We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hamburger heaven” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Phil's Grill

Phil's Grill
3020 Severn Ave, Metairie, LA 70002-4817
504-324-9080
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #42 of 437 Restaurants in Metairie
Cuisines: American, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Takeout
Mississippi
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Hamburger heaven”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

If you like burgers this will be the place for you. You order like a sushi bar (build your own), just mark the meat, the toppings, the sides and they come by and pick your order up. Understand this is strictly a burger place although they do have turkey burgers, tuna but mostly burgers. Very casual but a fun place to eat.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    11
    4
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
bfleb433
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great Hamburgers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

This should be considered a hamburger restaurant. Their claim to fame is the ability to build your own burger. This not a low cal place. That said if you want a burger this is the place to go.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
Top Contributor
206 reviews 206 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Really, just so-so.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

For all the press, it's just food. Not particularly inspiring, and a bit pricy for all that. Daughter dragged us out on reports, but she agrees, only so-so. Excuse me, Yahoo has erased my Bookmarks Toolbar again. Yahoo is becoming the enemy of the individual. Seek revenge.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
2 reviews
“awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

it was delicious and unique! but only sells burgers. local atmosphere. conveniently across from the mall

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metairie, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Closed get out!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

My family tried to eat at Phil's Grill. We had heard nothing but rave reviews from friends. One night after we left the mall we headed over. We walked in behind a party of 4. They seated the first party while we waited. Then nothing for about five min., while the waitress/hostess found 3 other people and whispered something to them. The last person she spoke to came up and said, "Sorry we're closed you have to leave." We were really embarrassed and mad! Friends told us the burger was so good we couldn't let this stop us from trying it. So about a year later we went to the location on Hickory and found the service there better but still mediocre and we have definitely had better burgers! I hear they have a new cook and so we might try again but it's a last chance!

  • Visited December 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Phil's Grill also viewed

 

Been to Phil's Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phil's Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.