We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of L'Auberge Casino Resort Lake Charles

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added L'Auberge Casino Resort Lake Charles to your Saves list
L'Auberge Casino Resort Lake Charles
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   777 Avenue L'Auberge, Lake Charles, LA 70601   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 29 Hotels in Lake Charles
North Carolina
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Very Nice!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2009

We had never been to Lake Charles but went for a long weekend to see a band play at their "Party by the Pool". I was very pleasantly surprised!

Check in was great - asked for a pool view and we got it! The room was comfortable and tastefully decorated. It was however showing some wear and tear along with some stains on the carpet. Otherwise, it was clean. I loved the bathroom amenities!

Party by the Pool was awesome! I still can't believe that I saw Switchfoot and Blue October for free.

The casino is beautiful - I loved the self-serve beverage (non-alcoholic) station! However, none of the slots or tables pay. Also I wish that they had Black Jack tables with a minimum bet less than $25 a hand! We went to the other casino in LC where they did have Black Jack tables with minimum bets of $10.

Overall, it's a beautiful property. Given a decent rate, I would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

721 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    213
    127
    74
    63
See reviews for
113
271
31
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Central Texas
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2009

The Hotel is typical of a large resort. Most of the amenities are average and overall nice and clean. The casino is full of smoke and will choke the average non-smoker, but that is no different from any other casino. The shops are small and typically overpriced. The restaurants are fairly expensive, but the food is much better than an ordinary resort. The buffet is the best value, a balance between price and food quality. Seventeen Dollars may seem pricey, but the menus is very complete and all the many styles of food are delicious and abundant. If you like Vietnamese or Thai cuisine, there is Asia, the Asian food restaurant. Again, it is slightly more expensive than fast food, but very tasty. In three days, the dining was never disappointing!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2009

My boyfriend and I have stayed at the hotel several times. The rooms are always nice and clean with comfy beds and pillows. If you like to play slots just make sure you be prepared for machines to eat your money.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2009

This is equivalent with a 4 star hotel with all of the similarities of Vegas hotels. Nice resort, great pool, great food and great service. I will defenitely stay here again (with comps)

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2009

June 24-29, 2009
I was thoroughly pleased with the accommodations at L’Auberge (décor, comfort, restaurants, and staff). This Hotel is truly a Resort that is very well maintained. The guest rooms are very comfortable and includes special additions- free bottled water provided daily, bathrobe and slippers---what more could one ask for.

The Check in process went fairly quickly and I was allowed to extend my check out by one hour. I was very impressed with how friendly all of the staff was, with the exception of the hostess who worked in the Le Café restaurant named Kathy. She probably just needs a little more customer service training.

The only real complaint that I had was with the extremely cool temperature in the common areas (restaurants, and casino). I am from Michigan and if I say it is cool, believe me it is, however, if you wear a sweater or jacket, you are okay. (open toe sandals can be uncomfortable in restaurants and in the casino)

The pool area is simply beautiful and again I found it accommodating for all.
The fitness area is equipped with up to date machines and will accommodate many people.

You won’t be disappointed if you choose the L’ Auberge as your place to stay while in Lake Charles, Louisiana.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, TX
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2009

Beautiful resort with excellent restraunts that has terrible service. Will not pay legally purchased chips unless you have a social security card present, no matter how small the amount. They will not tell you that when you purchase the chips but when you go to cash them out they will refuse to cash even $1 even if you have your drivers license and major credit card with you for ID. They are also sending out 1099's to players and will not let you dispute the amount they say that you won. I had to contact the Lousiana Gaming Control Board and Louisiana State Police and file a Patron Dispute Form. Nice place to sleep and eat but do not gamble here. Play at your own RISK and be ready to ask for a Patron Dispute Form. When you ask they will try to give you a different form but make sure it says Patron Dispute Form so that the Lousiana State Police can try to give you some assistance. Beware you will need some patience as the casino does not even need to notify them for 7 days. You are better off playing elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2009

Don't let the ride there scare you.

This is a great hotel, neat and clean. Friendly staff overall. The resort offers great fun for all - pools, golf, spa, casino -as you can find on many websites. Our only complaint...we did not get the King room we reserved. I called the day of arrival to confirm the room and even asked, "are you sure you won't sell our room, we have a late arrival" ... "no we will hold it." Well, we ended up with queens, I guess they do not hold the "type", they just hold a "room".

We will definitely return again, although I would gladly pre-pay for "the" room guarantee. Perhaps they will change their policy?

On a side note, the casino gave a great first impression. We loved the music, but I guess we were not "lucky". We both dropped quite a bit without much play and only one drink.

So... we drove up to the Isle of Capri (+- 10 mins. away) and our luck changed and so did our moods with plenty of gaming, fun and drinks for one (as I drove). But, we would probably never stay there, it's kinda dirty. We had so much fun, we did the same thing the next day.

Our recommendation...Stay at L'Auberge - Play at the Isle!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to L'Auberge Casino Resort Lake Charles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Auberge Casino Resort Lake Charles

Address: 777 Avenue L'Auberge, Lake Charles, LA 70601
Location: United States > Louisiana > Lake Charles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 29 Hotels in Lake Charles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — L'Auberge Casino Resort Lake Charles 4*
Number of rooms: 1000
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full service casino resort offering non-stop Vegas style gaming with 70 table games and over 1,600 slot machines, championship Tom Fazio golf course, full service Spa du Lac, resort pool and lazy river, unique retail shopping, 6 innovative dining outlets, 26-story casually elegant hotel with 1,000 rooms, suites and villas plus big name entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your L'Auberge Casino Resort Lake Charles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Auberge Du Lac Hotel Lake Charles
Laberge Casino
l Auberge Du Lac Resort
Lauberge Du Lac Hotel & Casino
La Berge Du Lac
Laberge Du Lac Casino
Laberge Dulac

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Auberge Casino Resort Lake Charles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.