We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not our usual Hampton stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Metairie

Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn Metairie to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Metairie
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2730 North Causeway Boulevard, Metairie, LA 70002   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Double HHonors Points
Ranked #4 of 21 hotels in Metairie
Salt Lake City, Utah
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Not our usual Hampton stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

There wasn't anything particularly wrong with the hotel- it was a little more run down than I expect but still recognizable as a Hampton Inn. The location is right off the freeway and a main thoroughfare, which wasn't a problem.
Our problem with the stay was the noise level you could hear in the rooms. It was impossible to rest with so many people partying in the rooms around us. The hotel was also full of tours- and more small children than I've seen in one place in a long while. It is within walking distance to a few places to eat- and within a mile or so of a lot of restaurants. It is also very easy access from the airport and to the 10.
We chose to stay here the first couple nights so we could do some plantation touring before we headed to the French Quarter. I wouldn't plan on staying at this particular hotel again- even in the French Quarter we found the rooms a lot quieter at night.

Room Tip: I'm not sure there is a tip for this- even our friends room in another location was noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    67
    64
    36
    10
    8
See reviews for
60
39
18
54
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

This hotel is wedged in the middle of one of the heaviest traffic areas in the New Orleans metro. Getting into the hotel is a little tricky, but once you're there, the facility is just fine. And, it has a connected parking garage which, again given the area, is very welcome. The room was clean and well-appointed. Staff is friendly and helpful. The only glitch of the trip was that housekeeping was not done cleaning my room upon check-in. That was a minor annoyance, as I just dropped my bags & went along to a function. Breakfast buffet is ho-hum.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Hotel is next to a busy road. If you miss the exit, you will miss the access to the hotel. Location is not good. Will avoid next time. Happy to see the sign at the lobby about the Jambalaya reception in the evening ... Then it's Jambalaya plus water.

Room Tip: Select even number rooms. The odd number room is very close to the high traffic road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

There are a number or positives about this hotel. The rooms are generally a nice size, the bed is comfortable, everything is clean, refrigerator and micovaves in rooms, breakfast area updated.
I stayed to non consecutive nights this week. The 1st night was an end room on side opposite of the highway and it was perfect. No noise and very comfortable. Second night was near elevator on highway side. Highway noise can get loud but not as bad as you would think considering how close you are to several lanes of highway. The biggest issue is the noise, especially slamming doors and inconsiderate guests making noise coming in late or leaving early. The doors should be fixed somehow not to slam. That should be relatively easy fix.

But overall I will stay again on my next visit.

Room Tip: Try to get end room on side opposite the highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FORT WORTH TX
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

There was a little bump when we got there 1 of our someone had a hint smoked in a non smoking room and you moved all of us to new rooms without any problems. In fact your whole hotel smelled wonderful, getting to the elevator each day no matter what time of day was like a hint of pine, it was very refreshing. Their food choices for your breakfast was outstanding. Always hot and plenty of choices even for the pickiest of eaters that was something for everyone. The parking garage right next to the hotel was fantastic because we parked on the lower floor and walked to the hotel in the rain and was protected.

Room Tip: This hotel is only 20 minutes from the French Quarters but all kinds of great restaurants and local...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grove
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed because we were cruising out of the Port of New Orleans the following day. This property is located almost exactly half way between the port and the airport. The free shuttle from the airport and to dinner was great and then it was a short cab ride to the port the following day!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Other than doors slamming in the night, my stay was a clean, friendly and a pleasant experience. Rooms were clean, with cleaning staff & front desk staff being friendly and helpful. The breakfast was what you would expect at a hotel. I would stay here again. and plan on it next year for MARDI GRAS!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Metairie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Metairie

Address: 2730 North Causeway Boulevard, Metairie, LA 70002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Metairie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Metairie
#3 Business Hotel in Metairie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Metairie 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Hampton Inn Metairie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Metairie Hotel Metairie
Metairie Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Metairie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.