We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vegas has arrived in Lake Charles” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'Auberge Casino Resort Lake Charles

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added L'Auberge Casino Resort Lake Charles to your Saves list
L'Auberge Casino Resort Lake Charles
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   777 Avenue L'Auberge, Lake Charles, LA 70601   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 29 Hotels in Lake Charles
Fort Worth, TX
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
“Vegas has arrived in Lake Charles”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2007

The first impression of the place is that it's a huge, palace-like structure, which seems a little out of place in sleepy Lake Charles. The lobby lives up to the facade, with a couple of big fireplaces with couches, plenty of skylights in the entry atrium, and an overall nice, welcoming feel. Staff was friendly at check-in, unlike the experience of some previous reviewers. One thing to note: suites did not have the option of 2 queen beds instead of 1 king. So my business partner and I ended up in a regular 2-bed room. It turned out to be plenty large, and very nicely appointed. Bathroom was also nice. To be nitpicky, there was a little discolored grout that needed to be replaced, but otherwise very clean and nicely tiled with plenty of space. Going through the hotel, our room was approximately $150 a night, though I suspect signing up for the Players Card as we did will ensure we get some more attractive offers in the future.

The casino was very open and surprisingly large, though the vast majority of the machines were $1 minimum. So it can be a tad expensive for the normal weekend gambler, but I guess the upside is that it attracted a nicer clientele than most. It was a little crowded for my taste (on a Tuesday night), but not cramped. We dined at the Jack Daniels restaurant in the casino. It was fine, but certainly not great. The hostesses and waitresses were friendly, and very skimpily clad, obviously catering to a male casino client. It certainly didn't bother us, but it might be a little questionable for a family outing.

All in all, a very upscale hotel in Lake Charles. For anyone who has stayed at Harrah's there before (now closed), this is a HUGE improvement over the motel-like atmosphere. I would definitely stay here again, though I'm hoping to find a better deal next time. Still, it was worth the rate as is, and the impressive pool and outdoor complex looks like it would be a big hit for a family stay in the summer or warmer weather. Did not use the spa facilities.

  • Liked — nice, well appointed, spacious room
  • Disliked — could have used a couple of extra touches on the bathtub
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

776 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    231
    140
    78
    67
See reviews for
122
300
32
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2007

This is by far the best place for gaming in the Lake Charles area. Everything is so clean, the food is excellent and the people are friendly. The hotel rooms are very nice and the beds are comfortable. Very nice pool area. The casino is nice size and unless you sit right next to a smoker you don't notice any smoke in the air. The slots and table games are all fun although if your a dollar slot player they seem to be heavy on the $3 and $5 max coin machines and lighter on the $2 max machines. Not many if any $5 table games either that I saw. The lowest was $10. I hear that they are adding on and will have a poker room soon. Hope that is true. We have been several times and plan on making many more trips. Overall though a great place to visit.

  • Liked — How clean it was.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2007

Hotel: Room was excellent size. King bed, large screen TV, and the best part...non-smoking meant non-smoking.

Casino: Loose slots and friendly dealers on the tables. No poker room (my only boo for this resort!)

Golf: One of the best 18 in the South. Reminded me of the Robert Trent Jones Courses.

Stayed March 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2007

Hotel was pleasant, rooms were good size and nicely decorated, great beds and pillows. Hotel front desk, bellman and casino personnel were very efficient and friendly. Only service lacking were the restaurants, although the food was good. The spa was great, and the service was fabulous. Casino was a bit crowded and no poker room. Overall, it's a great property and we will visit again.

  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2007

Well..... the Hotel & Casino are very nice, spacious & clean. The customer service however, is what disappointed us. We stayed two nights and never once received received a "hello", "can I help you?", "good evening" from any staff other than the housekeeping. From the moment we checked in, it was very clear that service wasn't one of L'auberge du Lac's strong points (our guy stayed on the phone the entire time). Don't get me wrong.... no one was rude but we never felt very welcomed either. Perhaps we were never at the right place at the right time .... either way we were disappointed - our expectations were higher. Again, other than the service - it is a great place in Lake Charles.

  • Liked — Very Clean
  • Disliked — Customer Service
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle Upon Tyne, England
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2006

Having never stayed at a Casino, my close friends in Louisiana booked this and came along with us for a 1 night stay.

The hotel is quite impressive, casino is fun and not expensive. The concierge heard our English accents and added free dinner for ourselves and our two friends on our players cards for the buffet restaurant to welcome us there for the first time. What excellent hospitality.

The rooms are spacious and we had a 6th floor room overlooking Lake Charles.

We will be back on our 2007 trip. Nothing was too much trouble and was an excellent way to relax after the stuffy regimenal Magnolia Mansions in New Orleans the previous day.

Highly recommended

  • Liked — Spacious non smoking rooms
  • Disliked — nothing it was excellent
  • Tips/Secrets — Let them know you're from another country, they go out of their way to be helpful
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Caney Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2006

On the 7th of Oct. 2006 My friend and I arrived at L'Auberge and had a very smooth check-in and a great room on the 7th floor. I had booked two nights (Friday & Saturday), not the greatest nights to first discover L'Auberge as the rooms were $250 a night. I remember saying, "Good thing this room is so nice!" When we went down to the Casino I went towards Black-Jack and my friend went to the slots. Friday night was great and the other players at the black-jack tables were casual and having a great time. I went back to the room having won about $250 at Black-jack and was very pleased. We had Room Service 3 or 4 times at all hours and it was always great and service excellent.
We left L'Auberge on Sunday at 11am totally satisfied. My Friend won over $150 on the slots. After joining L'Club (player's card) , the following week we received an offer to stay at the hotel for a special rate of $69. I booked Nov. 8th & 9th and got a reasonable rate for my 2nd night. Can't wait to get back to those black-jack tables. Loved the whole experience! I am from New Caney, North of Houston 40 miles.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to L'Auberge Casino Resort Lake Charles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Auberge Casino Resort Lake Charles

Address: 777 Avenue L'Auberge, Lake Charles, LA 70601
Location: United States > Louisiana > Lake Charles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Lake Charles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — L'Auberge Casino Resort Lake Charles 4*
Number of rooms: 1000
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full service casino resort offering non-stop Vegas style gaming with 70 table games and over 1,600 slot machines, championship Tom Fazio golf course, full service Spa du Lac, resort pool and lazy river, unique retail shopping, 6 innovative dining outlets, 26-story casually elegant hotel with 1,000 rooms, suites and villas plus big name entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your L'Auberge Casino Resort Lake Charles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Auberge Du Lac Hotel Lake Charles
Laberge Casino
l Auberge Du Lac Resort
Lauberge Du Lac Hotel & Casino
La Berge Du Lac
Laberge Du Lac Casino
Laberge Dulac

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Auberge Casino Resort Lake Charles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.