We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Week of Pure Pleasure” 4 of 5 stars
Review of L'Auberge Casino Resort Lake Charles

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added L'Auberge Casino Resort Lake Charles to your Saves list
L'Auberge Casino Resort Lake Charles
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   777 Avenue L'Auberge, Lake Charles, LA 70601   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 29 Hotels in Lake Charles
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A Week of Pure Pleasure”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Some friends had comp rooms from their previous gambling lark and invited the girl to go this time, too. Glad I did! There's a lot to do there (including poker, my fav) and it's a very nice place that isn't too far from South Texas. Check-in was a breeze and the rooms were delightful. One was handicapped-accessible and the little details meant a lot to our friend. The beds are really comfortable and well-made up - love those heavy thread sheets. Sometimes the noises in the hall can be heard, but overall it's a quiet and restful room.
Staff is easy to find, ready to do whatever, and very friendly. The morning cleaning staff respected the "let me sleep" signs and happily returned later when we asked, and did a great job getting our room in order.
We had several meals in Le Cafe and even though our servers were almost all beginners, they were pretty good. We had lots of "special" requests in our party and the restaurant made great effort to meet the requests. I had excellent 'surf & turf' of steak and lobster on Thursday night, while a friend had to-die-for bisque. Breakfasts were terrific - more than enough for more than little ol me!
The outdoor areas are well maintained, and it's sure nice to have one place for families with small children and another for adults only. Again, service at the pool was outstanding - I probably drank a schooner of mimosas! There's golf but we didn't partake. And Tthe shops are appealing - we had a lot of fun poking around in the different ones.
I'd tell you about my casino experiences, too - but what happens in LA stays in LA!

Room Tip: If you require handicapped, the rooms are well done. You can request being near the elevator, too...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

722 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    214
    127
    74
    63
See reviews for
113
271
31
75
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

The hotel and casino are both overpriced for the location. Putting bottles of water in the room and having a $3.00 price tag on the cap was as tacky as you can get. Almost as bad as a $6. beer at the swim up bar. Can't wait for the Golden Nugget to open next door in the summer of 2014. My money will be going there in the future.

Room Tip: Pool view is good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Did not like lay out of place, seemed too dark and unfriendly. Rooms were very nice. No free internet service, no free drinking water. They wanted $3.00 for a bottle of water?? Beautiful grounds. The staff and service was very good. Very friendly valet service. Buffet had a great breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fulshear, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

This is a true resort in western Lousianna. Originally went to gamble and found a wonderful pool and lazy river. The spa offers all that a first class hotel in Vegas offers. The staff is friendly. Only a two hour drive from Houston, TX.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Charles, Louisiana
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The property is very nice don't get me wrong, but for Lake Charles it's extremely expensive. Best thing to do is Party by the Pool if a band you like is playing, THAT is affordable at only $10 per person for the concert of the week, however a Diet Coke cost over $3 :(

I'm not a gambler so I can't speak about that portion of the resort.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Louisiana
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

The minute I arrived, I booked an appointment at the spa. It was extremely small, and didn't have any of the extras that other spas provide. After getting my treatment, I then went to the lazy river. Lets say this....... If you don't have a tacky tattoo on your body, you won't fit in. There's tons of drinking going on and the resort is definitely not kid friendly. After leaving the pool, I worked my way back into the building. Unfortunately, I had to detour b/c there were a few drunk people that were throwing up all over the cement. I spent a fortune for dinner that night that was NOT worth the $$. I regret going to this place..... It looks good from far, but far from good.. Sorry L'Auberge. ..... This was a waste of my money and I just didn't fit in with the people who you attract.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

Acceptable hotel for being basically a casino. Rooms are confortable not exceptionally tidy. During the nite tend to be noisy due to the people walking to and from the casino area. Several restaurant are in the hotel with acceptable food ar reasonable price. No free internet. No free drinking water.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to L'Auberge Casino Resort Lake Charles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Auberge Casino Resort Lake Charles

Address: 777 Avenue L'Auberge, Lake Charles, LA 70601
Location: United States > Louisiana > Lake Charles
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 29 Hotels in Lake Charles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — L'Auberge Casino Resort Lake Charles 4*
Number of rooms: 1000
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Full service casino resort offering non-stop Vegas style gaming with 70 table games and over 1,600 slot machines, championship Tom Fazio golf course, full service Spa du Lac, resort pool and lazy river, unique retail shopping, 6 innovative dining outlets, 26-story casually elegant hotel with 1,000 rooms, suites and villas plus big name entertainment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your L'Auberge Casino Resort Lake Charles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Auberge Du Lac Hotel Lake Charles
Laberge Casino
l Auberge Du Lac Resort
Lauberge Du Lac Hotel & Casino
La Berge Du Lac
Laberge Du Lac Casino
Laberge Dulac

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Auberge Casino Resort Lake Charles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.