We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a nice peaceful hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Wellington Arms

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Wellington Arms to your Saves list
The Wellington Arms
A35, Stratfield Turgis RG27 0AS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
far north
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“a nice peaceful hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We stayed at the Wellington Arms over the May 2013 bank holiday.
The rooms we were allocated at the rear of the hotel on the upper floor were clean, airy and bright and we heard no road noise at all during the night.
We were woken up each day by the birds singing which was delightful,
The staff at the hotel could not have been more polite or courteous.
We did not eat in the restaurant in the hotel, we only ate breakfast and they provided a good selection and a well cooked breakfast was presented daily.
There is ample parking at the front and rear of the hotel.
It was an enjoyable stay and am sure we will return again in the future.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear of the hotel are nice and quite
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    51
    22
    6
    7
See reviews for
21
47
3
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We met at this restaurant for Sunday lunch with friends, having heard good reports about it. It was, quite frankly, the worst Sunday lunch we have ever experienced and we were highly embarrassed that we had recommended the place to our friends.

1. We had booked a table for 4 people a month in advance. My husband and I arrived at the venue earlier than the booking time, and being disappointed with the table that had been reserved for us ( near the kitchen door and next to a large group) requested that we be moved to the dining room on the other side. We were told that all other tables were reserved, although they were not yet occupied and two tables for four people were not even set. The receptionist said she would see if she could try and move us but never reappeared to confirm nor deny our request. Sadly, this set the scene for what was to follow.

2. I ordered a pre lunch gin and tonic. This turned up in a large glass with all of the tonic already poured into it thus drowning the gin. Mixing a g and t is a personal taste and should always be served with the gin and bottle of tonic ready for the customer to mix to their taste. I asked for more gin to be added and on commenting on their serving method was told "that is how we do it here". In addition a classic g and t should be served with a slice of lemon, not lime.

3. On ordering our food, having had the menus for some time prior to placing our order, we were told, without a hint of apology, that there was no roast lamb available that day. This should have been pointed out to us as soon as we were given the menu. That way we could have chosen an alternative meal at our leisure instead of feeling pressured into choosing something else on the spot, whilst being made to feel a nuisance.

4. Food - the quality of the starters were average. However, things took a downward spiral when the main meals arrived. Roast beef was served without any roast potatoes, apparently having been forgotten and were provided separately on request. Roast pork was served with no crackling as stated on the menu, which disappointed our friend. Our friends duck breast was served with greens that were not cooked and with a large stale potato instead of the fondant potato described on the menu. My roast chicken was accompanied by inedible roast potatoes that appeared to have been old roast potatoes that had then been fried. This was completely off putting and as a result I didn't eat any of my main meal and my husband and friends ate little of theirs.

5. I went to the receptionist and relayed what was by now a catalogue of disasters and asked to see the manager. The receptionist then returned to our table herself without the manager and said that as we hadn't eaten all of our food the manger would give us a 25% reduction on the food bill. I said this was unacceptable and re-iterated my request for the manager himself to come and see me. When the manager himself appeared, he firstly annoyed us all by kneeling by our table. This is patronising and unprofessional. On hearing our complaints, the manager seemed rather unconcerned, offered to wipe all of the food from our bill and offered us complimentary puddings. None of our party felt inclined to risk a pudding so we cant comment on their quality, or otherwise.

6. Having said that we would like to finish our drinks, pay for them and leave, the manager walked off without making any attempt to clear our plates from the table. It took some time for the drinks bill to arrive - and when it did it was accompanied by four mint humbugs - which at least made us laugh! We waited quite some time and had to ask twice for the bill to be attended to. We asked for an explanation as to why it had taken so long to attend to the bill but this was never provided, with a different waiter returning to process the payment.

In addition to the above failings, the place itself is looking tired and in need of re-decoration. It such a shame as the property itself is beautiful and could be a very special place indeed with new décor, a different management team and professional chefs.

Needless to say we will not be returning, and neither will our friends. You can decide for yourself.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yateley
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We have taken to meeting for a family breakfast every month or two at the Wellington Arms. The setting is pretty, access is easy, breakfast is good and the staff and service exemplary.

I phoned ahead yesterday as I fancied kippers for breakfast. I was told that they are not on the menu and arrived to find that kippers had been bought just for me. It gets no better!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

This used to be a regular stopping point for both evening meals and Sunday lunches. Selection, portion sizes, service and an overall drop in the quality of food in recent visits mean that it's no longer one to recommend. It's never been cheap but the prices no longer justify. A real lack of charm in the place these days too. Very disappointed.

Stayed April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Radstock, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Stayed for a couple of nights after booking through Late Rooms.
The place really has the WOW factor as you pull up, it being one of the original gatehouses to the Duke of Wellington's estate.
The original building has been extended at the rear, not in keeping with the original but thankfully also not visible from the road. Our room was in the extension as I had requested a quiet room and was not the biggest I have ever stayed in but it had all we needed including bottled water, tea, hairdryer etc.
Although not actually dirty, there were water marks on the shower screen and the bath, which was a bit offputting.
The waiting and reception staff were all very helpful and friendly and nothing was too much trouble, I cannot fault them at all.
I felt the restaurant was expensive at £70+ for two though and somewhat disappointing as they did not have either of the choices my partner requested. The food was very tasty and good quality but some of it came on wooden boards which made it quite hard to keep on the 'plate'. We ordered at eight but that evening the bar (and thus the restaurant) was closed for the night between half nine and ten which meant we were shifted to the breakfast room to finish our drinks...not brilliant.
I would have been much less complimentary had we paid the apparent full rate of £130 per night.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We have eaten here many times over the last few years and the food is always of very good quality, the service is great and is a lovely building.

For the price of a meal you could easily spend this is a normal pub for lunch,.. once of the best places in Basingstoke to grab some good quality lunch

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hook, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Long day - not well organised to get to Hampshire suite you were sent outside on the gravel and road.
Wedding Ceremony in room, then kicked out back into main hotel (again via road) where hotel guests were there having lunch so wedding guests were in their way.
Waited 2 hours to get back into room for sit down meal.
Beef was so rare it was like the cow was running around my plate, vegetables were cold and yorkshire pudding was so rubbery i could bounce it from the hotel to Reading.
After meal, kicked out again back into main hotel - again nearly 2 hour wait to get back in for evening "disco".
They advertise themselves as Wheelchair friendly - How?
This is a lie - even going throught he main hotel the wheelchair had to go through 4 fire doors!!
There is no way this would have been approved by the DDA.
If your wedding party has fairly large guests also the toilets are very small/narrow.
Ladies, do not wear high heels either as the chairs are completely covered and if you "puncture" the covers on the legs of the chair you will end up almost breaking you neck as you will end up going head first into the chair in front of you.

Room Tip: Do not take wheelchairs to this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Wellington Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wellington Arms

Address: A35, Stratfield Turgis RG27 0AS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Stratfield Turgis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Stratfield Turgis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your The Wellington Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wellington Arms Hotel Basingstoke
Wellington Arms Basingstoke

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Wellington Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.