We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business travel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Four Points by Sheraton New Orleans Airport

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Four Points by Sheraton New Orleans Airport to your Saves list
Four Points by Sheraton New Orleans Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6401 Veterans Memorial Boulevard, Metairie, LA 70003   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Metairie
Lutz, Florida
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Business travel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

Stayed here for a one night stay in NOLA. Easy access to highway but does not feel like a great neighborhood that it is in. Easy check in, clean lobby was refreshing. The room was small but had a great "Welcome to NOLA" sampling with a praline, local chips and a local root beer... very nice touch! Like i said, small rooms but not trying to do yoga in there, just work and sleep. I had the buffett the next morning downstairs, it was ok but waiter was attentive and it looked clean.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony S, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton New Orleans Airport, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review the Four Points by Sheraton in Metairre, LA. We just recently changed our welcome amenity for our SPG members to the local flavor New Orleans sample you refer to with equally great comments about it. Excellent point about the room size. For those future guests coming to our hotel the rooms with two double beds are larger than our "cozier" King bedded rooms. If you're tall like me, though, or are traveling with your snuggling partner, I'll trade the extra space for that King-sized bed every time...but that's just me! We're continually working on improvements to our breakfast buffet but I'm glad to hear that the restaurant was clean and you were well attended to by your waiter.

Again, thank you for taking the time on TripAdvisor to review our hotel and we hope that the next time you're in Metairre, you will stay with us again.

Tony Sahyoun
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    55
    59
    31
    25
See reviews for
45
40
15
68
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orange County, CA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

Stayed here 3 nights for church conference. The staff was friendly, housekeeping was attentive and the restaurant was excellent. Would highly recommend the sweet potato fries. Banquet staff was accommodating and helpful. Everything you would expect for the price and more.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony S, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton New Orleans Airport, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review about the Four Points by Sheraton in Metairre, LA. We wish we hit the mark every time and received comments as glowing as yours but we don't always and sometimes hear more of those than positive ones such as this one. We always strive for this level of service, but no hotel anywhere is perfect all of the time.

Again, thank you for taking time out of your busy day for this wonderful review. We look forward to serving you again on your next trip to Metairre.

P.S. I apologize for my less than timely reply to your review...I've actually been at the hotel for most of the past 3 weeks looking at ways we can make the hotel even better for all of our guests in the very near future.

Tony Sahyoun
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Our flight into NOLA was supposed to arrive before midnite, and we were hoping to take advantage of the free shuttle from the airport to this hotel. Of course, our flight was late, and we had to take a taxi. No problem. We were SO tired, it didn't matter at this point.

When we checked in, the desk clerk seemed as if he was waiting for us -- very welcoming. (I had called from the airport, just to check on shuttle and say we'd be on our way, so they knew our names, etc.)

Our room was comfortable. At this time of night, we were happy to lay down. It was clean.

We were not supposed to have breakfast included with our rate, but the desk clerk did give us vouchers for breakfast. Thanks for that! (I forget this name)

I was a little perturbed in the morning, when the maid knocked on our door to see if we had checked out. I said we'd be out in about an hour, and she was peeking around me, as if to see if there was anyone else in the room. What's with that? Also, I heard her going down the hall, knocking on all the doors. Don't they have a system, where the front desk can tell her who has checked out and whose rooms she can clean? If not, they should.

The breakfast was WONDERFUL! One of the best we had in NOLA. Buffet, but so delicious. Lots of hot choices, not just cereal and muffins.

The morning desk clerk was just as friendly and called a cab to take us to the city.

Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

We ordered this hotel, because we had a flight to catch at 6:00 am. This hotel is just 10 min away from airport and provides shuttle service. The room is nice and big with one comfortable king size bed, two sofa, big security box, refrigerator, microwave, HDTV with HDMI port and balcony, so basiclly it has everything I need. The bathroom even has a heat lamp, although it is not so useful in summer. The wifi and parking are free, and the internet speed is good.

In general, SPG hotels just provide bottle water to starwood preferred guest, this one also provides root beer and some snacks. I even could check out at 4:00 pm as starwood preferred guest.

BTW, the hotel locates at an area with a lot of shops and restaurants. The cloest two are BestBuy and TJMaxx with walking distance. If you feel boring, you can conveniently go shoppping.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandy B, Guest Relations Manager at Four Points by Sheraton New Orleans Airport, responded to this review, June 5, 2012
Thanks for such a nice review! Glad you enjoyed the Abita Root Beer... it's locally made :) Next time you're headed our way let us know and we'll treat you even better!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, Washington
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

We just stayed for the second year in a row to attend Jazz Fest. The regular rooms are small, so last year we requested a bigger option and were given two adjoining rooms on the main floor. I won't go into last year but all we you need to know is we were hoping it was a fluke and expecting a different experience...unfortunately we just got more of the same.

