We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rip's Seafood Restaurant

Rip's Seafood Restaurant
1917 Lakeshore Dr, Mandeville, LA 70448
(985) 727-2829
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Rip's Seafood Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #16 of 138 Restaurants in Mandeville
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: South Louisiana Seafood cuisine
New Orleans, Louisiana
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great view”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

This restaurant has a great view of Lake Pontchartrain. The food is just average. I really enjoy sitting on the deck watching the boats on the lake. It's ashamed the food is just average!! and the service is terrible!! We have eaten here about ten times and the service is as bad every time. We go back because we like the view and we know what we are getting into, but I leave every time complaining how bad the service and how long the wait time for the food is!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    31
    14
    7
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mandeville, LA
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great food and great views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

On the shore of Lake Ponchartrain, Rips has survived Katrina and come back better than ever. It is also possible to dine outside and under the main restaurant.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pearl River, Louisiana, United States
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Good Food, Great View!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

Wandered in on a Saturday afternoon. Had the lunch special- 2 small fried soft shell crabs with a delicious sauce on top. Reasonable price, good service. Cold beer and a view of Lake Pontchartrain from the deck. Good local spot!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lacombe, Louisiana, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“great venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Awesome to sit on the deck overlooking the lake get the fried green tomatoes the salmon is always good

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Unforgettable sunset, Cozy, and Good Seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

On recommendations, our group of 14 visited Rip's on a weekend night just as the sun was setting. Our group shared the onion rings (good), fried green tomatoes (topped with shrimp and sauce - very good), calamari (typical, but good), and catfish bites (very good).

Their cesaer salad was very good and flavorful. For dinner, I had a Grouper topped with a cream sauce and shrimp and steamed veggies. It was fresh, outstanding, and perfectly cooked. My husband had a salmon special and he liked his as well (though not as much as mine). My daughter had the spaghetti and the meatballs are HUGE. The spaghetti meal could easily feed 2, if not 3 (if 3 kids). My son had the soft crab and really enjoyed his meal as well.

We were all too full to have desert. We had a pleasant waitress and a co-waiter helped. Service was quick enough considering our party size.

I'd really rather give this a 4.5 of 5, but it's not possible, so I gave it a 4.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rip's Seafood Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Rip's Seafood Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rip's Seafood Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.