We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient, Cheap and Comfortable” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Richmond Suites Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Richmond Suites Hotel to your Saves list
The Richmond Suites Hotel
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2600 Moeling Street, Highway 171 & I-10, Lake Charles, LA 70615   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 29 Hotels in Lake Charles
Ms Gulfcoast
Level Contributor
53 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Convenient, Cheap and Comfortable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The best things about this place was the big room, big inviting pool, comfortable beds and fluffy towels. Easy access from I-10, the bathroom has been updated, the room smelled fresh, and the desk personnel was friendly and efficient. The worse things were the place was dated, the breakfast was skimpy, needed some paint touch ups and the hall smelled musky. If you need a convenient, cheap, comfortable place to sleep while traveling this place is it but I don't think I would care to stay for a week.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    19
    7
    8
    34
See reviews for
29
18
4
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Kansas
Level Contributor
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

My wife and I came to Lake Charles on business, the first hotel we stayed at was horrid. Then we found Richmond Suites, and what a gem it was. Ms. Karen was so helpful and welcoming that she literally changed our view of the town. We had a problem with our first room and Ms Karen and Ms Tisha from housekeeping went above and beyond to make us comfortable. We were so happy that it's now the only hotel that I would stay at here in Lake Charles. The amenities have a few issues but the friendly and helpful staff more the make up for the lack. To top it all off the rates are more then reasonable. But the staff is by far the most welcoming and helpful I have ever encountered. Definitely a diamond in the rough, with a homey feel. I would recommend staying here to anyone. Always ask for Ms Karen and you'll always have a good experience...

Room Tip: Inside SKL suites are awesome especially poolside
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houma, Louisiana
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

I made a reservation. And cancelled 2 days after on 3 sepearate roooms. I HAD to cancell they still
charged me for it. If they had warned me and said we can't cancel your rooms I would had apriciated that so thank you for nothing.

Room Tip: Make real sure you want to go and no upcomings can pop up or don't even bother.
See more room tips
Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake C, General Manager at The Richmond Suites Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Mr.Sergio Sanchez - while reviewing your account with Expedia you made a reservation on July 20 for 1 room for 2 adults for 1 night and then on July 22, 2013 you had Expedia cancel the reservation for your arrival on July 27, 2013. Therefore there was NO room charge since it was cancelled thru Expedia. Should you have any questions please consult with Expedia. Now with regards to your 2nd reservation for the same date of arrival it was made on July 20 and cancelled thru Expedia on July 22, again NO room charge, You can contact your booking source which is Expedia for any further information since they made your reservation and also cancelled the reseravtion within the guidelines of our contract from Expedia. Thank you for brining this matter to our attention and I am sure Expedia will correct any issues that you have. David Bartlett, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

First off I don't know why anyone would write a bad review about this establishment....EVER!!
It's got two of the sweetest personalities I've ever had the pleasure of meeting...Mrs.Karen is phenomenal & Mrs.Tisha { head of housekeeping}...she's an awesome woman who does an outstanding job making sure you are happy & have everything in your room to make your stay easier...it's more like an apartment complex than a hotel..
My husband & I have spent 5 nights there in two trips just this month...and we love everything about Richmond Suites....
Keep up the awesomeness guys..
Positively awesome place to have a comfortable experience with poolside grilling...awesome balconies/ patios...huge pool and amazing suites...
You guys ROCK!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake C, front desk at The Richmond Suites Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind and helpful reviews, We would like to welcome you back at any time when you are in the Lake Charles area.


Sincerely,
Hotel Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

I'm a retired U. S. Marine and in my hotel stays around the world I have lived in some trashy places. I rank this place as one of the 3 worst places I have stayed. This place has no working ice machines. You must go to the office for ice which is in a trash can with a bowl covering it.The coke machines are in very dark areas at the end of the hall. If you do spend a night bring two cans of Raid to kill roaches. The pictures on the web are very very misleading. The rooms that I looked in are filty. My wife booked this crappy place and she is still grossed out. People who call this place nice or quality I would hate to see what they call trashy. Those reviews must have come from the owner.

