We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fair to midland” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Garden Hotel New Orleans Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Wyndham Garden Hotel New Orleans Airport to your Saves list
Wyndham Garden Hotel New Orleans Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6401 Veterans Memorial Boulevard, Metairie, LA 70003 (Formerly Four Points by Sheraton New Orleans Airport)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Metairie
Florida
1 review
“Fair to midland”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I stayed in this hotel with my husband while attending an orientation for my graduate program. The room was your average hotel room with a king size bed. The bathroom was clean, although some of the tiles in the shower were discolored by rust stains. If the art on the walls was a symbol of attention to detail, then the hotel may be lacking as one of the pictures had slid loose from the backing making it crooked in the frame. The art was also an odd choice. However, I have a bit of OCD about that stuff. Overall, the room met my needs, and I felt safe in the hotel.

I did eat breakfast room service while I was there. My omelet was well prepared, as were the potatoes that came with it. The coffee was hot and juice cold. The breakfast room service was easy to use, I just filled out my order card and hung it on the door the night before. We got a call from room service prior to coming up, and my order was delivered promptly at the desired time.

My biggest complaint with the hotel was the noise coming in from the hallways. One night, there was a group of people talking in the hallway, I could clearly follow their conversation behind my closed door while laying in my bed. This was somewhat frustrating.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    12
    13
    6
    3
See reviews for
10
12
3
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Delray Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
230 helpful votes 230 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Having stayed at the Four Points by Sheraton (before the switch to Wyndham) this place was just o.k. I had higher hopes after the Wyndham brand took over, but they're even worse now.

There is no business center. There are two computers situated in the lobby, and one only seems to print. The internet speed in my room has slowed. I had to contact Wyndham's IT department to trouble shoot the situation even though I'd been in meetings all day and the speed was o.k.

This is a hotel for longshoremen, or men who've been on ships for a very long time. As a business woman, I did not appreciate the masses of men oogling at me in the restaurant and making comments, but when I called them out directly about their ridiculous behavior, they quieted down. This is something that should have been addressed by the restaurant staff who were there at the time.

The front desk told me and my co-worker that breakfast was served starting at 6:30 a.m. and included a buffet. We arrived at 7:20am in advance of our meetings scheduled down the hallway. The buffet was still not set up. After being told to wait, I finally asked the chef (who was also the person setting up the buffet) how much longer he'd be before we could help ourselves or order an omelet. He was kind and stopped was he was doing to make us omelets. That was at 7:45am.

If you advertise a breakfast buffet to start at 6:30am, then it should start at 6:30am, not at 7:45am after prodding.

Overall, the front desk staff (who are the same staff who've worked there for years) seem disinterested and do not display the friendly southern hospitality shown at other New Orleans-area hotels. Even the shuttle driver had to be prodded to stay on schedule to get us to the airport at the pre-scheduled time.

I've asked my company to move our quarterly meetings to another location moving forward.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The location of the hotel was perfect and "some" of the staff was really nice. (One of the managers could learn some customer service tips).

My family and I stayed for 3 nights and the first night we had no hot water. Nobody had hot water until late afternoon the next day. Nobody voluntarily informed the guests of the issue so imagine trying to take a shower and it stays cold until you realize no hot water is coming. When I called the front desk all they could say was we are working on it and you have to talk to a manager but they won't be in until the next morning. We were compensated for the inconvenience but the way they handled the situation was awful.

Overall we would stay again (no time soon) for the location BUT when I make the reservation I will ask if the hot water is working

Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMETOY, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Hotel New Orleans Airport, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Thank you for sharing your experience at our property. We had an unexpected failure of a hot water pump failing during your visit. This is definitely not a typical occurrence at our property and it has been fixed. I will share your comments with the managers and supervisors to ensure when this type of catastrophic failure happens it will be address correctly. I am sorry for the problems you endured and I hope you will give us the opportunity to redeem ourselves in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clementon, New Jersey
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I think that you should have an extra person in the kitchen on Saturday night. It was so busy and there was only one girl for ROOM SERVICE the front desk person and the Bar Tender had to help.

On Saturday we did not have our rooms cleaned no maid. I call because it was late and need fresh towels for the next day,

Printer was not working for us to print our Boarding Pass- Mgr helped us.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMETOY, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Hotel New Orleans Airport, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for sharing your experience at our property. I will share your comments with the staff and department heads. Our goal is to always deliver exceptional service; obviously some things fell through the cracks. i assure you we will address and correct the issue you have mentioned.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnolia
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I love Wyndham properties. The Gardens are consistent and this one falls into place. Clean, comfortable, kind front desk staff. The fitness center was large, the hot tub is large, bed is comfy, shower was hot. Free water in the room is always nice as well :)

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irving
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed three nights for work. Though it seems like an older building, it has been kept up and the rooms look newly remodeled and clean. The staff are all very friendly and accommodating. Malorie (sp? Sorry!) and Joyce were the ones I dealt with most and were fantastic. There aren't a whole lot of places within walking distance but the shuttle will take you up to three miles away. I recommend Don's and Harbor to eat. Either one has great local seafood. Harbor is pretty small and seating limited though.

Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SMETOY, Guest Relations Manager at Wyndham Garden Hotel New Orleans Airport, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for sharing your experience. I will share your comments with the staff and ensure the persons mentioned are recognized.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Wyndham Garden Hotel New Orleans Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Garden Hotel New Orleans Airport

Address: 6401 Veterans Memorial Boulevard, Metairie, LA 70003 (Formerly Four Points by Sheraton New Orleans Airport)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Metairie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Metairie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Wyndham Garden Hotel New Orleans Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 4 miles from the New Orleans airport and only 9 miles from the French Quarter and Downtown New Orleans, our hotel provides a relaxing and quiet environment for business and leisure travelers alike. This recently renovated and newly flagged hotel with free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel on a recently increased 50Mbps fiber backbone, should cater to all of your internet needs. Our full service restaurant is open for all 3 meals or enjoy the solitude you want through Room Service. Join us in our lounge after a long day for nightly drink specials and happy-hour. We offer complimentary shuttle service to and from the airport, just contact the front desk to reserve your time. Our staff is here to meet your every need and make you feel welcome in your home-away-from-home. Welcome to the new Wyndham Garden New Orleans Airport! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Wyndham, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Wyndham Garden Hotel New Orleans Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Points By Sheraton New Orleans Airport Hotel Metairie
4 Points By Sheraton New Orleans Airport
Sheraton New Orleans Airport
Four Points Metairie
Metairie Sheraton
Metairie Four Points

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Garden Hotel New Orleans Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.