We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs some work” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Metairie New Orleans

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Metairie New Orleans to your Saves list
Sheraton Metairie New Orleans
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4 Galleria Blvd., Metairie, LA 70001   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast for 2 Included
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Metairie
San Clemente, California
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Needs some work”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Staff was great and very helpful. Unfortunately that couldn't make up for the TV not working (satellite issues?), no parking being available due to a conference/meeting, and pillows on the king size bed being as big as a throw pillow.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton-Metairie, General Manager at Sheraton Metairie New Orleans, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you so much for your comments. The feedback will help us improve our service and product for the future. We encourage our guests to let us know if there are any problems with their stay so that we may address the situation immediately. I am very happy to hear that you found our staff to be accommodating to your needs. Thank you for taking the time to give your response and we hope to see you again. Sincerely, Paula Evans, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    68
    47
    23
    21
See reviews for
41
34
12
65
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights for a conference. Had to stay out in Metairie as couldn't get anything closer to town. Area appeared non de-script but didn't spend any time in it. But the hotel was barely worthy of the Sheraton name. It's understaffed and here's some examples:called the desk 3 times on different occasions day time or early evening only for nobody to answer it; saw towels in the gym only once on 4 visits in the morning; service in the restaurant (the one time I used) it took ages. The staff were pleasant enough, it's just that the place seems to be run on a shoestring. Also no safes in the room, which was very bizarre. Would've given it 2.5/5 if I could.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton-Metairie, General Manager at Sheraton Metairie New Orleans, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for staying at our hotel on your recent visit to the Greater New Orleans area. It is important to our staff to provide you with options which help you relax after a long day and recharge for the next one. We take pride in delivering all of the details that allow your trip to be a success and we take seriously the feedback that you provide. Thank you again for your comments and I assure you we are investigating your concerns. Your feedback is sincerely appreciated and we hope to have the opportunity in the future to win back your trust. Sincerely, Paula Evans, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

OLder but clean and updated property. Very friendly staff. Bathrooms have no where to hang towels so hard to recycle usage of them! Nice workout room and pool is located on a rooftop. Decent dlub level lounge and nice treats laid out.

Room Tip: If they give you fifth floor ask not to be located near fitness room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton-Metairie, General Manager at Sheraton Metairie New Orleans, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for choosing our hotel during your stay in New Orleans. Our staff takes pride in delivering first class service and spends a considerable amount of time focused on all the details that make your stay a success. We appreciate your comments and are thrilled that we could contribute to your visit to New Orleans. Thank you for your business and we hope to see you again in the future. Sincerely, Paula Evans, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I stayed here for two nights on Starwood Points in Nov 2012, and had a lovely large king bed room all to myself. After staying in a small B&B in a so-so neighborhood for a few nights, the Sheraton Metairie was a lovely relaxing experience. Everything in the room was spotless, and so was the bath. When I went downstairs to watch a football game at the bar, I was happy to discover that beers were reasonably priced and the people there were friendly. Front desk staff was very accommodating and professional. I would happily stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a king bed room, and tip your maid!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton-Metairie, General Manager at Sheraton Metairie New Orleans, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for choosing our hotel on your recent visit to the Big Easy. Our staff truly goes out of their way to treat every guest as a guest in their own home. This hospitality carries over into all areas of the hotel with a flair for true southern hospitality. We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and we look forward to serving you again as your travels bring you back to our area. Sincerely, Paula Evans, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wayne, New Jersey
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Location was acceptable; was about 10 minutes from Bourbon St in New Orleans, which is why we stayed here, and the price was right. Other places in New Orleans were charging double or triple what we paid to stay here.

I don't know much about the area, but Metairie might not be the best places to walk around late at night--just a warning.

Check-in representative wasn't very nice--he put up his finger to tell me to wait as I approached the counter. When I got to the counter, he didn't say hello, just asked for identification and a credit card.

The hotel itself wasn't bad--the TV, beds, carpeting, bathroom, heating/AC were all in good order and the room was nicely cleaned. We stayed 3 nights, and on one of the days, the housekeeping never came. We left the room at 10 am and didn't return til 1:30 am that night, but the room still had the beds unmade and the dirty towels we had used to shower on the floor in the bathroom. No one had bothered cleaning the room.

If I return to New Orleans, I'd try to find a better place for the same price. If I couldn't find another comparable place, maybe I'd come back here again. Just maybe.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton-Metairie, General Manager at Sheraton Metairie New Orleans, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
We are happy our location was convenient for your endeavor to New Orleans. As much as we hate to see negative comments about a past stay at our hotel, I appreciate your honesty and for taking the time to bring these matters to our attention. Cleanliness and service is one of our top priorities and we take these issues seriously. Your review will help us focus on improving where we can to make sure that our rooms are clean to your satisfaction and that all our guests received the type of service that Sheraton is known for. I do hope that if you are in the area again you will stay at our hotel. Thank you for your review. Sincerely, Paula Evans, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Pros:
The staff I interacted with was very friendly and helpful.
The bed, linens and pillows were very comfortable.
The rooms look recently renovated and in good shape.
The TV worked well and had a good channel line up.
Starbucks coffee pods for the in-room coffee maker.
Cons:
Something needs to happen with housekeeping. Even though the hotel was in good shape, it felt like there was a layer of grime over it. In the room, there was debris on the carpet and the toilet bowl needed a good cleaning.
No in-room safe, fridge or microwave.
The network was completely unusable the first day. It was so slow or overloaded that it was impossible to connect, even using the ethernet cord instead of wireless. Hotel staff told me that they were getting lots of complaints. It got better the next day but not enough to be usable beyond sending small emails.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton-Metairie, General Manager at Sheraton Metairie New Orleans, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
We appreciate your Pro's as well as the Con's related to your recent stay at Sheraton Metairie New Orleans. Your observations related to cleanliness have been reviewed with our housekeeping department; we’ve added steps to ensure a more thorough inspection prior to our guest arrival. I am also happy to inform you that we have listened to your concerns regarding our internet service and we are in the process of doubling our bandwidth to better meet our guest needs. Also we do have safe deposits available at the front desk to secure your belongings. Microwaves and refrigerators are also available for a slight fee. I am sorry that this was not brought to your attention to help make your stay more enjoyable. We hope you will give us another opportunity when visiting the area again as we will soon embark on a multi-million dollar renovation project that will lead to an array of product, service and design enhancements at our hotel. Sincerely, Paula Evans, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

I do not usually stay in the CBD (Central Business District) when I travel to New Orleans. This location is about 10-15 min from the downtown area. The room was clean, the service was very nice and it was close to many restaurants and shopping. Another great time in New Orleans

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheraton-Metairie, General Manager at Sheraton Metairie New Orleans, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
We are happy our location was convenient for your endeavor to New Orleans. I was glad to read your remarks and see that you had a nice stay during your recent trip to our area. Our staff is who represents us and we work hard at giving attentive and friendly service. Cleanliness is also a number one priority at our hotel. It was nice of you to take the time to share your comments. I hope we have the honor of hosting you again in the future and we thank you for your business. Sincerely, Paula Evans, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Metairie New Orleans? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Metairie New Orleans

Address: 4 Galleria Blvd., Metairie, LA 70001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Metairie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 21 Hotels in Metairie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Sheraton Metairie New Orleans 3*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sheraton Metairie New Orleans Hotel offers luxurious accommodations with friendly guest service. From an upscale design to a staff who is focused on you, our hotel has everything you desire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Starwood, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Sheraton Metairie New Orleans reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Metairie New Orleans Hotel Metairie
Metairie Sheraton

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Metairie New Orleans, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.