We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dried Mucus on shower walls! Room Not Cleaned Horrible!!!!!!!!!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake Charles

Save Saved
You added Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake Charles to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake Charles
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3231 Lake Street, Lake Charles, LA 70601 (Formerly Microtel Inn & Suites Lake Charles)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 29 hotels in Lake Charles
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Dried Mucus on shower walls! Room Not Cleaned Horrible!!!!!!!!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

The hotel is horrible and Management treats you like your an idiot. Room not cleaned, carpet dirty, bed had dirty sheets, no towels in room, dried mucus on shower wall, hair on bathroom floor, toilet had black stains. When complaint was made, manager Nehemiah told us to leave.
We asked for refunds and only got $12.00 from the $90.39 we paid. Manager treated us like stupid going as far as defining "frequently" telling me we did not know what it meant. DO NOT STAY HERE, big mistake. There was mold on the ceiling in the bathroom. Health Hazard, dirty socks from previous occupants between the wall and window seat cushion. Manager basically said we lied about conditions and did not believe us.

Room Tip: stay at a better hotel, avoid this one. New management had run down this hotel!!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    0
    1
    2
    2
    6
See reviews for
3
1
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

This property might be suitable for the extremely budget-conscious, but it's just not up to par for the more experienced traveler.

During my stay the place was plagued by operational problems: an out-of-service elevator, a casual approach to replenishing breakfast supplies, off-and-on housekeeping service, and a front desk staff that seemed to be learning on the job. That said, the staff was friendly and good-natured...even helping me carry my luggage down from an upper floor (due to the broken elevator).

This property was formerly a Microtel and, not surprisingly, everything is sorta...small. Rooms were small, towels were small (and well-worn), counter space in the bathroom was small, the desk was small, and there was that tiny windowseat/reading area common to most Microtels.

After dark the parking lot can be a scary place, with guests and non-guests loitering and sitting in parked cars. Hallways, too, seemed to have plenty of room-to-room traffic on weekend nights.

The inn advertises rooms for as low as $57, and the location is convenient to casinos, shopping and downtown Lake Charles. Cheap as it is for this area, you might want to find a place that offers better value.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013 via mobile

We left an hour after we got there because #1 we got there with our pets, paid the pet fee and everything THEN the owner comes and says pets aren't allowed after we confirmed a week prior!! #2 we had non smoking rooms but the rooms smelled like cigarettes as well as the hallway! #3 Mold all in the fridge #4 dirty carpet #5 dirty bathrooms#6. Horrible customer service! While we were in the rooms it was hot! We asked the girl why it was hot she said "it's just the time of day"...umm yea ok.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nehemiah T, General Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake Charles, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
May 31, 2013
Dear Traveler,


It states in our description of the property online with all of our vendors that we are not a "pet-friendly" establishment. It is also posted behind the front-desk receiving area. Payments of any kind where never exchanged between said parties. Inquiries of conformation where made, but only detailing that we had your reservations here at this property.

Your non smoking room was actually on a floor that also has some smoking rooms. We did not have a non smoking room on a total non smoking floor because we were at full capacity.
I do remember speaking with you at the time of check in when you requested to speak to me about the pet policy. Your concern was only the pet policy.

As far as the mold detected in the fridge, it was spilled frostee. We apologize for our overlook. We are always advised by our Housekeeping Department and executive housekeepers of anything that needs attention in our rooms- including dirty carpet, bathrooms, etc. These items were not mentioned to us; in addition, we started a renovation in February and are continuing to make additional upgrades to the property.

We hope you will give us another try if you are ever in the area again.

Thank You
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

Stayed at this one on lake street had non smoking room but was on a smoking floor,when you got off the elevator the hall smelled strongly of smoke. We checked out a day early and two this day which is 15 days later they can not get my credit cake to me manager keeps the
Ling me it is my banks fault when the bank had nothing to do with it. Asked to speak to someone over him and he refuses to give me a name or a way to contact the owner,my friend that also had a room also is having the same problem.manager had nerve to ask me why I feel the need to continually ca
L him on this matter he has taken care of it, I call for it does not reflect in my bank account.

Room Tip: Can not recommend any rooms due to the fact I did not visit any other floors I can day if you are a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nehemiah T, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake Charles, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Traveler,

Your non smoking room was actually on a floor that also has some smoking rooms. We did not have a non smoking room on a total non smoking floor because we were at full capacity.

I do remember speaking with you about checking out a day early and I remember telling you that you would get a refund after a minimum of 15 business days - and some banks take even longer.

If you are in our area in the near future, please give us another try.

Thank you,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Paid $100 for a room for one night and walked in to holes in the hallways, and beyond nasty carpet. Get in the room and it stinks, the mirrors are busted and there are bugs crawling all over the refrigerator. DO NOT STAY HERE. We went down the road to the Holiday Inn Express and were able to get a huge suite for $50 more.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nehemiah T, Manager at Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake Charles, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Dear Traveler,

We checked our records for all of July and none of our guests paid $100 for a night's stay, so you might have this hotel mixed up with another one.

We are always advised by our Housekeeping department of anything that needs attention in our rooms - including holes in the carpet and any bugs that are detected - and we immediately take action to take care of those items. These above items were not mentioned to us; in addition, we started a renovation in February and are continuing to make additional upgrades to the property.

We hope you will visit us again if you are ever in our area.

Thank you,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Alabama
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

We were very tired from our day of traveling. Beds were comfortable, sheets were clean. Dead roach in bathroom but at least that meant the bug killer was working...Would choose another place to stay next time.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012

Wwe have stayed here several times, most recently for my daughters graduation. This is a nice hotel and an excellent value. The staff is very friendly and it is in a great location.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake Charles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake Charles

Also Known As:
Microtel Inn & Suites Lake Charles Hotel
Microtel Inn And Suites Lake Charles
Microtel Inn & Suites Lake Charles Hotel Lake Charles
Microtel Lake Charles
Lake Charles Microtel
Address: 3231 Lake Street, Lake Charles, LA 70601 (Formerly Microtel Inn & Suites Lake Charles)
Location: United States > Louisiana > Lake Charles
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 29 hotels in Lake Charles
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake Charles 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake Charles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Americas Best Value Inn & Suites Lake Charles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.