We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'd Stay Again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sleep Inn & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Sleep Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Sleep Inn & Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4601 Utica Street, or 4601 North I-10 Service Road, Metairie, LA 70006   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Metairie
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“I'd Stay Again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

Wonderful location. Close enough to the well sought areas of NOLA, yet enough out that the expense of the hotel does not accommodate. Wonderful staff. Wonderful rooms. breakfast was good enough, but there is a Cafe du Monde within walking distance..<wink> I think the only thing I was not too thrilled with, was the parking and lack of it. Its not bad if you plan on being in your room by 8 at night... but after that... it gets sketchy.

Room Tip: Laundry facility is located on 2nd floor.... while the ice is not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm121, Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
To Our Valued Guest!
Thank you so much for your wonderful review of our staff and hotel.We are so happy that you had a nice stay with us. We look forward to seeing you on your return trip to New Orleans .
Thanks again for staying with us at Sleep Inn & Suites of Metairie

Cindy Bishop
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    97
    29
    5
    4
See reviews for
71
64
21
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kent, Ohio
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

The front desk staff were EXTREMELY friendly and helpful. I got there earlier than planned, and they were able to get me into a room as soon as I got there, even though I didn't have an early check-in time. The WiFi was down one of the mornings, and although they couldn't fix it right way, they put in clear effort trying to find out what the problem was, which I greatly appreciated.

The room was clean, and the bed was comfortable. There were both a mini-fridge and refrigerator in the room as well (which came in handy on the night I was too tired to go out for dinner, so I just picked up a frozen pizza at the Target across the street).

Driving to New Orleans from the hotel barely takes any time at all, and there didn't seem to be heavy traffic at any time of the day (although I was only there for 2 days, so maybe I just got lucky).

And because I always appreciate reviews pointing this out - I'm a female and was traveling alone, and I felt safe during my whole stay.

The only negative thing about my stay at all was the strong scent of whatever air freshener the cleaning staff uses. It's not a bad scent, but if you are sensitive to smells or if you're allergic to perfumes, be prepared!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm121, Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 31, 2012
To Our Valued Guest!
Thank you so much for wonderful review of the hotel and staff. We do strive for excellence for our guest and want to make sure our guest feel like they are at their "Home Away From Home" while you are staying with us. We are using a lighter air freshener since you have stayed with us last so hopefully on your next stay in New Orleans we will get to see you again.
Again thanks for staying with us at Sleep Inn & Suites of Metairie


Cindy Bishop & Heidi Hutton
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cocoa Beach
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

When I approached the desk they asked if I was Mfr. Snyder and when I confirmed it they gave me my room keys and a bag of goodies to welcome my wife and I to their great hotel!! It only got better from there. We only staid three nights but when we left we felt as though we were part if the family and not just guests.

The staff were helpful and cheerful. I would recommend this hotel to anyone to when they are visiting New Orleans. We will stay there whenever we return to New Orleans.

Can't say enough about the staff!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: We always get a room on the second floor or higher so we can open the blinds and not have anyone sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm121, Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
To Our Valued Guest,
Thank you so much for the awesome review. The team remembers you both so well. We are proud that we could make your stay memorable and enjoyable. We surely hope to see you again on your next trip to New Orleans area.
Look forward to it!
Cindy Bishop
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal Springs, Mississippi
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We were only at the Sleep Inn for 10 hours. The room was clean. The parking was secure as was the facility. Front desk lady very polite. We had a 6 AM departure at MSY. Sleep Inn is minutes from the airport. Easy access. Room cost $90. We didn't want the hassle of driving into NOLA very early in the morning. This was a great alternative. Will definitely stay here again. Only problem was that the free breakfast doesn't start till 7AM.

Room Tip: Get a higher floor to avoid interstate traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm121, Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
To Our Valued Guest;
Thanks so much for the AWESOME review! Our Team remembers you both so well. We are proud that we as a team could make your stay memorable. I know on the weekends the breakfast times are 7am till 10am and during the week from 6am till 9am. I will definitely pass the suggestion onto our General Manager about the 7am breakfast time. Again thanks for stay staying with us and we hope to see you on your return trip back to New Orleans
Thanks again!
Heidi Hutton & Cindy Bishop
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Our king room was clean and nicely furnished. The flat screen TV was great. Very clean and updated bathroom. Chair and ottoman, refrig, and microwave were nice additions. Very friendly staff. High quality mattress was very comfortable. Breakfast had a large selection including scrambled eggs and sausage.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm121, Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 21, 2012
To Our Valued Guest,
Our team at Sleep Inn & Suites of Metairie is so pleased to know our hotel amenities and features fit so well for your stay with us. We as a team strive for excellence for our guest. We appreciate your review of us and we look forward to you staying with us on your return trip to New Orleans in the future.
Thanks Again!
Heidi Hutton & Cindy Bishop
AGM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

This hotel is a great budget choice for New Orleans if you have a car and can hande a 15-minute freeway drive. The rooms are large, comfortable, and fully equipped with flat screen tv, good Internet, refrigerator, etc. The service is very,very friendly. A full hot breakfast is provided. The decor is dated and the lobby and parking lot are cramped. This is a good budget choice for a weekend when French Quarter prices are out of sight.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm121, Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
To Our Valued Guest
We thank you so much for your review! We're very glad that we could accommodate you on your past stay. We Strive for excellence and like for our guest to feel like they are at their “HOME AWAY FROM HOME”
Thanks again for staying with us at Sleep Inn & Suites of Metairie!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

or you'll wind up in a constuction area in the median of I-10 2 mi west of here. Write down I-10 exit 226! Once you get there, you can easily SEE the hotel and figure out the streets to it.
Once you're here a friendly staff member checks you in. My room had a king bed, a sofa, working desk( with chair that could double as a reciner), a mini fridge (with microwave, which allowed me to get several meals taken out from a decent place to both reduce costs AND avoid rush hour in an unfamiliar city), all for around $90/night! There all several GOOD choices for eating within a 15 min drive (@ sometimes 10mi/hr). For example there is a mall (with a food court) within a 15min WALK of the hotel. The TV has a wide selection of channels ( including SPEED and FOX regional Sports so i'm not forced to buy a movie to watch on a TV.
I'm not going to rate the breakfast since working evenings/midnights my whole life I don't do breakfast. Overall a great experience for the price.

Room Tip: Odd # rooms face west ,even # rooms face east.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gm121, Manager at Sleep Inn & Suites, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
To our valued guest!
Your review of our team was so awesome and in detail. Thanks so much from all of us! We are in process of trying to correct the problem with the GPS and we do apologize. We are happy that our location was accommodating for your stay. Thanks again for staying with us at Sleep Inn & Suites of Metairie.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sleep Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn & Suites

Address: 4601 Utica Street, or 4601 North I-10 Service Road, Metairie, LA 70006
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Metairie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Metairie
#4 Family Hotel in Metairie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn & Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If using a GPS system please put in 4601 Utica Street to get directly to us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sleep Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Hotel Metairie
Sleep Inn And Suites
Sleep Inn Metairie
Metairie Sleep Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sleep Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.