We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing special” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sun Suites Metairie

Save Saved
You added Sun Suites Metairie to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sun Suites Metairie
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4409 Hearst Street, Metairie, LA 70001   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 21 Hotels in Metairie
Menands, New York
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Based on a two-star rating, we got what we expected and got nothing less or more. It is an extended stay room, so it had a kitchenette but no room service unless your stay was long. It was clean but in a neighborhood that wasn't very attractive. The front desk lady was nice but her friend visiting her was nicer.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    11
    13
    13
    19
See reviews for
10
16
14
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke, Alabama
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed here in March 2013. Were a little worried with the mixed reviews I read on here.but I was very pleasantly surprised. We stayed 3 nights and had a chihuahua with us. Check in was a breeze, the lady at the front desk was very nice and informative about where to eat, which route was the easiest. We told her our dog had heart trouble and this was his last trip, she was very sympathetic and friendly to us and Kaos. We were located 15 minutes from the French Quarter and Garden District. The room was very clean and it had everything we needed, fridge, stove top, microwave, coffee pot and a small dinning room table and chairs, plenty of towels, great hot water in the bathroom, ac that worked great, , queen size bed, and a chair and ottoman.. It had wifi that worked well. I felt secure when I walked kaos in the morning and at night. No, this isn't a 5 star hotel with room service, but for two people and a dog, it was a great place with friendly people, at a great price, and we'll be happy to stay here again when we come back to NOLA.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

My fiance and i got to new orleans expecting to go to a different hotel and then some of our friend told us to stay in the Metairie area because it was nicer, safer, and things were a lot closer; so we did, and we found this hotel. The lady at the front desk couldn't have been nicer she even gave us a discount because we were staying 4 nights. The room was big and had all the accessories you want in a hotel room (refrigerator, microwave, iron, ironing board, lots of towels, coffee pot, TV, extra blanket, lots of light, etc...) The a/c even worked great. The room we were in came with a kitchenette which was great since we were staying 4 nights. Also there was not a lot of outside noise and the room was SO clean. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who stays in New Orleans!! The restaurants around here were good but I would most definitely recommend going to Bourbon to eat.

Room Tip: If there are 2 of you the Queen room will do perfect, there is no pool on property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

We changed rooms THREE times before we even got something decent. In the first room they gave us the shower had no hot water. We got there on a Saturday afternoon after driving over a thousand miles and then we had to wait until Monday After 3pm to actually get it fixed or move to another room. Monday comes along and we have to wait until 3:30 pm and then we get moved to the third floor and now we have hot water in the shower but now the toilet will not flush. The handyman came and told us we could leave and come back later so we left after waiting for him to fix it for a half hour. We came back@7pm and the toilet still would not flush. The handyman actually left us a plunger, and even with the plunger the toilet still overflowed. We went down to the lobby (thank God the kids were still with their MawMaw and PawPaw) and had to wait in line another half hour. Finally we were moved to another room on the first floor. The shower only got to lukewarm but we took it. Then I go to change the roll on the toilet paper holder and I see a brown smudge on one end of the toilet paper holder. Yes, I decided to smell it and low and behold it smelt like rat poop. The best part you won't believe: I saw something in the toilet paper holder and low and behold, there was a piece of rat poop INSIDE THE TOILET PAPER HOLDER! I told the woman @ the front desk and they did not look concerned. Oh, and did I mention we saw JP detectives (Jeff Parish police dept) here almost EVERY night of our stay. Oh, and as we were leaving apparently we OWED them one night stay because we stayed over the weekly rate. OUTRAGEOUS! This place is a DUMP. Stay Away!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Mississippi
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

This is more of an extended stay hotel than a regular hotel. I'm always looking for a deal & got one on Hotwire. My business partner & I stayed for two nights. It was being remodeled at the time. It was close to the health care providers we were calling on. We saved money by cooking in room. Staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunSuitesMetairie, General Manager at Sun Suites Metairie, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you fo taking the time to share your experience with fellow travelers. We value your feedback immensely and are very happy that you enjoyed your stay. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly if there is anything further I can do to help you with reservations here or at any of our sister hotels.

Jacqueline Benton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I travel to NOLA every couple of months for a weekend of fun and games, sightseeing, etc.

I only use my hotel rooms to sleep and leave my weekend bag. I leave the hotel at 8 - 9 AM for sightseeing and only come back in the afternoon to nap and change for Bourbon Street then back again after fun and games. I agree this place has seen better days, however since I have a special needs diet, it is nice for me to have a fridge and stove in the room so I can bring / shop for my own groceries and cook my own food. I was surprised to find out that 2 - 3 days stay does not include room service, but I know that for next time.

The place was clean, staff was VERY friendly and accommodating, location easy to find, the price just right ($65.00 per night) for someone in a budget like me. I would much rather spend my $$$ on souvenirs and other entertainments than on a fancy hotel room.

The parking lot is very well lit and safe.

I have already booked my next stay.

Room Tip: Bring your own pots and pans.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunSuitesMetairie, General Manager at Sun Suites Metairie, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Thank you for your feedback- we are a value priced hotel, and we are always striving to give our guests the very best experience we can. Please feel free contact me personally to discuss a future visit. We look forward to serving you when your return to the "Big Easy."

Jacqueline Benton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sun Suites Metairie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sun Suites Metairie

Address: 4409 Hearst Street, Metairie, LA 70001
Location: United States > Louisiana > Metairie
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 21 Hotels in Metairie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sun Suites Metairie 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sun Suites of Metairie is located in Metairie, Louisiana—one of the oldest cities in the United States —and is situated on the south shore of beautiful Lake Pontchartrain. Offering affordable extended stay lodging accommodations for business and family travelers, Sun Suites of Metairie features 132 guest rooms comfortably furnished and equipped with full kitchens and living areas. The hotel boasts excellent customer service and southern hospitality as well as easy access to the interstate, New Orleans’ popular French Quarter, great restaurants and shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Odigeo, Otel, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Sun Suites Metairie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sun Suites Metairie/New Orleans West Hotel Metairie
Sun Hotel Metairie

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sun Suites Metairie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.