We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised” 4 of 5 stars
Review of City Diner

City Diner
3116 S I-10 Service Road E, Metairie, LA 70001-2014
(504) 831-1030
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #64 of 437 Restaurants in Metairie
Price range: $10 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Delivery, Late Night
LEXINGTON
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Just a little walk from our hotel and we found this little diner with good food and quick service. Definitely try the catfish!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    27
    15
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“A Unique Diner Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

City Diner is a really awsome and modern spin on the old fashion tradional diner. They have a modern and hip menu and the food is incredible. It really is a breath of fresh air for some one to do something original in the New Orleans Metro area. The breakfast is to die for and those pancakes come on a pizza dish. Do not forget about them for lunch or dinner because their food is amazing. It is fresh ingredients and some very unique dishes that you would not expect to see at a diner. My wife and I love this place. On top of it all you can get a first class meal for a fraction of what you would spend at a more traditonal resturant.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“It is worth getting off the beaten path”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

This place is in Metairie. We stayed next door at the Sheraton and we kept seeing people with takeout bags. Everyone said that was the place to get the best and freshest tasting catfish. I ordered the crawfish etouffee and it was the best! They were super friendly and there were generous portions.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Did not disappoint!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Headed back to North Monroe after spending the weekend in N. O. Needed a lunch option after a late checkout and fighting the Saints game traffic. Read favorable reviews for City Diner. Our server, Ashana, was very pleasant and offered helpful recommendations. She was spot on! I had the "Bottom of he Bowl" over pasta. It was well-seasoned and chocked full of yummy fresh seafood- crawfish, crab , and shrimp. I still was able to enjoy the wonderful fresh, buttery French bread on the side! My husband had the hot sausage Po-Boy. My oldest had the famous pizza-sized pancake ( she could only finish a third of it even though we all sampled it- very good, not just big!) and my youngest had a meat lovers omelette. Everyone was extremely satisfied with their choices and the girls made us promise to make a visit every time we turn to New Orleans!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land, Texas
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Never seen pancakes this SIZE!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

After our stay at Courtyard Marriott in Metairie, we asked the hotel staff upon checkout where he would recommend my kids and I can have a nice breakfast/lunch.. He suggested City Diner. When we arrived at that place, it was a small place but looked clean. We had to wait a few minutes to get a table since it was a little crowded even at 11:30am. The waiters worked fast.. We looked over the menu and noticed their note about the pancakes, so we ordered a stack of 3. To our surprise, when they arrived at our table, our jaw dropped!!! It's no joke, they are huge!!! They tasted good too. But a normal person could barely eat less than 10 bites before getting full! Don't get the chicken fried steak breakfast. The crust was so salty and it was so thick! The standard items like scrambled eggs, hash brown, and bacon were good! We felt bad for leaving 75% of the pancakes behind. But it was too much for our stomachs to handle! Definitely a place to go and check out the pancakes yourself! Buyers Beware! LOL!

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed City Diner also viewed

 

Been to City Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage City Diner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.