We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't judge a book by its cover” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Galley Seafood Restaurant

Galley Seafood Restaurant
2535 Metairie Rd, Metairie, LA 70001-5444
504-832-0955
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 424 restaurants in Metairie
Price range: $1 - $35
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations
Menands, New York
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Don't judge a book by its cover”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

A friend recommended this place and my husband and I eyed each other when we went to park. But we went in and were pleasantly surprised. It's not fantastic for ambiance, but very good. Our waiter, Jacob, was very accomadating and pleasant. The food was very tasty and good for the price.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

85% Recommend
    26
    14
    3
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Crabs, crawfish, shrimp. Get a little of it all!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

This is the place for seafood. I love crabs, and I'm never disappointed. And the one time I was they fixed the matter so rapidly, I almost forgot. Service is quick and friendly, and this place is busy!! Definately go early, especially on the weekend. And be sure to ask for Rob, he's always our server, and is excellent at what he does.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Such a great find!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

I noticed this place one evening when I saw a huge line out the door and made a note to myself that I had to try it. I came back with my boyfriend and we were both greatly enjoyed our meal. The fish was so fresh! The service was great and quick and it was a good deal-- salad, bread, fish and two sides--plus the size of the meal was big enough to split. It was refreshing to have a casual family feel and such great quality fish. I highly recommend!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Texas
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Neighborhood Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Notwithstanding the quality of its famous restaurants, one of the things which makes dining out in New Orleans a continuing delight are the hundreds of neighborhood restaurants where the food is outstanding. The Galley in Metairie, a New Orleans suburb lovingly called "Metry" by the natives, is a perfect example. Their menu is extensive, at any point offering 3-4 dozen main items, almost all of which are seafood based. It is out of the way, parking is limited, and the atmosphere is friendly. Décor is reminiscent of a roadside inn, so come casual, but the service is good, the wait staff know what's good that day, and will guide you.
We visit New Orleans frequently and have eaten at the Galley 5-6 times. Every dish has been excellent. Their po-boys are delicious, the etouffe outstanding, and all their fish is fresh and well prepared. Interestingly, the highlight may be their homemade balsamic vinaigrette. It includes, among other things, garlic, sliced onion, and Splenda - and defies description it is so good.
Its well worth the trip.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Place
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Oustanding Seafood in the New Orleans Area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

This is on Metairie Road (La. Hwy. 611-9) in the Old Metairie area. Although they specialize in boiled seafood, we ordered some fried dishes. All dinners come with big tasty salads. My shrimp plate ($18.99) had lost of juicy, flavorful, well-seasoned butterflied shrimp and delicious baked macaroni & cheese. My meal partners shared a seafood platter with softshell crab. At. $32.00, it was expensive, but very good. None of the food was at all greasy. Also, their tartar sauce is homemade and outstanding. This is a very busy and popular place, but the service was friendly and attentive. This is an "A" place all the way. Maybe the best seafood in the New Orleans area. RJT

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Galley Seafood Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Galley Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Galley Seafood Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.