We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bare minimum of everything” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn

Save Saved
You added Americas Best Value Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   921 Martin Luther King (US Hwy 171 N), Lake Charles, LA 70601 (Formerly Econo Lodge Inn & Suites)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 28 Hotels in Lake Charles
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Bare minimum of everything”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

We stayed here 3 nights and each we had to ask for enough towels for 3 people and walk down to the office to get them. There are no ice buckets in the rooms. No ice machines on the entire property and you have to walk down to the office to get a bag of ice. The breakfast was the cheapest things they could find and they ran out of coffee every morning before we could get any. The alternative of orange juice was so sour that I spit it out.
The owners are cheap. Plain and simple. A tiny bit more money for a few standard amenities, and it would have been a great stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lakecharlesabvi, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for the feedback you provided us with. We were very glad to hear that doing few more little things would have made your stay more pleasant. We hope to serve you again in future.
Regards,
Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    8
    5
    2
    5
See reviews for
9
8
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sun Valley, Nevada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We rolled into Lake Charles around midnight, exhausted and desperate for a shower. After finding a couple other places full, we decided to just settle for the next one we saw. This was a huge mistake.
While we could deal with the disgusting, broken shower head, the dirty toilet, the dirt and dust and filth all around the room, the broken safety latch, the last guest`s shirt having been left in the bathroom, and the fact that the bottoms of our feet turned black after walking barefoot through the room once - the friendly little roach that popped up in the bathroom right when we were about to turn in for the night was the last straw. We packed up our stuff and ran out of there after less than two hours. The front desk clerk would only offer a partial refund, which we did not find acceptable.
I highly urge anyone considering this place to do what we ended up doing, and sleep in your car at a rest stop. You will be far more comfortable and clean that way.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Stayed at the Lake Charles, La location. The PICTURES ONLINE WERE NOT TAKEN HERE! I didnt expect the 4 Seasons or the Marriott but come on people, can we have clean and sanitary? NOT HERE. Everything was dingy, holes in bed spread, toilet must have slow internal leak because it started and stopped running all night, went out to get pizza came back and killed 2 roaches (1 on fridge and 1 on the sink), bathtub bottom dingy, bottom of fridge door was rusted so badly it looked like barnacles had attached to it. Even the ice bucket had grey/black in it and the tray it was sitting on had cigarette burns. I took pictures because friends would not believe how bad it was. The bed squeaked, the room smelled like a puppy, and there were little pieces of trash in the corners. They obviously didn't even bother to vaccum between guests. Never again. Positives: air conditioning blew cold, the water in the sink didn't take long to get warm, and the mirrors were clean. I'd rather NO ROACHES.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mississippi
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

The front desk clerk was extremely ice and helpful with filling us in on wweekende events and where to park when we attended those. The room was clean and in a convenient location. We are actually coming back into town and have another room reserved for this weekend.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lakecharlesabvi, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback, we are delighted that your stay was enjoyable, and we do hope to be of service to you again in the future.
Kind Regards
Manager...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

We stayed here while doing the Creole Nature Trail. Hotel is right off the interstate and had several fast food rest, conveniece stores & Walmart on the main street. Nice king bed with a sofa sleeper. Fridge/micro and flat screen TV. Only negative was no in room coffee. Paid less than $50 a night with coupon from the tourist bureau and the free breakfast had coffee, juice, cereal and milk, danish, oatmeal, grits and 2 kinds of pancakes, and toast. Good way to start the day and man at the front desk was very nice.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lakecharlesabvi, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for the positive feedback you provided us with. We were very glad to hear that you were pleased with the service and our hotel facilities during your stay with us.
Regards, Manager...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hillcountry
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Big mistake. If you're a hitchhiker kicked off the freeway and have $65 this is the place for you. The dirtiest, darkest, must disgusting carpeting I've ever seen. I sneezed for 2 days afterward. The absolute worst primitive Medieval "free" breakfast you can imagine. Truly, if you want to spend 8-9 hours in a 3rd world country this is the place for you.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lakecharlesabvi, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you for your feedback regarding your visit, we welcome both positive and negative feedback in order for us to continually improve as we aim to offer the best level of service possible. We obviously failed in a key area for your stay, namely the cleanliness. This is very disappointing, and I offer my sincerest apologies.
Regards Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port A
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Stopped here on a Saturday night while traveling through. The man at the desk was very nice and the room was very nice. The room was clean and towels were clean. I even got a lesson on history from the desk clerk on how Contraband Days was celebrated and why. Everything was good about the stay here except the 9 AM knock on the door from housekeeping asking if and when we would be checking out. What's up with that? Couldn't they have waited until they saw the room empty or at least until check out time? We didn't like the disturbance.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lakecharlesabvi, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback, we are delighted that your stay was enjoyable, and we do hope to be of service to you again in the future.
Kind Regards Manager...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Americas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn

Address: 921 Martin Luther King (US Hwy 171 N), Lake Charles, LA 70601 (Formerly Econo Lodge Inn & Suites)
Location: United States > Louisiana > Lake Charles
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 28 Hotels in Lake Charles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Newly Renovated Americas Best Value Inn Lake Charles, conveniently located off of US-171 and I-10. Our exterior corridor hotel is only minutes from the Lake Charles Historic District, Isle of Capri Casino, L'auberge Du LAC Casino, Prien Lake Mall, and French Quarter Antique Mall. We are also close to several museums including Mardi Gras Museum, Imperial Calcasieu Museum, Children's Museum, and Brimstone Museum. Nearby colleges include McNeese State University and Sowela Technical Community College. Enjoy a delicious meal at one of the restaurants located within five miles of our hotel such as Cajun Cafe, Outback Steakhouse, and Steamboat on the Lake. Whether traveling through or staying for a relaxing getaway, Americas Best Value Inn Lake Charles offers ideal accommodations, affordable rates, and a friendly 24-hour front desk staff to help make your stay enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Sabre Hospitality Solutions , BookIt.com, Tingo, Odigeo, Otel, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Econo Lodge Lake Charles
Lake Charles Econo Lodge

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;