We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not our usual Hampton stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Metairie

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Metairie to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Metairie
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2730 North Causeway Boulevard, Metairie, LA 70002   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
2X Points Package
Ranked #4 of 21 Hotels in Metairie
Certificate of Excellence
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
85 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Not our usual Hampton stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

There wasn't anything particularly wrong with the hotel- it was a little more run down than I expect but still recognizable as a Hampton Inn. The location is right off the freeway and a main thoroughfare, which wasn't a problem.
Our problem with the stay was the noise level you could hear in the rooms. It was impossible to rest with so many people partying in the rooms around us. The hotel was also full of tours- and more small children than I've seen in one place in a long while. It is within walking distance to a few places to eat- and within a mile or so of a lot of restaurants. It is also very easy access from the airport and to the 10.
We chose to stay here the first couple nights so we could do some plantation touring before we headed to the French Quarter. I wouldn't plan on staying at this particular hotel again- even in the French Quarter we found the rooms a lot quieter at night.

Room Tip: I'm not sure there is a tip for this- even our friends room in another location was noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wyoming_traveler_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Level Contributor
67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

This hotel is wedged in the middle of one of the heaviest traffic areas in the New Orleans metro. Getting into the hotel is a little tricky, but once you're there, the facility is just fine. And, it has a connected parking garage which, again given the area, is very welcome. The room was clean and well-appointed. Staff is friendly and helpful. The only glitch of the trip was that housekeeping was not done cleaning my room upon check-in. That was a minor annoyance, as I just dropped my bags & went along to a function. Breakfast buffet is ho-hum.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BocephusSolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Hotel is next to a busy road. If you miss the exit, you will miss the access to the hotel. Location is not good. Will avoid next time. Happy to see the sign at the lobby about the Jambalaya reception in the evening ... Then it's Jambalaya plus water.

Room Tip: Select even number rooms. The odd number room is very close to the high traffic road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ahu98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
110 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

There are a number or positives about this hotel. The rooms are generally a nice size, the bed is comfortable, everything is clean, refrigerator and micovaves in rooms, breakfast area updated.
I stayed to non consecutive nights this week. The 1st night was an end room on side opposite of the highway and it was perfect. No noise and very comfortable. Second night was near elevator on highway side. Highway noise can get loud but not as bad as you would think considering how close you are to several lanes of highway. The biggest issue is the noise, especially slamming doors and inconsiderate guests making noise coming in late or leaving early. The doors should be fixed somehow not to slam. That should be relatively easy fix.

But overall I will stay again on my next visit.

Room Tip: Try to get end room on side opposite the highway
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michael c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FORT WORTH TX
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

There was a little bump when we got there 1 of our someone had a hint smoked in a non smoking room and you moved all of us to new rooms without any problems. In fact your whole hotel smelled wonderful, getting to the elevator each day no matter what time of day was like a hint of pine, it was very refreshing. Their food choices for your breakfast was outstanding. Always hot and plenty of choices even for the pickiest of eaters that was something for everyone. The parking garage right next to the hotel was fantastic because we parked on the lower floor and walked to the hotel in the rain and was protected.

Room Tip: This hotel is only 20 minutes from the French Quarters but all kinds of great restaurants and local...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CONNIE P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grove
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed because we were cruising out of the Port of New Orleans the following day. This property is located almost exactly half way between the port and the airport. The free shuttle from the airport and to dinner was great and then it was a short cab ride to the port the following day!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Other than doors slamming in the night, my stay was a clean, friendly and a pleasant experience. Rooms were clean, with cleaning staff & front desk staff being friendly and helpful. The breakfast was what you would expect at a hotel. I would stay here again. and plan on it next year for MARDI GRAS!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cuzz G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Metairie hotels
0.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Metairie (New Orleans)
1.9 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#1 of 21 in Metairie
4.5 of 5 stars 424 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Landmark Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Courtyard New Orleans Metairie
1.2 mi away
Marriott New Orleans Metairie at Lakeway
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Metairie New Orleans Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Metairie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Metairie

Address: 2730 North Causeway Boulevard, Metairie, LA 70002
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Louisiana > Metairie
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Metairie
#3 Romantic Hotel in Metairie
#5 Business Hotel in Metairie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Metairie 2.5*
Number of rooms: 111
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the warmth of Southern hospitality in Metairie. Enjoy easy access to downtown New Orleans and Louis Armstrong International Airport from the Hampton Inn Metairie hotel. We offer a 24-hour complimentary shuttle to the airport, a twice daily shuttle to downtown New Orleans, and a local shuttle to any Metairie business, restaurant or attraction within a three-mile radius of the hotel. Walk just a couple of blocks for fabulous shopping at the Lakeside Mall, head downtown to visit the historic French Quarter with its historic architecture, bustling bars, and famous restaurants, catch a game at the Mercedes-Benz Superdome or take the kids to the Audubon Zoo, Aquarium and Insectarium. Our Metairie hotel offers a convenient and comfortable base with all you need for work and relaxation delivered with a personal touch. Settle in to a cozy guest room with free high-speed internet access, a clean and fresh Hampton bed(R), complete with refrigerator and microwave. Set up for your day with Hampton's complimentary hot breakfast or on busy weekdays grab one of our complimentary Hampton On the Run(R) Breakfast Bags, available Monday to Friday, for a quick, healthy meal to go. Keep in touch at the business center and hold a meeting for up to 25 guests in our meeting room. Have fun with the family at the outdoor pool or keep on top of your exercise regime at the fitness center. Sample New Orleans-style cuisine at our Manager's Reception, available Monday to Thursday, and enjoy delicious cookies each afternoon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your Hampton Inn Metairie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Metairie Hotel Metairie
Metairie Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing