We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is a nice hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott New Orleans Metairie at Lakeway

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott New Orleans Metairie at Lakeway to your Saves list
Marriott New Orleans Metairie at Lakeway
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3838 N Causeway Blvd, Metairie, LA 70002 (Formerly New Orleans Lakeside Hotel)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Metairie
Utah
1 review
“This is a nice hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2009

We liked this hotel alot! It's very nice and close to the major freeway that runs into downtown New Orleans. It was about 10 minutes from the airport on the way to Downtown. The service was responsive and the rooms are very nice. It's a Marriott, so it's always top quality. It wasn't very expensive either. We went there for the Sugar Bowl and know people who spent 300 a night on comparable hotels...we paid 130 a night.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    83
    44
    17
    16
See reviews for
50
49
15
76
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mobile, Alabama
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
68 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
227 helpful votes 227 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2009

We booked the Marriott Lakeway for the Sugar Bowl. It was away from the action, but just a cab ride away and the savings made it worthwhile to stay there. The cab averages about $22 to the French Quarter, a little less to the Superdome (based on our experience). There is really little of interest within close walking distance of the hotel.

PARKING: There is $10 self-parking or $15 valet. You can simply pull into the lot across the street, though, and pay hourly. The cost is only $4/day, and if you leave when they aren't collecting any money, then it's free. Other reviewers have said it's the same garage that you'd pay the hotel to park in.

ROOM: We got a great room with lots of windows and a view of Lake Ponchartrain and the Causeway. King bed, sofa, chair, a flat screen TV and plenty of space. It was really a beautiful room, and we were quite pleased. Excellent value for money! The room was well-maintained, spotless, and everything worked! The hotel occupies the 9th through 16th floors of the building, so you'll have a relatively high floor. The bed was really comfy, although for my tastes, the pillows seemed either too big or too small.

INTERNET: They charge $9.95/day, which seems standard in a full-service hotel. But then guest services insisted that I'd have to pay $9.95 again to use a second computer in the room. That is, it would have been $9.95 PER COMPUTER per day! My girlfriend and I each had our own computer, and by the time we found out about the "per computer" charge, it was no longer possible to use just one of them. The hotel employee I spoke with made it seem as if the charge was non-negotiable, so we let it go. But when I got the final bill, we'd only been charged once. So either the guest services operator didn't know what she was talking about, or Marriott adjusted the bill. I'd confirm the actual policy before breaking out a second computer.

SERVICE: I was somewhat disappointed with the service in the hotel. The staff was generally friendly, but there were a few little issues. Obviously, the internet situation was annoying as guest services was either unaware or acting inflexible. The room was also missing a couple of things that are in every other Marriott I've been to lately -- sweeteners for the coffee, and shampoo. It looks as if maid service neglected to make sure the room was fully stocked. We called about the shampoo and were told we could pick up a bottle at the front desk. For something they forgot to put in the room? Usually, you'd get an apology for the oversight and "someone will bring it right up." No big deal, but it was unexpected for a full-service hotel.

POOL: The pictures make it look like a very nice pool. Sadly, it was closed.

BOTTOM LINE: We were very happy with the room and the price we paid for it. We truly appreciate previous reviewers who gave us the scoop on parking, which helped us save a bit more. But the hotel needs to improve its customer service. With that said, I'll probably stay here again..

  • Liked — Beautiful Room with a View
  • Disliked — Customer Service Miscues
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2008

I'll start off by saying that if you are looking for a place to stay to party in New Orleans, this is not your hotel. It is a good 20 minutes outside the city and will cost you an arm and a leg to take a cab. If you are looking for a nice business hotel in Metairie (or outside NO), this is a great property. I stay here multiple times a year since my company is located in the floors above the hotel. (The hotel takes up floors 9-16 of a 33 story building.) The lobby of this hotel and many of the rooms were flooded/destroyed during Katrina. The renovation was great! I sleep like a baby every time I am here- the sheets are so soft, the rooms are huge, the furniture brand-new, and there are nice flat screen TVs and free internet access (including wi-fi) in the rooms. Some of the rooms do not have a very nice view, but you can ask for one with a view of the Lake if that matters to you. I also like that there is a Starbucks coffee shop in the lobby that is open until 10PM every night. As far as parking, don't bother valet parking. The garage is $4 a day, and I have discovered that if you leave "after hours" (after 7PM) the lot is totally unattended and you get out for free. Also, if you are visiting any of the companies in the building, you can get free parking validation. This hotel is also very close to the Metairie Mall, which I love to visit when I am in town. There are also plenty of local restaurants in Metairie where you can get good traditional Louisiana fare, so no need to go into New Orleans unless you feel like taking a drive. Overall, this is a great affordable business hotel!

  • Liked — Clean rooms and comfy beds
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2008

We stayed at this hotel for two nights in mid May and enjoyed this hotel. It is right on the lake, at the end of the causeway. It was a nice Marriott, with clean furnishings and a great bed. My wife loves the linens they use. When I booked it said it could not promise a king-size bed, but I requested it. So on check-in, they said the only king bed rooms were in a handicap-accessible room. So we took that. When we got to the room on the 8th floor, there was a really foul odor coming from the bathroom area. We called down to the front desk and they sent someone up to check it out, but the smell wasn’t because the bathroom was dirty – it was something else, like a sewer smell. They handled the situation well and promptly moved us to another room, but I had to wonder how a maid could have failed to report the problem in the first place. Our second room was also handicap accessible. The bathroom was very spacious and modern with great sandstone like tiles on the floor, but the layout didn’t allow for hardly any counter space for toiletries. They have a very nice fitness gym and pool that is free for hotel guests – though poorly marked from the elevator lobby. No special restaurants in Metairie – one was closed by 8:30 – so we drove about 10-15 minutes to New Orleans for dinner. One thing that was nice was this hotel was very reasonably priced on weekends compared to those in or near the French Quarter, so if you don’t mind a short drive, it’s worth considering. And if you need to take the causeway to the northshore, it’s right there.

  • Liked — Nice rooms, great beds, great health club, location convenient to causeway and access to northshore
  • Disliked — corporate office environment feel, bathroom issues, noisy ventilation system
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south carolina
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2008

I want everyone to know about my recent experience here.
Upon registering they really push valet parking on you. Tell you it's difficult to park and it's a mile away. It's 15.00 a day for valet . Or, park yourself for 10.00 a day. THAT'S NUTS! Here's the deal. The hotel occupies only three floors of this large office complex. The parking deck is also used by all the office people so it's super easy to use...just park and get in the elevator...you're there instantly. And, the parking is only 4.00 a day if you just pay the parking attendent. AND, it's totally free from Friday afternoon til Monday morning. Watch your bill at check out because they just tack it on.
As far as the rooms go...The bathroom was tiny. I had to go all the way in the bathroom and close the door to get in the tub. Other rooms may be bigger.
Marriott is a good place to stay...I just don't like being lied to.

  • Liked — Location, bedding, view
  • Disliked — parking, pool,
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, LA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2008

See for yourself, the rooms are plush. A guest at this hotel should expect a good nights rest on the beds, a nicely appointed room with thoughtful amenities such as a plasma TV and business center, and clean bathrooms with bath & body works toiletries.
What a guest should not expect is a central location to the New Orleans business district and/or French Quarter.
If you are a traveler who is looking for a nice hotel, is going downtown during the day for shopping, and does not plan on staying out late in the city or having dinner, The Marriott Lakeway is for you.
If you are a guest who wants to park the car and walk to the great attractions New Orleans is known for, Marriot Lakeway is not for you. A taxi from Canal St to the hotel will run you $30 without traffic. It will run you around $40 from the hotel to downtown without traffic.

Stayed March 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Clemente, California
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2008

Top notch Marriott. Must have been renovated not long ago. I stayed one night after flying into New Orleans before heading to my final destination. Paid $170.

Room was great, a nice 15th floor room with a view of Lake Ponchartrain. It is set up great for a business person. Comfortable, adjustable desk chair, special electrical-ethernet-audio outlet panel, and the desk swiveled out nicely from the wall so that the TV could be viewed. Great 32 inch (or so) flat panel TV.

The bed was great!!

Didn't seem to be any restaurants nearby, so I ate at the bar. I had a Marriott Burger, and it was really, really good as recommended by the bar tender.

  • Liked — The bed, 32 inch flat panel TV, newness.
  • Disliked — No nearby restaurants
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott New Orleans Metairie at Lakeway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott New Orleans Metairie at Lakeway

Address: 3838 N Causeway Blvd, Metairie, LA 70002 (Formerly New Orleans Lakeside Hotel)
Location: United States > Louisiana > Metairie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Metairie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott New Orleans Metairie at Lakeway 3.5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover an oasis of luxury along the scenic shores of Lake Pontchartrain, at the New Orleans Marriott Metairie at Lakeway. Winner of the AAA Four Diamond Award and 2012 TripAdvisor Award of Excellence, we set higher standards of service for New Orleans. As Metairie's first full-service Marriott Hotel, we merge the grandeur of the past with the technology and comfort of today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Marriott New Orleans Metairie at Lakeway reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott New Orleans Metairie At Lakeway Hotel Metairie
Marriott Metairie
Metairie Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott New Orleans Metairie at Lakeway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.