This year there were three of us. From the start things got hinky, when they gave our adjoining rooms away the first night, so we stayed in a suite with only one bathroom with an obnoxiously loud(even after they "repaired it") air conditioner and moved the next morning. There were so many little problems we were amazed. From a door lock setup that had to be replaced, was replaced incorrectly and then had to be replaced again, to room service dishes from the third night that sat in the room on the tray for 3more days.

The most astonishing was returning at 9pm from a full day in the sun at Jazz Fest and in need of rest and a shower before going to dinner, only to find the room had not been cleaned and no fresh towels. We had to cancel our dinner plans and opted to eat in the house. Though three of us had been inconvenienced we were comped a single dessert, but we were also comped three cocktails. Two of us had salads and they weren't the worst, but the French dip I order was in a bun hardened by microwaving and the beef had a heavy rainbow sheen...a sure sign of old and poorly handled meat...not to mention a total lack of oversight. But the biggest lack of quality control management was housekeeping. There were so many glitches it is hard to list them all, but they included zero vacuuming as some stuff on the rug was there the entire week, a loose toilet seat that had to be repaired, a non functioning exhaust fan in the bathroom, light bulbs out, the dishes from room service and used wine glasses that stayed in the room the entire last three days, and pink mildew streaks around the entire tubs in both baths, nail clippings on the floor,
dirty windows and walls, on and on.

The so called Housekeeping Manager disputed our comment about the room service dishes which we told him of as we were leaving, and we offered to walk him downtown the room and show him, but his attitude was skeptical and weird. We just gave up and will never stay here again. We travel widely, having spent most of the last year in several countries and across the US, and this place is the most absurdly managed we have found. The day desk manager was apologetic and the response to the mechanical glitches was fast, though not totally efficient; but
Housekeeping was as poorly managed as I have ever seen. Everyone can have off days, but with a staff barely speaking English, one would think someone would inspect housekeeping's work, especially when it comes to overall bathroom and room cleanliness. maybe the rooms we were in aren't used that often, but there is no excuse for the level of filth we found and coped with in the baths. It was as if no supervisor followed up on the crew, checking lights, making sure there was enough bottled water for every guest in the room, checking for cleanliness, on and on.

As Starwood preferred guests, we stay in Sheratons often.. This one should be a great embarrassment to the Sheraton corporation. So never again unless they get someone to manage this place. As a retiree who spent 35years in the restaurant and hospitality industry, I can state unequivocally that this is a top down problem from the general manager on down.

All the rest of the crew we encountered were friendly and trying to be responsive, but this hotel has serious management issues in my opinion as someone retired from 35years in the restaurant and hospitality industry. It has a convenient location, but from the restaurant to housekeeping, it is very sub par.

Room Tip: I wish I could.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandy B, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton New Orleans Airport, responded to this review, May 22, 2012
Dear Valued Guest,
I sincerely appreciate you giving us another chance after your experience last year. However, I am so very sorry that we failed to give you the superior service you deserve for a second time.

We are now under new management and because of your feedback we can take action that will have a direct and immediate impact on our guest's accommodations. Our desire is to provide you with honest, uncomplicated, and comfortable experiences.

Again, thank you for your loyalty as a Starwood Preferred Guest and also for shedding light in our dark corners.

Sincerely,
Brandy Bolden
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marin County, CA
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2012

The Four Points has done a nice job of revamping the outside facade. They've also updated the paint colors in the rooms with warm tones. However, the rooms face the freeway with single-paned sliding glass doors that do not block out the traffic noise. I changed rooms twice trying to find one that was a bit more quiet. The carpet in the rooms had seen better days. My colleague and I likened the exterior update vs the interior update to putting lipstick on a pig. On the plus side the bed was VERY comfortable, the staff helpful and accommodating.

The location from the aiport was easy to get to, plenty of parking, and there is a wide variety of restaurants and shopping malls close to the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ATL
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

Our stay was 3 nights. Staff was welcoming. Thanks Keisha. Upon our request we were given a room away from the interstate noise. The bed was most comfortable. Housekeeping left no soap or shampoo the second day. Spoke with Steve (manager) and he followed up with housekeeping immediately. Service in the dining room for breakfast was excellent. Thanks Eric. We will stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Points by Sheraton New Orleans Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points by Sheraton New Orleans Airport

Address: 6401 Veterans Memorial Boulevard, Metairie, LA 70003
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Metairie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Metairie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Four Points by Sheraton New Orleans Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 2 miles from the New Orleans airport and only 11 miles from the French Quarter and Downtown New Orleans, our hotel provides a relaxing and quiet environment for business and leisure travelers alike. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Four Points by Sheraton New Orleans Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Points By Sheraton New Orleans Airport
Four Points By Sheraton New Orleans Airport Hotel Metairie
Sheraton New Orleans Airport
Four Points Metairie
Metairie Sheraton
Metairie Four Points

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Points by Sheraton New Orleans Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.