professionalism. On our last day, we had to leave several hours earlier than one of our sons (college age) and they allowed him to check out late, then drove him in the hotel shuttle to the airport at the exact time we had arranged. Their shuttle service is great and available 24/7. The hotel has 2 separate buildings with breezeways between, and only a couple of entrance doors, so if you have mobility issues, you may have some difficulty. We didn't find it to be a big problem. The hotel has free hot breakfast in the lobby - they had scrambled eggs, biscuits, gravy, fruit, pastries, yogurt, juices, coffee, waffles, toast, etc. We found it to be adequate. My one complaint is that their wireless internet is spotty and can be very slow. The room I was in was on the side of the building closest to the office, and our internet was fairly good. My sons' room was on the opposite side of the building (nearest the back parking lot) and they could almost never get a signal. That was a bit of an issue, but as we were only there 2 nights and almost never in our rooms, it turned out to be a non-issue. If you have to work or need internet, you may want to request a room on the side of the building closest to the office. The grounds aren't fancy but pleasant enough, with a small pool and outdoor seating here and there. There is a breezeway with patio furniture that might be nice to sit around with family or friends if you have the time. The hotel is right on the causeway but we never noticed any noise at night. Overall I'd say we had a positive experience here, and it is far more affordable than staying in the city. I'd recommend it, if you're not looking for 5-star opulence!

Also, try Don Fortunato's Pizzeria - it is locally owned and operated and delicious!! We went on Friday night and there was only one other family there. I have no idea why - the man who owns it is super friendly and very professional and the food is great. He was working alone and made calzones and pizzas for my family in NO TIME. I don't know how he did it, but he did it with a smile. We told our New Orleans family to venture up to Metairie and have dinner there soon. It's a cute little place and worth the drive from N.O. and a hop skip and jump from the Ramada.

Room Tip: Rooms nearest the office have better wireless internet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy_Aldrich, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Metairie, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for your Awesome review! I am pleased that your visit was stellar. We apologize that you may have had some wireless issues. We will have our IT department look into this. Should you have an occasion to return, please do not hesitate to contact us directly. Welcome Home!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

636 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    228
    114
    67
    27
See reviews for
246
116
24
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gulfport
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We didn't even look to stay anywhere else. We love this location! Breakfast is always fantastic. The hotel is very close to where we have to go for medical check-ups.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy_Aldrich, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Metairie, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you. I am pleased that you are one of our returning guests. I am pleased that we were able to demonstrate our loyalty to you as a returning guest and hope to see you again in the near future. Welcome Home!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethalto Il.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed here the night before our cruise. I chose them for my group because they offered shuttle service for both the airport and the cruise port. The hotel was nice and the rooms were large. Our room was in the main building and it was very nice, the rest of my group was in the other buildings and their rooms were Ok, but not as nice and the ones in the main building. The other rooms do overlook the courtyard though. The pool looked very clean and well kept. Shopping is withing easy walking distance, about a block behind the hotel.
Overall we had a nice stay.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main building are much nicer
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy_Aldrich, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Metairie, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am pleased that your stay with us was stellar and that you were able to take advantage of our shuttle service. Should you have an occasion to return, please do not hesitate to contact us. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee, United States
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Park and Cruise is the biggest reason to use this motel. We went on a cruise to Cozumel and Progreso and this motel allows you to park your vehicle here while going on the cruise if you stay a night. This can save you a lot of money as it costs $18 a day to park at the docks. The room itself while clean is very small compared to other motels. There is no comfortable chair or even room to put one. There is a standard wooden chair at the desk which is very uncomfortable. The outside area is very nice as is the pool and the complimentary breakfast comes with a good variety of choices. As for the price, if it wasn't for the Park and Cruise benefit I doubt is I would stay here again.

Room Tip: The staff were exceptionally nice and helpful and can aide you on attractions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy_Aldrich, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Metairie, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am pleased that you were able to take advantage of the Park and Cruise package that we offer. Stay tuned to our website for new packages developing this summer. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

The room was nice and clean,, locate grea5, and the serves,,, but carpet need to be clean bad,,, overall was great

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Ramada

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy_Aldrich, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Metairie, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for your review. We are about to replace all carpets in the hotel. We apologize that your room carpet was not where it needed to be. You will see new carpet on your return visit with us. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Metairie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Metairie

Address: 2713 N Causeway Boulevard, Metairie, LA 70002 (Formerly Ramada Metairie/New Orleans Area)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Metairie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Metairie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Metairie 2.5*
Number of rooms: 138
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Wyndham, Carlson, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Metairie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Metairie Hotel Metairie
Ramada Limited Metairie
Metairie Ramada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Metairie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.