Room Tip: look for another place or just sleep in your car
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Universal City, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

After picking up a lodging pamphlet at the Louisiana Welcome Center, we called to see if we could get a room for the night at the Richmond Suites Hotel. We stayed the night in a clean but not fancy place but ah, the customer service is definitely 5-star. As soon as we arrived home the next day, I discovered I left my expensive (orthopedic type) pillow at the hotel. I immediately called the desk and spoke with Karen Hebert. She called house keeping and found my pillow, then called me back to tell me that she had it. I asked her if she would mail it and said I would be happy to pay for the shipping. She did ship it much to my delight. You are priceless, Karen.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake C, Front desk at The Richmond Suites Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
On behalf or Richmond Suites we would like to thank you for your kind and thoughtful review. If you ever find yourself in or around the Lake Charles area please come back and stay with us.

Sincerely,
hotel management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

I had reservations for a Friday & Saturday nite, called on Thursday & spoke to a man to add the Thursday nite & was told room was available. We we got there Thursday afternoon around 5 the lady behind the desk kept telling me I only had the room for Thursday & Friday and it wasn't available for the Saturday. She asked who I spoke to & when I told her it was a man she said there was no man that worked behind the desk. I went to get my phone to show her the # I called and then she said she moved things around & the room was available. I had also asked for a downstairs room poolside. I wasn't told until I arrived thefe that all those rooms were booked & would be for the next 2 yrs!! I di get a downstairs room as requested but in a building away from the pool. With 2 small children it wasn't very convenient. The room was nice & clean. We were provided with plenty of clean towels. There were lots of young kids there running up & down the halls. Apparently not very well supervised!! And guess what ? On Friday morning when we went to the front for breakfast low & behold there was a man behind the desk!! Guess someone lied!! All in all we enjoyed our stay there as the location is great as are the prices. The house keeping staff were all very friendly , as we had to pass their work area each time we went to the pool & they always greeted us with smiles & small talk.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Richmond Suites Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Richmond Suites Hotel

Address: 2600 Moeling Street, Highway 171 & I-10, Lake Charles, LA 70615
Location: United States > Louisiana > Lake Charles
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 29 Hotels in Lake Charles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Richmond Suites Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests staying at this Lake Charles, Louisiana hotel will find convenient access to McNeese State University, the Lake Charles Beach and the Creole Nature Trail.Experience true Southern hospitality at an affordable rate while staying at the The Richmond Suites Hotel. Located near Interstate 10 in Lake Charles, Louisiana The Richmond Suites Hotel is minutes away from corporate locations , such as the Northrop Grumman Company and Petro Chemical Industries.The Richmond Suites Hotel offers 140 spacious, well-appointed guest rooms and suites each featuring cable satellite television with HBO® and free high-speed Internet access. Hotel guests will wake each morning to a complimentary hot breakfast buffet before enjoying an array of hotel amenities including an outdoor swimming pool and spa, fitness center, playground for children, guest laundry and a courtesy airport shuttle to Chennault International Airport, only four miles away. Business travelers will appreciate the full business services and meeting facilities accommodating up to 150 people.This Louisiana hotel is just three miles from casino gaming at the La Barge Casino and the Isle of Capri Casino. Guests will find an array of local restaurants nearby serving authentic Cajun and Creole delicacies. Visitors will also enjoy local events such as sports tournaments, family and class reunions, Contraband Days, Mardi Gras Festivals and the Marshland Festival.The Richmond Suites Hotel is proud to offer superior customer service and a convenient location in Lake Charles. Make a reservation today and save! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Richmond Suites Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Richmond Hotel Lake Charles
Best Western Lake Charles
Lake Charles Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Richmond Suites Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.