We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Tour” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Jean Lafitte Swamp Tours

Jean Lafitte Swamp Tours
6601 Leo Kerner Lafitte Parkway, Marrero, LA 70072
504-587-1719
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 8 things to do in Marrero
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Salem, Oregon
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

We had so much fun on this tour. We saw a lot of wildlife in addition to the gators.Jason was our guide,he pointed out a lot of things, slowed down so everyone could take pictures,and had a very friendly personality. The best part was getting to hold a small gator and take pictures with it!

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    195
    46
    10
    6
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
B.C.,Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“alligators”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

This 1 1/2 hour boat tour in the Louisiana swamp was a high light for us. Our Tour guide, Jason, is humorous, knowledgeable and proud of his "backyard" . We saw many birds and animals, including alligators, nutria, armadillo, wild pig. Great value.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Good tour, bad company”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

I liked the tour, we saw what we expected: Gators. We even saw a turtle and we were appreciated about the beautiness of the area. BUT: For this company, all is about money. Of course, they have to earn money, this is OK. But you can also care about money AND animals. First of all, how the tourguide told about the animals was disrespectful. The major reason for my bad review and my recommendation to not book the swamp tour at this company is the environment of their animals. They have a few gators and a turtle in a very small cage. Also chicken in an even smaller cage. They do have enough space to make an animal-friendly environment - they just don't care about. When I asked the tourguide, why they don't make a bigger cage for the chicken, he answered: "we use them only for the eggs, they don't need more space". Terrible.
Conclusion: Book a swamp tour, but not this one! There are enough other vendors, so if you like animals, look for another one!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Amazing trip, great tour guide”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

We took a small airboat tour and because of the time of year there were only the 3 of us on it. Brandon who took us out was an amazing guide, he'd grown up in the area and played there as a kid so knew everything there was to know, about conservation, the animals, the flora & fauna and the swamps. He had a great sense of humour and really made the trip with stories about the area. The boat can get you in to all the small areas and it's a great ride. Everyone is really friendly with one guy giving me his coat so I didn't get cold (we'd gone on a particularly cold day for NOLA) I'd thoroughly recommend this trip especially on a small airboat.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“This is a good tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

I enjoyed this tour! My daughter had bought the tickets prior to my visit....I was thinking Swamp Tour..you have got to be kidding! I t was very enjoyable.The guide was absolutely great ,answered all the guest question without hesitation. Very quick to point out everything.Friendly,relaxed tour,explained all the wild life. I would take this tour again.I you have children between the ages of 10-14 this will be educational for them.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jean Lafitte Swamp Tours also viewed

 

Been to Jean Lafitte Swamp Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jean Lafitte Swamp Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.