We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Known for the oysters, but so many good choices!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Drago's Seafood Restaurant

Drago's Seafood Restaurant
3232 N Arnoult Rd, Metairie, LA 70002
+1 504-888-9254
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 445 Restaurants in Metairie
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole, Seafood, Oyster Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Local cuisine, Large groups, Doing business
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Home of the Original Charbroiled Oyster!
Bossier City, Louisiana
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Known for the oysters, but so many good choices!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

My husband and I tried Dragos for lunch because of the trip advisor reviews and we are so glad we did! My husband had the 1/2 stuffed lobster and I had the crap augratin (sp?) stuffed crab with rosemary potatos. They were both delicious! The crab was a little spicy, but being from Louisiana, I like a little kick to my food anyways. We ordered the cheesecake for dessert. It looked like a scoop of ice cream instead of cheesecake but OMG, it was the best cheesecake we have ever had! We will try the oysters next time, but you can bet we will get another order of cheesecake! Service was great. Our waiter was very attentive. We didn't have problems parking, but I can see where during a dinner rush it might be a problem. Lunch prices were very reasonable.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    248
    113
    42
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Corpus Christi, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very good seafood at a good price.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Getting there is half the fun. The parking was a disaster...Very limited in front of the restaurant. They have a separate lot a little past the restaurant on a side street. Fat City traffic after five. Very efficiently managed once you get inside, got a table right away. Wanted oysters Rockefeller and a Dixie Beer, but they don't do Oysters Rockefeller and were out of Dixie! Not a loss though, had other beers on hand, though not the same and they were very apologetic. Dixie was brewed to drink with oyster dishes... Instead of the Rockefellers, we had their specialty charbroiled oysters and a couple dozen raw on the half shell. All were excellent. Some had a seafood salad that they also thought was very good. Very popular place and good place to soak in local culture. Will be going back, and now know where to park.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Great Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

The food here is amazing and service is impeccable. The shrimp salad and the lobster tails are so good.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tequesta, Florida
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“What a pleasant surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

Went here on the advice of a client. Although she neglected to clue me in on the charbroiled oysters; thankfully, my waiter recommended them. What an experience! They were quite possibly the best accidental restaurant find I've ever had. If you are ever near New Orleans, you must absolutely try these.
I went back the following night because I wanted to try one of the entries instead of just pigging out on oysters. I had the Hedurra (sp?) shrimp and found them to be very good.
This place is a bit pricey - the dozen oysters are $18 and my entree was was about $26 but it really was worth it.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slidell, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“AWESOME OYSTERS”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Came to this restaurant with about 6 co-workers for a small celebration - the waiter we had was GREAT!! The Chargrilled Oysters and Raw Oysters were AWESOME (Best in Town)!!! I had the Eggplant & Shrimp Stack as my entree' - that was down right NASTY !! I love Eggplant and when I saw it on the menu it sounded wonderful - except when I got my plate and actually started eating it, the shrimp that came with the dish were no bigger than a quarter and then there was only a total of 4 shrimp in the whole plate - it came with 3 pieces of eggplant - 2 of the 3 pieces were so overcooked that they were soggy and did not taste good at all - the 3rd piece of eggplant was not even cooked, it was hard as a brick....so I would defiantly NOT order this dish again !! But overall it was good and watching the guys shuck the oysters was great.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Drago's Seafood Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Drago's Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Drago's Seafood Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.