We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An out of the way gem worth every penny !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Trout Point Lodge of Nova Scotia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Trout Point Lodge of Nova Scotia to your Saves list
Trout Point Lodge of Nova Scotia
4.5 of 5 Inn   |   189 Trout Point Road, East Kemptville, Nova Scotia B5A 5X9, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Halifax, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“An out of the way gem worth every penny !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We enjoyed 4 nights in a comfy fireplace room . No problem finding Trout Point from the directions in the email confirmation . This truly is a relaxing and rejuvenating spot ! I loved the Occitane amenities and the big soaker tub in the room ! It is a small staff and you really get to know the wonderful people who work at the Lodge . The evening meal service in the small dining room was soooo elegant and the food wonderful , everytjhing fresh and bursting with falvour! It ' s our new fav spot in Nova Scotia!

Room Tip: Rooms on the river side of the building are preferable - that's in the main lodge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    15
    5
    7
    7
See reviews for
18
90
3
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

The hotel was very unique and beautiful. Located in aremote location 45 minutes east of Yarmouth. The setting was beautiful.

The rooms were clean and the small staff provided excellent service. Dinner was a set 5 course dinner but there were no selections to choose from. Guests with special dietary needs were accommodated as much as possible. There was a flutist and a saxophone player providing wonderful music from 7 p.m. on.

We didn't do our research before booking (in the car looking for a 4 or 5 star hotel in Yarmouth area) or we would have know the details of the stay (e.g. one dinner menu, the price tag).
We were told the room price when we booked but were weren't aware of the details e.g. food prices, set menu, 18% gratuity....

Definitely a place you want to research before booking your stay unless you have unlimited funds. If you do and if you are looking to get away from it all in a beautiful setting, this is the place. This is definitely a Small Luxury Hotel (SLH).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights in the Tree house room. Our sat nav (TOM TOM) took us right to the front door. This is a spectacular hide away resort, on the edge of the Tobeatic wilderness. We arrived in Nova Scotia for the first time and planned to visit Halifax and other part but the lodge and its amenities are so relaxing we spent the whole of our trip there. Evening meals were excellent, very tasty, creole style soups, fantastic fish and delicious deserts. The menus are planned to perfection, there is choice but this is not extensive although I thing the chefs will cater for specific diets. Plenty to do during the day, walking, wild swimming and canoeing. You can have a guide for the activities but I woudl recommend checking the price before you go and be aware that there is an 18 per cent service charge on everything, plus local taxes. The hotel arranged a massage for us on the last day, which we had in our room and once again the service was excellent. Our room was spacious with a very comfortable king-sized bed, nice bathroom, cosy seating for sitting reading. There is a good hot tub and sauna and this is a great place to get to know the other guests in late afternoon.

There are a few minor niggles... there was no full length mirror, which is a shame as its nice to get dressed for dinner; the hair dryer was poor quality (sounds picky but when you have long hair which takes 40 minutes to dry with a good one this was a very an irritation in the grand scale of things).

Room Tip: a room in the main lodge - awesome - the Tree house room has a lovely view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macau, China
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights at Trout Point while travelling with friends. The Lodge is not easily located, though our GPS system worked well. The wilderness location, on the banks of a swift flowing stream, is idyllic. We stayed in the Granite Suite, which was a huge room with a wonderful open fireplace, and large separate bathroom, with spa. The suite has a small attached sitting room, so that TV viewing doesn't need to compete with conversation in the main room.
We ate all meals at the Lodge, which was certainly no hardship. The food was of a uniformly high standard, and made liberal use of produce picked from the Lodge's vegetable garden.
We walked a couple of trails which are marked. They were largely overgrown, and the ground soft underfoot, so some preparation is needed before venturing out. There is, though, a boardwalk which enables comfortable walking in the near area to the Lodge.
Dinner was followed by a gathering at the large fire pit out back. That provided a good opportunity to converse with other travelers, and swap tips. The music provided during and after dinner was truly excellent, and not intrusive.
Michael provided us excellent service throughout. We were fortunate to spend some time with Vaughan, on of the 3 owners, who has a strong interest in anthropology, and has some great stories to tell. We didn't see much wild life, but that in no way detracted from the experience. The Lodge is not only a wonderful experience, but great value.

Room Tip: There are both upstairs and downstairs rooms. A room facing the stream is preferable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

My wife and I recently stayed two nights at Trout Point Lodge. The location is wonderful - very isolated on the south-western edge of the Tobeatic Wilderness Area. The accommodations in the lodge were spacious, quiet, clean, and included all amenities. The lodge also had a comfortable lounge, library and two dining areas, as well as numerous outdoor benches and chairs, plus a hot tub and saunas. Swimming, kayaking, canoeing, hiking and mountain biking opportunities were are available, as well as guided astronomy excursions on request. The staff were all courteous, friendly and very helpful. We ate all our meals at the lodge and were overwhelmed by the cuisine: sea food and lodge-grown or -foraged vegetables and herbs.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Beautiful lodge, great service, wonderful area... Need I say More? Stayed from Friday Night to Sunday Morning. Breakfast was amazing, didn't have lunch there, Supper was wonderful. Live classical music being played in the lounge area (though could hear it through out (and out side) the lodge.

WARNING: if traveling from hwy 103 to the 203 after passing all the houses near(ish) the lodge the road gets VERY bad, some deep ruts (I bottomed out on the second set)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Ok, let's get something straight right away: for those if you familiar with Relais & Chateaux properties, the Trout Point Lodge will strike a discordant note. This is a lodge IN THE MIDDLE OF NOWHERE so if your looking for every element to be perfect, no speck of dust to be found, windows to shine like crystal ... you will be disappointed. But if you think of an Adirondack lodge, this will be at the top of the range. The rooms are a bit rough, as you'd expect in a lodge, but large and plenty comfortable. Service is gracious across-the-board, if not polished and professional -- again not a problem if you accept you're in the wilderness, not Paris. Dinner service demonstrated this rough-around-the-edginess because it started at 8:00 rather than the described 7:30, and courses were served at slightly too long intervals for most people's tastes. Overall we found the quality of the food to be very good -- for a dining room in the woods -- but not up to what you'll find in an urban environment. Just how remote is the Trout Point Lodge? Well, after exiting the highway we drove almost 60 km to the lodge without passing a single vehicle in either direction.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Trout Point Lodge of Nova Scotia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trout Point Lodge of Nova Scotia

Address: 189 Trout Point Road, East Kemptville, Nova Scotia B5A 5X9, Canada
Location: Canada > Nova Scotia > Southwest Nova Scotia > Municipality of Argyle > East Kemptville
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Trout Point Lodge of Nova Scotia 4.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A member of Small Luxury Hotels of the World in Atlantic Canada's largest wilderness area, the lodge offers unpretentious gourmet dining, spacious guests rooms, a 2-bedroom cottage, and outdoor recreation including canoeing, river swimming, star-gazing, kayaking, and hiking. Guides available. Trout Point Lodge is rated 5 stars by Canada Select. Only children over 13 years of age are allowed on the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Trout Point Lodge of Nova Scotia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trout Point Lodge Of Nova Scotia Hotel Kemptville

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trout Point Lodge of Nova Scotia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.