We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“casually elegant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of L'Auberge Casino Resort Lake Charles

Save Saved
You added L'Auberge Casino Resort Lake Charles to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
L'Auberge Casino Resort Lake Charles
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   777 Avenue L'Auberge, Lake Charles, LA 70601   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 28 hotels in Lake Charles
New Orleans, Louisiana, Usa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“casually elegant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We spent two nights at the hotel and were very surprised at the decor, casual elegance. The hotel staff greeted us with warm smiles and pleasant conversation. We visit a number of casinos and hotels during a year period. I think this casino/hotel gives you a look of the past and future with their decor. The rooms makes you feel like the comforts of being home. The casino give a variety of old slots and new virtual slots. You must try their South/Western Buffet. It's worth every dime.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

667 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    219
    201
    115
    71
    61
See reviews for
109
249
29
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sugar Land, Texas
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

I've stayed at both hotel and casinos for Laberge and have to say the rooms are nice in Baton Rouge. I was comped two nights so I didn't mind. But the room at Lake Charles was not as nice but the hotel is older and they are renovating some rooms. What sets Lake Charles apart is the water park and restaurants. The staff is always incredible. The restaurants are not in the casino so you can bring children to eat and enjoy the water park. Other than that Baton Rouge takes the prize for nicest room and Lake Charles for the water park and restaurants. The Lake Charles still sells out so book early. The only problem I had was the iron was burned on the bottom and the iron board was dirt. The bed was nice or was a tub shower combo was ok tv was nice I like the guest services screen for check out on the TV. The wifi is 10.99 a day to me that's too high when Baton Rouge it came with the room. Games were fun. Overall not a bad place.

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Spent 3 days at the resort over a holiday weekend. The casino was laid out very nicely. The crowd was smaller than you would find in Las Vegas so it wasn't so overwhelming. The design and décor of the resort was very polished and the rustic charm made it feel inviting. Hanging out by the pool and their mini river was great because they've designed the outside area so you don't feel like you're just sitting by a pool staring at other guests. Out of all the employees we encountered during our stay, only 2 seemed a bit distracted. The rest of the employees were wonderful to deal with. The wireless connection in our room had issues (kept losing the signal) which may be an problem if someone is there and needing to perform business online during their stay. The safe in our room wasn't working (possibly the battery for the locking mechanism) and we asked them twice to check on it with no resolution. Luckily, a friend in another room was able to hold our valuables for us. They put us on a smoking floor even though the person who had made the reservations had requested non smoking which may be an issue for some people. We didn't ask to be moved because we might not have gotten 3 rooms together again.

Room Tip: You should try and get a view of the pool area if you can because it looks so exotic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wormleysburg, Pennsylvania
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I'm not a gambler. I don't visit Casino's. But this was, by far, the nicest place to stay in Lake Charles. We just got back from visiting with my son from Fort Polk. We had a wonderful time. There is plenty to do! JD bar was fun at night, with the bands/music. During the day, the pool was awesome! One of the best pools I have experienced. We must have spent hours just floating down the lazy river pool, talking, having drinks, etc. My only suggestion is to wear lots of sunscreen. The sun is strong, but when you are in the pool, you never really notice. The restaurants were wonderful! I would recommend to anyone, even those, like us, that have not interest in Casinos. Those who do go do casinos, don't bet your luck with another casino in the area, just make your reservations here!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

I was amazed at how gorgeous this facility was! The pool area is fun! A swim up bar in the lazy river! The casino very clean even if I wasn't too lucky!! Restaurants good; great boutique; spa services were excellent! You never have to leave property!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

We've stayed often at L'Auberge Casino Resort as it is close to our hometown and offers us complimentary midweek stays with our player's card. And we are NOT high rollers. We stayed in late August and are going back again this month for a couple of nights. If you're not a gambler, the resort still offers a spa, five different dining venues, and a nice pool area with an adults only pool plus a regular pool and lazy river for everyone to enjoy. There is a little beach area on the water (river? lake?) but we haven't spent any time on it. We find that the staff are usually friendly, provide good service and accommodate our request for a large room whenever possible. We enjoy slot play and typically manage to lose no more than we would've paid for comparable lodging at another hotel. Sometimes even win!

Room Tip: We like a water view room on a higher floor. Have to pretend the factories aren't there, of cou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

Had the Edamame and some spicy tuna. Large servings. Saki was good too. Nice place to eat while waiting on spouse to finish playing black jack.

$325 for a room was ridiculous!! $25 was the minimum for Black Jack. Ugh! But he waked away with $275!! Yay!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to L'Auberge Casino Resort Lake Charles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Auberge Casino Resort Lake Charles

Address: 777 Avenue L'Auberge, Lake Charles, LA 70601
Location: United States > Louisiana > Lake Charles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 28 hotels in Lake Charles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — L'Auberge Casino Resort Lake Charles 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full service casino resort offering non-stop Vegas style gaming with 70 table games and over 1,600 slot machines, championship Tom Fazio golf course, full service Spa du Lac, resort pool and lazy river, unique retail shopping, 6 innovative dining outlets, 26-story casually elegant hotel with 1,000 rooms, suites and villas plus big name entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your L'Auberge Casino Resort Lake Charles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Auberge Du Lac Hotel Lake Charles
Laberge Casino
l Auberge Du Lac Resort
Lauberge Du Lac Hotel & Casino
La Berge Du Lac
Laberge Du Lac Casino
Laberge Dulac

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Auberge Casino Resort Lake Charles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.