We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good steaks” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Outback Steakhouse

Outback Steakhouse
2746 Severn Ave, Metairie, LA 70002-5937
504-455-6850
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #134 of 425 restaurants in Metairie
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Restaurant details
Terry, Mississippi
1 review
“Good steaks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Service was good as well as the food. No dislikes. You can't go wrong with a mouth watering delicious steak with a good loaded potatoe.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

42% Recommend
    6
    3
    9
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Quickie meal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stopped here on our way home from traveling to see my daughter in college. They had a special with lobster tails. I have seen bigger shrimp and crawfish than the lobsters I was served. I didnt expect them to be huge, but this was pretty pitiful.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale
Top Contributor
250 reviews 250 reviews
216 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Steak good, other food not so much!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

I am not a steak person so I end up eating their non-steak items and find their food to be so-so. My boyfriend, who loves steak, enjoys it and says good at a great price. So, the conclusion is go for the steak only, otherwise you might be disappointed.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
Top Contributor
176 reviews 176 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“So-so, but better than Ruth's Chris was at twice the price!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

OK, so I won a $75 credit off of my "Fair Share Plus" United Way contribution. Rolled out on a Thursday after 6.5 hours of boring meetings. Top shelf Margarita straight up was mediocre, a high score for chains though far in the shadows of what I've trained my daughter to at home, and pale on the double homemade whiskey sours. Their lower grade true Margarita (if it doesn't have Triple Sec it isn't!) was only moderately more mediocre. I had the Porterhouse with add-on snow crab. Steak was OK, crab was good. Properly cooked but uninspiring. Potato was same-same (not improperly cooked, not inspired). Wife had the filet with lobster. Pretty much the same relative score. Decent food, but pretty much the only standout was the crab stuffed mushrooms appetizer. Service was brisk and supportive. Home for a long nap and then more industrial chemistry (OK, the sours were really good, beware of the home bar!).

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
Top Contributor
264 reviews 264 reviews
190 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
“Good Crawfish Appetizer!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stopped in for dinner on Friday night of Mardi Gras 2013 weekend while waiting for the parade to arrive. We didn't have to worry about parking as we just walked over from the parade route. There is limited parking in front of the restaurant, and a larger lot behind. I heard a customer say his car had been towed the evening we were there. I couldn't hear the entire conversation, but it appears that if you park in the lot for the adjacent restaurant, and don't eat there, they will have your car towed. So, be careful where you park!

We had the "Taz crawfish" as an appetizer. They were quite good and the batter not too heavy. My husband had "The Outbacker burger" with fries and I had the "chicken artichoke flatbread" as my entree. While the food tasted fine, the temperature of everything could have been hotter. Our food was lukewarm, while the plates were hot.

The restaurant was not busy and we sat at a booth in the bar area. We didn't see much of our server, so I'm not sure what he was up to, or why our food was not served when it was plated. This wasn't typical of a visit to an Outback. At no time did we see a manager walking the floor.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Outback Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Outback Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Outback Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.