We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely house with lots to see” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Vyne

The Vyne
Vyne Road, Sherborne St. John, Basingstoke RG24 9HL , England
01256 883858
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Historic Sites, Landmarks/ Points of Interest, Landmarks
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Built in the early 16th century, this historic mansion features a chapel with Elizabethan glass, a Palladian-style staircase in plaster and carved wood, and many rooms with original paneling, furniture, family portraits, tapestries and porcelain.
UK
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Lovely house with lots to see”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

We have visited The Vyne several times as members of The National Trust due to the lovely house and beautiful gardens. There is lots to see inside and lots of walks outside. The cafe is a little overpriced, but not too bad for a cuppa. Would definitely visit again - the Tudor interior never ceases to amaze.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    101
    19
    8
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit this Christmas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I read this review before I went this weekend but decided I’d go anyway and I’m very glad I did. I don’t know when the reviewer Janab007 went but it certainly wasn’t this year as Saturday 1st Dec was their first day of Christmas opening.

My family enjoyed it enormously, including father Christmas in his grotto in the garden. He was very good with my son and the grotto looked lovely.
We also loved the elves workroom in the house and all the other decorated rooms.
There was certainly more than just one tree.

I would also disagree with the entry price being a rip off. We were charged £3.95 each for entry which covered grounds AND house. Far from a rip off in my opinion.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
35 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Never ever at Christmas time. A rip off!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

We used to go to The Vyne occasionally for a walk during the summer. The grounds are pleasant and the manor house looks lovely. But the inside of the house is poorly equipped and looks sad. When we saw advertising for special Christmas event, we got excited and paid the expensive entrance fee hoping to have a lovely time. What a shock. The only Christmas decoration was a sad boring tree and nothing else. We were so upset that we were lied to by FALSE advertising and were ripped off we demanded tickets refund. Never experienced such a disgusting rip off in any other continental country than twice in Hampshire. And have to say we weren't the only people thinking this.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
reading
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
55 attraction reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“lovely house beautiful grounds”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

It was quite a walk from the car park but there was granny transport for those unable to walk there was also a small shop at the entrance and a ticket office later on. There are lovely trees. gardens and a lake in addition to the house and the outbuildings . There were also chickens in the walled garden but they were on holiday (perhaps because it was half term they were skiing in the Alps). The house is very interesting for people interested in the tudor period but a previous occupant had knocked down loads of it ,he wasn't around to complain to as he had died a few hundred years before.The only slight down side of the visit was the cafe. I think £1.10 for a tiny ghost biscuit was a bit much as was some of the other cafe offerings also the staff were a bit amateurish and the layout of the cafe was a bit askew: no plates by the cakes ,cutlery at the exit of the tea room, although people had put their dirty trays in the rack it was full to overflowing . I got the feeling that they weren't very interested in their customers, even though it wasn't busy at all.
The gift shop was good and thoughtfully stocked especially with presents for chirstmas.
Finally don't miss the big fish in the moat there are some massive carp in there. well worth a visit

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Peace and tranquility”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Love this place. have a NT membership so can just come for a cup of tea or a stroll in the grounds. The house is ok,, but seems to lack a lot of historic interest, but the grounds more than make up for this. There are 3 different walks covering different distances, but there are woods, gardens and a lake to walk around and this can't be beaten on a sunny day. In the walled garden there are picnic tables, childrens sit and ride toys and a croquet lawn. meet the chickens is chaotic fun and the produce grown can be bought too. The cafe sells good soups, cakes and cream teas, plus meals (which I haven't sampled as yet) Small shop and plant sale areas. Good clean loos and large car park. Would recommend for Brits but not sure what a foreih=gn tourist would get out of visit if for historic reasons other than a great example of a typical country pile!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Vyne also viewed

Basingstoke, Hampshire
Basingstoke, Hampshire
 
Basingstoke, Hampshire
 

Been to The Vyne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Vyne, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.